We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day in Bahamas!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Cay (Little Stirrup Cay)

Coco Cay (Little Stirrup Cay)
Improve this listing
Type: Islands
Attraction Details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Day in Bahamas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here as a port call on our Carnival Cruise on the Fascination. This is what I pictured the Bahamas to be. Wonderful place. Beautiful water and nice chairs. You can rent an umbrella for $14.99 for the whole day. Chairs are free and there are many of them. You will find a chair for sure. Gift shops were very high but the will negotiate. This was great to see the fish. You don't need a mask except for salt water but water is so clear. Carnival takes great pictures for you but you can take your camera. Best day of cruise. Safe and fun and so relaxing. Better than nasty Nassau for sure.. Great stop!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    127
    29
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing day !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We went here on our cruise freedom of the seas The snorkeling was ok there were a lot of rocks getting in and out of the water . The best part is barefoot beach not many people walk this far down . there was very few people and no rocks in the water . The water was very warm .

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Love this place! Great snorkeling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This little island in the Bahamas is rented by Royal Caribbean. The only way to visit is a Royal Caribbean cruise. Snorkeling here is excellent. I recommend picking up a couple little cereal boxes (any flavor) from the ship at the windjammer buffet. Take the bag of cereal snorkeling with you. It doesn't matter if the cereal gets soggy when you open the bag. The fish will swarm you if you have the cereal. You can get up close and personal with them. They will follow you once you have fed them. I will say the main area that you snorkel in is a little rough from the waves. A vest is required and costs $6.00 to rent one. If it bothers you just deflate it. You can go on the other side if the Island and snorkel without the vest. The water is smooth on the other side and less crowded. There are less tropical fish on that side. There are sting rays and sharks. They didn't bother us but were definitely in sight at times. My husband and son stayed in the water but I got out once I knew the shark was there. There are lockers for rent that cost $8.00 for the day near the building where you rent the snorkel equipment. We brought our own snorkel gear. All charges are put in your sea pass. There is a little village where you can buy some souvenirs. You will need cash if you want to purchase something there. There are plenty of lounge chairs and some shade. If you want the shady seats get off the ship early. Especially if your on one of the bigger ships. Lunch - no problem. Royal Caribbean brings the food off the ship and starts serving around 11:30. Hamburgers, hot dogs, ribs, chicken, salad, cole slaw, potato salad and cookies. There are a few bars on the island if you desire an alcoholic beverage. You can relax, enjoy water sports or swim.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Day at Coco Cay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We visted Coco Cay as part of our Royal Caribbean cruise. Royal Caribbean Cruise Line assumed the lease of the island. Activities available to guests include swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, parasailing, scuba diving, and Waverunner piloting. Royal Caribbean served us lunch which was a barbeque with some cuisines native to India. The beach is very nice with chairs and floating mats to use.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ga
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I am not a beach person, but I really enjoyed the beach with my family. I was most excited about our ship just docking in the middle of the Ocean. We had to travel over to the beach, but once there it was like a great big party. You could smell the food as you walked onto the island, and there were shops, dancing, snorkeling and many other activities, but as for me I preferred to just lay in a chair, and enjoy the breeze and calmness of the ocean.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco Cay (Little Stirrup Cay) also viewed

Berry Islands, Out Islands
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Sandy Point, Great Abaco Island
Haiti, Caribbean
 

Been to Coco Cay (Little Stirrup Cay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Cay (Little Stirrup Cay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.