We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Porta Bella Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Porta Bella Restaurant
2491 99th St, North Battleford, Saskatchewan S9A 3W8, Canada
+1 306-937-3785
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sunshine Coast, BC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“ok place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

went to Porta Bella based partly on recommendation of hotel proprietor, partly on Trip Advisor. with all due respects to our brothers in North Battleford, this is not a great restaurant. Average. I had the prime rib. on this night, not a cut from a current roast, but a generous cut, re-heated on a grill. a bit tired. veggies probably from a bag of frozen. my wife had quesadillas. basic, simple, hard to get wrong. did not finish her ordered side salad. this may be a top restaurant in NB, but doesn't hold up to others in other places. and we laughed at Dairy Queen having a better rating. not laughing now.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    12
    2
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great food! Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

this is the first timeI I've posted a review of this fine dining experience in North Battleford. its worth the extra drive to the north end to eat there. the quality of the food is excellent and been that way each time I've dined there. The prime rib is exceptional, the chicken dishes are terrific.
overall one of my favorite dining spots when travelling for business.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have been eating here often. The service is fabulous. One can easily have a working lunch in an hour, and that is truly appreciated.. Since the restaurant was upgraded the atmosphere is great. But it would be great if you make even ONE dish from scratch. Yesterday the lamb souvlaki in pita bread, tzaziki sauce and avocado had me positively excited. Would it have been so much more work to make some good lamb instead of the tough, dry kebabs grilled from frozen.
HOw about some fresh soup!
The steak sandwich is always a good choice. It would be very very nice if one could replace the piece of toast for a good bun though, now readily available in town.
There is so much inspiration to be had for good fresh food - as I say - even just one dish per day. Watching a bit of Food Network Restaurant makeovers are maybe indicated here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Battleford, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great food and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have ate here for years, I have never had a bad meal, the meals were always good. Towe and wendal always cook excellent steaks, the service is next to none, just awesome. Linda and all the crew are the best. Beautiful job stacy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
“Meals were amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Delicious and quite affordable supper! The waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable!! :)

A bit too loud at supper though :( the sound carries from a few tables away!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porta Bella Restaurant also viewed

North Battleford, Saskatchewan
North Battleford, Saskatchewan
 
North Battleford, Saskatchewan
North Battleford, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Porta Bella Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porta Bella Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.