We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 1202 Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaver Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1202 Motor Inn
Save
You added 1202 Motor Inn to your Saves list
Mile 1202 Alaska Hwy., Beaver Creek, Yukon Y0B 1A0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Guaranteed Lowest Rate!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beaver Creek
Fort Irwin, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Just what we needed...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

After the 11 hour trek from Haines, this was a great place to finally relax. We got the suite above the store which was great, a twin for our little one, double for our middle child, and kings for my daughter and my husband and I. Decent satellite tv, comfy recliners and a comfy bed was great. Yes, cleanliness is marginal as another stated, and it needs some updating, but eh, after three weeks on the road, I tend to not worry about those things and have my own Clorox wipes. Price was steep, but we expected that considering where it is and such. If you need to sleep somewhere warm after that treacherous drive in the fall/winter I suggest this. nothing fancy, not top of the line, but just what you need...

Oh, and the lady in the store downstairs was very nice and hospitable and we chatted for a few minutes. Not sure who the other reviewer encountered.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    2
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
6
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Yellowstone, Montana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

I've stayed here multiple times and always find it to be an oasis in the middle of nowhere. I've stayed in the with-bath rooms that are drive-up-to-the door motel style and found them tiny but clean and perfectly acceptable. The without bath rooms are older and 70's style, but you can't beat their value if you're camping and want to stay under a roof for a night. The huge suite above the restaurant is cavernous and very nice. Log walls and multiple beds for a family. the food is very good in the restaurant, too. They also have gas pumps. Plus I've always gotten a room with no reservation in the off-season. This is a typical roadhouse-style place found along the Alaska Highway. If you're expecting 3 stars this isn't the place for you, but it is perfectly nice for the budget traveler.

  • Liked — Great value in the middle of nowhere.
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lower 48-california
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2007

My son and I left Anchorage two days before we stopped here. We arrived cold just after the rain stopped at the boarder. We were on a new Harley motor cycle. We drove into town with no reservation, since we were going to stop in Tok, Ak. We drove on from there to Beaver Creek. We checked out several hotels in town and came back to this one, for the value and the charm. It looks inside the restaurant the way we expected to see some place in the mountains. After our trip, we have showed many people our trip pictures and certainly show the ones from here with foundness. We met several fellow travelers ans spent time talking to them inside and even carried conversations outside. We really liked all the decorations inside and still remenber them with a smile.

Bruce and Garrett from California

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2007

This motel features prominently in the Milepost. Unfortunately, in the winter there are very few other options between Tok and Haines Junction. (The location of the town makes it a logical half way point between Fairbanks and the ferry in Haines.) I reserved ahead of time and the staff was helpful over the phone but less so in person. We were put in a small "suite" in the back of the motel. Cleanliness was marginal, there was no toilet paper and the sheets were dirty. The bathroom also had a burnt lightbulb. Beyond that the beds were fairly comfortable and the heating worked well. The restaurant appears to be the only open place to eat for the next 140 miles. Overall, consider the place in a pinch, but first look into Tok, Destruction Bay, or Port Alcan.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troy
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2006

We should have slept in our car. I can't describe how disgusting this place was. Drive as far and as fast as you can from this place.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 1202 Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1202 Motor Inn

Address: Mile 1202 Alaska Hwy., Beaver Creek, Yukon Y0B 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Yukon > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Are Under New Management & Now Offer The Lowest Room Rates In Town GUARANTEED! Established in 1990 the 1202 Motor Inn is a unique place nestled in the Yukon at the Canadian/Alaskan border. It has become an institution for truckers and travelers on the scenic Alaska Highway. We are conveniently open year round and offer a wide variety of services which include: Accommodations: standard rooms, hostel rooms, family suites & kitchenettes Regular Gas (87) and Premium Gas (91) & Diesel Litre Log program lets you save 0.03 cents on every litre of fuel using your Fas Gas Card Groceries: A well stocked convenience store complete with drinks, snacks, Marble Slab ice cream, fresh-baked goods, as well as canned and frozen foods RV Parking & Tent Sites Laundry Showers Small amount of food service WIFI Beer, Wine & Liquor Off-sales & Bar service Lottery Center Souvenir shopping ATM Machine Ice ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1202 Motor Hotel Beaver Creek
1202 Motor Inn Beaver Creek, Yukon, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1202 Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.