We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our own private paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquillity On The Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Tranquillity On The Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tranquillity On The Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Queens Highway | Major's Cay, Crooked Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our own private paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My family and I enjoyed a week on Crooked Island as the guest of Bernard and Daphne at their lovely little hotel/resort. The room was large and clean as well as very comfortable. The food service was exceptional, we where given the choice of ordering whatever we wished off the menu, but we decided instead to allow Bernard to prepare whatever he wanted for us to enjoy and could not have been happier. If you are looking for a quiet adventure where you can enjoy the unspoiled beauty of the Bahamas you could do no better than a trip to Crooked Island. We explored a different part of the island each day and enjoyed secluded beaches, reefs teeming with life, and plenty of sights to see. We felt like we had the entire island to ourselves. For an adventure loving outdoor family you can't go wrong with a trip to Tranquility by the Bay. Great food, great service, and a spectacular place to visit. Make certain that you have Bernard take you to visit Long cay, and do some fishing island style before you leave. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glamourama, Manager at Tranquillity On The Bay Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
It is our goal to always meet and exceed our guests expectation: This family made it easy for us to meet our goals, we are always excited when our guests enjoy the ambience of Crooked Island and Long Cay, and we look forward to hosting them again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I had the grand pleasure of visiting Tranquility Bay Resorts with a group of teachers from St Andrew's School this year. I was embarassed because as a Bahamian the question moving in my head was, " Why had I not arrived here before?" The reception at the airport was polite and welcoming. The environment where I lived was clean and peaceful and from the day I arrived until the day I left the service was excellent. In a time when people are too busy to be courteous this for me was the most refreshing. Mr and Mrs Ferguson, the tour guide and the lady who assisted in serving us food every day all served with a smile. I believe the most impressive sight for me was the day we were taken to the marshlands. Oh my God the beauty!!!. I felt like I had left the Bahamas. I tell you Bahamians and all individuals readying this, there are some BEST KEPT secrets in BAHAMAS. Go and search them out.

Room Tip: Let Mr. Ferguson plan it for you and it will be well planned. He is a professional who believes in p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glamourama, Manager at Tranquillity On The Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are always delighted when our guests have a great vacation experience with us.
We enjoy showcasing our signature product that is our beautiful, remote island
"The place where your mind can relax while your body discovers it's own tropical paradise"
This group was a fantastic bunch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth&bahamas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed in one of the one bedroom villas in the beginning of June. I was pleased with the ameneties it came with and liked that it was a bit further away from some of the other rooms and the main dining area. The 'hotel' is on a large, appropriately named bay. The owners of the resort did everything they could to make sure we had an enjoyable stay. They helped us make travel arrangements cooked a variety of items each day to satisfy everyone's dietary needs. We enjoyed crooked island, acklins and long cay. This is perfect for some relaxation. One morning I jogged by wild flamingos and then later saw them fly overhead at sunset! I am a Bahamian and have never experienced that!

Room Tip: the villas and the regular rooms are all very spacious. The regular rooms have two double or queen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Had the opportunity to go with 19 colleagues to Crooked Island, Acklins and Long Cay. We stayed here at Tranquility On The Bay and the owners absolutely made our trip fabulous. They took such good care of us and they made the arrangements for us to travel to Acklins and Long Cay which was great! My room was very large, clean and comfortable. You pre order breakfasts and dinners and the food was fresh and tasty. The people at Tranquility On The Bay bend over backwards to make your stay a very memorable experience. I will be back!! Thank you Mr. & Mrs. Ferguson!!

Room Tip: The cottages are nice for couples or families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Tranquillity On The Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Having this group visit with us and our beautiful island was our absolute delight and an exceptional oppertunity for us to do what we do best. We are committed to the complete satisfaction and enjoyment of all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We were a party of six keen to explore Crooked Island and meet the people. We were warmly welcomed by Bernard and Daphne and would definitely recommend Tranquility on the Bay. Bernard organised a day tour with Dave Boy Rattlesnake who gave us a fun and personal tour of his home island. We had a great lunch at Gibsons and enjoyed the evening meals cooked by Bernard. The 'conch walk way' led from the restaurant to the gazebo and the beautiful bay which was perfect for walking and beach combing. The rooms were large and new with a fridge and air conditioning.

Crooked island has only 2 flights a week so isn't easy to get to but it is worth going to experience the warmth and beauty of this island and its residents.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same - large and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Tranquillity On The Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
We are always excited when we can meet and exceed our guest's expectations. We really value all of our guest's comments, and is committed to making adjustments when recommended. We enjoy showcasing our beautiful island. Crooked Island and Long Cay "a place where your mind can relax while your body discovers it's own tropical paradise".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We got married here at Tranquillity on the Bay last Wednesday and we are so so thankful for everything Bernard and Daphne did for us. They were perfect hosts!

All of our party of 7 were made to feel perfectly at home in the comfy, extremely spacious and fully equipped rooms. Everyone here on Crooked Island is wonderfully friendly and welcoming and we had so much fun dancing and drinking with them.

The miles of pristine white beaches and clear blue waters are divine. We walked every morning around the cay and not once saw another person or set of footprints - pure tranqullity. (We did see a shark though!) We snorkled, swam, chilled out and ate! The food was delicious and everyone enjoyed trying something different. We ate lobster, conch, grouper and much more - all of it fresh and fabulous!

They made every second of our wedding wonderful, from the decoration of the gazebo, the beautiful table setting to my amazing hair styled by Daphne. The gazebo was the perfect place for the ceremony and my aisle was lined with conch shells.

I know people go to Crooked Island for the fishing but there is so much more to it! We didn't get to fish ourselves but will definitely be returning to the island and fishing will be on the agenda.

There is wireless in the main building which meant we were able to skype family and friends without a problem and could post pictures of the wedding as soon as we had some good ones.

Would we recommend a stay here? Without a shadow of a doubt - of course we would!

Thank you everyone on Crooked Island but a special thank you to Bernard and Daphne!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glamourama, Manager at Tranquillity On The Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
We at Tranquillity on the Bay and the entire Crooked Island, congratulate and thank Andrew and Felicity for choosing us as the destination for their wedding.
The entire wedding party made our task of meeting and exceeding our gusets expectations easy as they were perfect guests.
We greatly enjoyed having them, and look forward to them celebrating one of their anniversary in Crooked Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Had a wonderful stay with Bernard and Daphne this Jan. The spot is beautiful, on a huge beach. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Even though I felt remote, the internet worked well, and I could use skype with no problem. This is a wonderful base for exploring Crooked Island, the people I met were friendly and helpful. I even met a women who was 104 years old, Eunice Delebeaux, at a near-by village. Must be the clean air and fresh food...The island is beautiful, also had a good lunch at Gibson's, Landrail Point, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glamourama, Manager at Tranquillity On The Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
It is always our aim to provide the ultimate in service and vacation experience to our guests, to insure that they enjoy Crooked Island and by extension Long Cay.
"A place where your mind can relax while your body discovers its own tropical paradise"

We are committed to excellence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tranquillity On The Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquillity On The Bay Resort

Address: Queens Highway | Major's Cay, Crooked Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Crooked Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crooked Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tranquillity On The Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located Lat.22* 43' 66N Long.74* 08' 46W on three miles of sandy beach, "A place where your mind can relax while your body discovers its own tropical paradise." At Tranquillity our motto is to always meet and exceed our guest's expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Tranquillity On The Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquillity On The Bay Resort Crooked Island, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquillity On The Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.