We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baja Cactus Motel-What a Dump!-Reminded me of being in India!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BajaCactus Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in El Rosario
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BajaCactus Motel
Save
You added BajaCactus Motel to your Saves list
Km. 55, Carretera Transpeninsular | Tramo San Quintin-Punta Prieta, El Rosario 22960, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Rosario
denpasar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Baja Cactus Motel-What a Dump!-Reminded me of being in India!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

I arrived about sunset at Baja Cactus and was excited to stay in a place where people had spoken so highly. What a shock I had. Apparently there is an old and new section to the motel. The old section rooms are 1-8. I think the new section are 100 series-not sure. I was unlucky to be assigned room 6. One of the worst nights I ever spent. Couldn't wait for daybreak to get the hell out of there. Lumpy, filthy beds. Every fixture in the bathroom was broken. Towel rack, toilet paper holder, soap dish, sink. No shower head. Didn't even want to take a shower as it looked so dirty and I didn't want to catch something. I think you get the drift. And, they charged me the same as the nice rooms everyone brags about. Typical Mexican tourist ripoff. So, ask to see the room first. If there are no new rooms or they try to tell yu there are none then leave. There are other options in town. Mama Espinosa's next door has basic but clean rooms and they have good Mexican food to boot.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    16
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
21
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santa fe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

I was absolutely amazed when I walked into my room. I own the Casa del Toro bed and breakfast in Santa Fe New Mexico. I would be charging at least $ 200 a night for these rooms in Santa Fe. As far as they guy who left luggage in the back of his truck overnight and complained because it got stolen. That sort of reminds me of a George Carlin line, "It's like those people in Hawaii who build their house on the side of a volcano and complain when there is lava in the living room"

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanside
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

staying at this hotel was great!!! i have stayed over for more than 4 times already....

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

Clean, attractive, secure parking, friendly and mostly English speaking staff. Large room, comfortable bed, walk-in tiled shower - US$29. We won't see that again this trip...walked to Mama Espinozas for dinner and breakfast (breakfast was better).

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

Great hotel at a great price. Ther eis no reason to look elsewhere. Stay here, and avoid Catavina where you would pay three times as much for less.

Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

I've stayed here one other time and wasn't happy with the location of my room -- 2nd floor, end unit, next to the Pemex staion next door where diesel trucks made a racket ALL NIGHT. Having driven from my bad experience at Jardine's, I had no choice but to stay here. I asked for a room as far from the Pemex station as possible. Although the room was only one room further down, it seemed to make a difference. The room is large and dark but windows up to the back of the building and air and light comes through. Noise from trucks is minimal tonight. The barking dog that disturbed me on my last trip is asleep or gone tonight. TV has a number of English channels, and equal number of Spanish speaking, or subtitled, programs. There was a large bottle of water available in the room. Shower area is nicely tiled. Internet through ethernet cable works fine and I tested at .5M speed. I brought my own cable -- don't count on the front desk having one available. Again, there are NO nice places to stay in this town unless you consider roughing it nice. Yes, this is Baja, but the Baja Cactus stands out as a jewel, relatively speaking, in the middle of no where.

I did eat next door at Mama Espinosa's because I didn't want to drive. Food here has gone down in years and they get by on reputation only. Chile rellenos with cheese were were OK.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

$27 bux gets you two king 4 post beds Cactus., tiled floors, Big TV, AC, Internet (bring ethernet cable), the most beautiful interior woodwork with marble and tile/granite bathrooms with his and her's and a glass shower with brass fixtures. Not to shabby! Mama's next door has great food too!

I am looking forward to going back to this place!

As far as the review that said don't stay here because there luggage was stolen. That can happen anywhere in the USA too if you leave your suitcases in the back of your truck. Be smart anywhere and lock that stuff up or bring it to your room.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BajaCactus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BajaCactus Motel

Address: Km. 55, Carretera Transpeninsular | Tramo San Quintin-Punta Prieta, El Rosario 22960, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > El Rosario
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Rosario
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms have king size beds, AC, heating, Satellite Color TV (HBO, Cinemax, Hallmark, etc.), free Internet Access, WiFi HotSpot, in-room phone service, amenities including coffee machine and bottled water, laundry services, 24 hour front desk and security services with video surveillance cameras, secure parking lot, 24 hours hot water showers and many more services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bajacactus Hotel El Rosario
BajaCactus Motel El Rosario, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BajaCactus Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.