We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean best option for 100 miles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Halfway Inn

The Halfway Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Halfway Inn to your Saves list
The Halfway Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paralelo D. Conocido, 28 (Transpeninsular Highway), Guerrero Negro 23940, Mexico (Formerly Desert Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Guerrero Negro
seattle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Clean best option for 100 miles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Clean lots of hot water but the beds are hard as rocks with lousy bedding.

Do as we did bring your sheets and comforter and remake right over their bedding.

This the only way you will be able to sleep.

But from what I could see it is the best place to stay in town.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
3
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vista, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to and from La Paz. This is a no frills hotel with nothing around you but a military base. There are no shops or restaurants outside of the hotel. Thank goodness for this hotel though for travelers going through Baja.

The lobby is nice with a pool table and ping pong. There is a small bar and restaurant inside as well. We chose to eat our own food in our room. There is a wifi "area" in the lobby that needs a password but no wifi available in the guest rooms.

The check-in was fast and easy.

Rooms are clean and have hot showers. There are only a few channels on the tv and the beds are fine but hard.

This place is perfect for one night only. My kids would be going out of their minds here if we were here more than 1 evening.

The military base plays loud music in the morning which was not a concern since we were already up.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

For those driving down the Baja this is an oasis and literally a halfway point. We walked in and got the rate advertised on the sign. No games. Check in was easy. Food at the restaurant was good, rooms were large. Beds were good. Good place to stop for the night. Certainly will top there again if there is ever another trip down the Baja.

Room Tip: They are all on a center court, not sure any one would be better than the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stopped here on our way to Cabo .It must have changed names recently as our Garmin could not find it but it is just at the side of the road as you enter the town.Looks are bit deceiving. It is a quite nice place clean and friendly service.We had dinner there and the fish was well prepared. Rooms are clean but a little austere nevertheless quite acceptable. The lobby is large and has a billiard table which we used as well as a ping pong table. The courtyard has a number of Hibiscus trees and the humming birds were very active. No need to go elsewhere we found it a one stop meets all place. We forgot an ereader in the room and the cleaning staff brought it out to us before we could drive off.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

All the other reviews seem to be right on... incredibly hard beds, clean... the restaurant is average at best, the staff seem ok.., "Manual makes incredible margaritas" but this is not reason for me to return. To be noted is I have not heard anything good about any of the hotels in Negro. One good thing is the hotel has recently been bought by a Canadian so perhaps things will get better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

this place is now called the Halfway Inn. Do yourself a favour and stay out. The price for lumpy beds in a semi clean room was an outrageous 800 pesos (about $70.00). The toilet filled when the shower emptied. It filled to the top and never drained but the staff didn't seem interested that a guest's toilet didn't work. If you don't plan on a7 a.m. wake up, you will get one anyway as the military base next door blasts you out of bed with bugles and other loud sounds. the only good thing is dogs are allowed

Room Tip: doubt if there are any good ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had to stay here out of necessity because it was getting dark and we didn't want to travel at night on the Mex 1. The hotel was a bit run down, but the rooms were clean (a bit sparse though). The floors in the main lobby are warping and there seems to be quite a bit of water damage on the restaurant ceiling that was recently repaired.

The beds were AWFUL.. I think we would have been more comfortable sleeping on the tile floor!

It looks like this hotel has been through quite a few owners over the past few years and nobody has put any money into it for awhile. That said, it was clean and the staff were friendly...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Halfway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halfway Inn

Address: Paralelo D. Conocido, 28 (Transpeninsular Highway), Guerrero Negro 23940, Mexico (Formerly Desert Inn)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Guerrero Negro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Guerrero Negro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Halfway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Halfway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Hotel Guerrero Negro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Halfway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.