We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the finest hotels in ALL OF BAJA.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato to your Saves list
Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Domicilio Conocido, Punta Chivato 23000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Chivato
san diego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the finest hotels in ALL OF BAJA.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

This is the place to go if you want something special. The staff is nice and for a private owned hotel it is very high end and just a good vibe.

I travel for work all the time and this place is one i will always look forward visiting.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    7
    5
    13
See reviews for
3
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ensenada, Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We just had the most disappointed visit. I had wanted to go there for years. I finally did. We checked in the hotel at about 2:00pm, and were told that the bar and restaurant were going to be open until about 10pm. Me and my other 3 friends went to the swimming pool were other 8 guys where swimming too. At about 3pm the employee that checked us in called the other group to go have lunch. At that time we decided to eat too, so they took our order in. After 5 minutes, the employee comes back and tells us that the chef will not make any food for us, that it was time for him to take a brake and dinner was going to be served until 7:30pm. THAT IS RIDICULOUS!!!!! We said when we arrived that we where hungry. If this was the rule, why didn't anybody tell us? If the chef was already in the kitchen, the hotel was almost empty, there are almost no other restaurantes open in the area, we had already checked in and we where very hungry, what was the big deal about not making at least some quesadillas for us???!!!! We got out of the pool, took our stuff out of the room and left the hotel. Nobody gave a damm!!!

This situations happen when employees dont care at all about their customers and their jobs. There was no one responsable to speak with about this (no supervisors, managers, etc. on duty). It is very clear that the owner is very far away from his business. I hope he reads this comment. We will never go back. I will tell everybody not to go visit. Is not worth it. There are a lot of other beautiful places in Baja where they treat you like a "real" customer. DONT BOTHER GOING ALL THE WAY THERE. IS REALLY NOT WORTH IT.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Room: dirty, impractical. Bathroom: dirty, not refurbished in last 20 years I should think --- grotty. Power switches off for 2.30 hrs every afternoon. Can't use toilets, therefore. Food: worst meal in last ten years. Only one main course available.
Unique location: maybe, but requires 12mile drive on dirt track.

Room Tip: Avoid it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

I have been coming to Punta Chivato for 25+ years and Posada de Las Flores is amazing.

This is off the grid, yet there is wifi. The food is great, the service is great and the peace and quiet is fantastic. The rooms are wonderful. It is not like a hotel in Vegas or LA with lots to do, but it is totally comfortable and the views from the hotel are breathtaking.

It is hands down the first place I come to when I need to relax.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Wow, this place is truly amazing. OK, we would have never found it without the instructions (you get there by dirt road), but it's definitely worth it!! It's just in front of the sea, in the desert. We saw dolphins while we were having dinner at the terrace! The rooms are spacious with beautiful Mexican decoration, and there's a nice pool to chill out. The only problem of our stay was the heat, it was just too hot! There are a couple of stunning beaches close by, the friendly staff told us how to get there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Difficult to reach after about 20 kms of rough road (not so difficult though) but then we were more than compensated by the beautiful place and the enchanting hotel
Rooms are simply beautiful , food is very good and served on a terrace straight on the sea
Staff is very friendly but professional and helpful

Highly recommended for a romantic escape

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We spent the Memorial Day weekend there. This was our third, and I hope not the last stay. Punta Chivato is in a remote location and the best way to get there is by light plane. The airstrip is in a very good condition.
Once arrived, there is nothing else to do, but to relax, plunge in the swimming pool and drink margaritas. The restaurant is fabulous, so you can look forward to each meal . We were very happy with the service. Rooms are well large, nicely decorated and well equipped. Be sure to take a Junior Suite, which have best views. Absolutely ideal for 3 days gateway.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato

Address: Domicilio Conocido, Punta Chivato 23000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Punta Chivato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Chivato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the pristine waters of Santa Ines Bay, the legendary Hotel Punta Chivato reopened on August 1st 2000 under a new name: Posada de las Flores Punta Chivato. The property covers an extension of 7.5 acres in front of the Sea. Decoration blends the desert landscapes and deep blue sea with the Mexican - Colonial architecture of this resort. Punta Chivato is 56 km South Santa Rosalia, 42 km North Mulege and 182 km from Loreto's International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Las Flores - Punta Chivato Hotel Punta Chivato

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada de las Flores - Punta Chivato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.