We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Island Get-Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pittstown Point Landing

Pittstown Point Landing
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crooked Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pittstown Point Landing
Save
You added Pittstown Point Landing to your Saves list
Landrail Point, Crooked Island | Crooked Island, Crooked Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Rosamond, CA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Classic Island Get-Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Previously known as Pittstown Point Resort and now officially named Crooked Island Lodge, this off-the-beaten-path hideaway is to me what the Bahamas is all about. I’m not a fan of the big slick luxury resorts, so this 12-room gem located at the far south-west end of the Bahamas chain is right up my alley. In April 2013 we made our second trip here, if I lived on the East Coast I'd be here yearly.

What you will find here are recently re-furbished rooms, comfortable and air-conditioned, with island food of good variety and well prepared, a seaside bar for evening gatherings, and the opportunity to fish, bicycle, kayak, snorkel or SCUBA, or just do nothing at all. All this in an absolutely gorgeous setting at the northern tip of Crooked Island.

While the location is relatively remote, it isn't totally off the grid: There is free Wi-Fi that can be accessed in various locations around the facility. Cell phone service is also strong, if pricy unless you have an international discount plan.

If you are a pilot with a plane (or have a friend who is), that is the way to get to Crooked Island. The Lodge has an airstrip and you park the plane right at the front door. Getting there by commercial air is a bit more convoluted; you must fly to Nassau and then take either a charter flight or one of the twice-weekly Bahamas Air flights to Colonel Hill Airport some miles down the island (the lodge will pick up).

Room Tip: Only half the rooms face the ocean, and if you happen to arrive when a group is in residence they co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

If and when we visit Pittstown point on Crooked Island it will be our 12th visit. We first visited Pittstown in the 1970's when we attended a "fly in". We landed our Seneca aircraft right next to the resort on their 2000 foot strip (now 3500 feet) and were met by the friendly staff and immediately guided to the bar for a complimentary "Yellow Bird" refreshment. While we enjoyed the refreshment with other guests and pilots our suitcases were set up in our ocean front room. In the 70's the accomodations were pretty but basic, ceiling fans no air conditioning . . . . a constant Easterly breeze sufficed nicely . . . . . today all rooms are air conditioned. We were offered many activities . . . . beautiful beach 100 feet from our room, snorkling only 50 feet off the beach on pristine reefs full of aquatic life, fishing for huge game fish less tha 1/2 mile off shore where the "Crooked Island passage drops off to 3000 feet", scuba dive a wall barely off shore, visit caves, sightsee the sparsely populated island, or simply lay in the sun in a virtual paradise with the Pittstown personnel at your beck and call. 3 meals a day was the deal and what meals they were !! Honor bar, coffee from 6 AM, Until our 7th visit there were NO LOCKS ON THE DOORS, and I assure they were not needed . . . . . . still not necessary but guests today expect them . . . .too bad. Evening was non stop fun with local musicians/entertainers . . . just locals having fun and we all joined in. Pittstown was a pilots paradise but now is more of a fishing destination with some of the best bonefishing in the world. I could go on, but suffice it to say we love the place and especially the people. The owners are "Tarheels" from North Carolina and are wonderful people. Get there if you can ! Served by private airstrip as well as comercial airlines who land about 20 minutes away from the resort . . . free pickup . . . If you are looking for luxury, bright lights, and noise, faaaaagettaboutit !!! This is stricly laid back beauty and relaxation. Warning, it is extremely habit forming.

Bill & Gayle James
Canton, Ohio
w.h.james@hotmail.com

Room Tip: ask room 1 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Cove Ontario Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2006

Attention Trip Advidor: This hotel is on Crooked Island, Bahamas, which is not part of the Berry Islands area of the Bahamas. To facilitate user searches, please correct. Thanks.

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2004

Quiet, with a nice beach, great view, no rush, no crowds, just relax the day away if you want. The people are very friendly, the meals were good and the fresh fish was excellent. Fishing and snorkeling from the beach or by boat. If you want to get away for a few days and not be rushed, bothered (no phones), this is the place to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pittstown Point Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pittstown Point Landing

Address: Landrail Point, Crooked Island | Crooked Island, Crooked Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Crooked Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crooked Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Pittstown Point Landing Crooked Island, Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pittstown Point Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.