We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Inn

Tropical Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Inn to your Saves list
Tropical Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1001 Hwy #16 Bypass, North Battleford, Saskatchewan S9A 3W2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, AB
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Disgusting!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

This was our second stay here - we should have learned the first time.

We had to get housekeeping to come and re-clean the room. The tub was dirty, the coffee maker had grounds and old coffee in it, there was a tub full of half melted ice in the mini fridge. The sheets were on the bed inside out, making us wonder if they had been cleaned or just turned inside out.

The first time we stayed there in 2008, the room we were given had dirty baby diapers and used coffee cups in it.

Also, never stay in a room that opens or has windows to the pool (about half of them) you will not get ANY sleep.

Never again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    7
    12
    26
See reviews for
21
6
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Prospect Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

There weren't any windows in the room but a skylight. The foul odor (smelled like a sewer) came from the bathroom and permeated through the entire room. The room was shabby and depressing. The bathtub had been painted and the paint had chipped off the bottom of the tub and made it difficult to stand because of the sharp pieces of paint. The woman at the desk seemed agitated and we felt like we were an intrusion while registering for the room. We had been travelling for a month and by far, this was the most disgusting place that we had stayed. I would not let my dog stay at this inn.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Battleford hotels

Alberta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We decided to stop at the Hotel on a suggestion from my husband as co-workers stay here regularly. Upon arrival, when entering room hotel looks nice, but as you investigate the room was incredibly dirty. There was hair left on floor in bathroom from previous occupants and there was dog or cat hair on the chairs and carpet. Should have complained then. We asked for a non-smoking room and the room smelled very smokey. We had no outside ventilation and the room was very hot, plus smoke smell piped in through their vent system. Also for a Wednesday night very loud. Had people partying on our floor outside our hotel door. We decided to leave the room at 4:00 in the morning because it was incredibly hard to sleep. When checking out was not asked how the stay was. Should have complained, but where would have that gotten me. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. VERY DISAPPOINTED.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

While attempting to get two rooms for the night we had to wait while staff were being paid their wages. The bathroom floors in both rooms where not not very clean. Dirt had been pushed to the corners and left there and wall paper was coming off the bathroom wall in one room. The beds sagged in the middle, so weren't comfortable. The service in the restraunt was slow and the food was only so so. We tried to rent a movie but when it came on it was more then 1/2 hour into to the show. Front desk staff suggested we watch something else. Also the cost to rent a movie was $17.00. When we went to pay in the morning the two rooms we rented had their bills mixed up. Only good thing about the place is it's right beside the highway. I would not suggest anyone stay here but drive to the next city.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2008

Looks Ok when you first enter, HOWEVER, the rooms are run down, freezing cold, have paper thin walls, and stone age TVs. You can hear babies crying and kids running up and down the halls all night. And the whole place stinks like chlorine from the waterslide. Thehot tub had brown scum on top. The "Irish Pub" is a greasy local bar with rude staff who prefer to hang out with their local friends than serve you. The two restaurants there are open at odd hours if at all, and if they are the staff might simply tell you they are actually closed. A truly bizarre place

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — Everything.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba (Alberta raised)
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. First when we first arrived (after an entire day of driving with 2 pets in the car) our room wasn't ready. We were told to basically just go wait outside for an hour until it was ready for us. No apology or anything. Then we finally get checked in, go to our room - and someone is already in there!!!!! Watching an X rated film if you get my drift.

They put us in a second floor room - and then informed us the elevator wasn't working. So we had to haul our stuff and our pets up and down 2 flights of stairs for a room where the air conditioning wasn't working. When we got settled in our room there was only one set of towels so we called the front desk. 5 hours later they still hadn't brought any.

I don't care how good the rates are or how convienent the location is, you couldn't pay me to stay there again. Nothing worked, the staff was incredibly rude and it was dirty. No thanks.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2007

We picked this hotel because of the waterslide, the waterslide was nice except for the mold at the top of the stairs to the waterslide. We picked a room overlooking the swimming pool, the room did not have any climate control and the temperature was 26 degrees celcius at all times. We called the front desk to tell them about the room temperture and they told us that the room would cool down when the swimming pool closed, it did not and we found ourselves standing in the hallway at 2:00am trying to cool down. The food we ordered from the room service was not very good. The hotel hallways and lobby was very dirty, with ciggarette butts all over the ground at the front entrance to the hotel. The staff working there were not very freindly.

We decided not to stay another night at this hotel and moved to the new Golden Eagle Lodge. The Golden Eagle Lodge was one dollar more a night and is a first class hotel.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Inn

Address: 1001 Hwy #16 Bypass, North Battleford, Saskatchewan S9A 3W2, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > North Battleford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in North Battleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Tropical Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Inns Hotel North Battleford
Tropical Hotel North Battleford
Tropical Inn North Battleford, Saskatchewan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.