We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Great Stay at Coco Cay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Cay (Little Stirrup Cay)

Coco Cay (Little Stirrup Cay)
Improve this listing
Type: Islands
Attraction Details
St. Thomas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Had a Great Stay at Coco Cay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We arrived via the Majesty of the Seas on June 25, 2013 for about a 5 hour stay.
The beach area was clean, but the waterfront had a lot of sea weed that could have been cleaned prior to the ship's arrival.
The water clarity at the snorkeling area was cloudy...not like the Caribbean waters that we're used to. Wear water shoes as the beach just beyond the water's edge is rather rocky.
Two disappointments: They ran out of beach umbrellas at 11:00 AM and it was very sunny (and hot) that day.....and there is little natural shade. The BBQ ribs at lunch were terrible, but all the other food was OK.
The employees were very helpful.
Overall we had a good time at the beach.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    138
    31
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Day in Bahamas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here as a port call on our Carnival Cruise on the Fascination. This is what I pictured the Bahamas to be. Wonderful place. Beautiful water and nice chairs. You can rent an umbrella for $14.99 for the whole day. Chairs are free and there are many of them. You will find a chair for sure. Gift shops were very high but the will negotiate. This was great to see the fish. You don't need a mask except for salt water but water is so clear. Carnival takes great pictures for you but you can take your camera. Best day of cruise. Safe and fun and so relaxing. Better than nasty Nassau for sure.. Great stop!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing day !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We went here on our cruise freedom of the seas The snorkeling was ok there were a lot of rocks getting in and out of the water . The best part is barefoot beach not many people walk this far down . there was very few people and no rocks in the water . The water was very warm .

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Love this place! Great snorkeling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This little island in the Bahamas is rented by Royal Caribbean. The only way to visit is a Royal Caribbean cruise. Snorkeling here is excellent. I recommend picking up a couple little cereal boxes (any flavor) from the ship at the windjammer buffet. Take the bag of cereal snorkeling with you. It doesn't matter if the cereal gets soggy when you open the bag. The fish will swarm you if you have the cereal. You can get up close and personal with them. They will follow you once you have fed them. I will say the main area that you snorkel in is a little rough from the waves. A vest is required and costs $6.00 to rent one. If it bothers you just deflate it. You can go on the other side if the Island and snorkel without the vest. The water is smooth on the other side and less crowded. There are less tropical fish on that side. There are sting rays and sharks. They didn't bother us but were definitely in sight at times. My husband and son stayed in the water but I got out once I knew the shark was there. There are lockers for rent that cost $8.00 for the day near the building where you rent the snorkel equipment. We brought our own snorkel gear. All charges are put in your sea pass. There is a little village where you can buy some souvenirs. You will need cash if you want to purchase something there. There are plenty of lounge chairs and some shade. If you want the shady seats get off the ship early. Especially if your on one of the bigger ships. Lunch - no problem. Royal Caribbean brings the food off the ship and starts serving around 11:30. Hamburgers, hot dogs, ribs, chicken, salad, cole slaw, potato salad and cookies. There are a few bars on the island if you desire an alcoholic beverage. You can relax, enjoy water sports or swim.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Day at Coco Cay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We visted Coco Cay as part of our Royal Caribbean cruise. Royal Caribbean Cruise Line assumed the lease of the island. Activities available to guests include swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, parasailing, scuba diving, and Waverunner piloting. Royal Caribbean served us lunch which was a barbeque with some cuisines native to India. The beach is very nice with chairs and floating mats to use.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco Cay (Little Stirrup Cay) also viewed

Berry Islands, Out Islands
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Sandy Point, Great Abaco Island
Haiti, Caribbean
 

Been to Coco Cay (Little Stirrup Cay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Cay (Little Stirrup Cay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.