We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has what I want” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Val D'Or

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Val D'Or to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Val D'Or
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1665 3ieme avenue, Val d'Or, Quebec J9P1V9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Val d'Or
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Has what I want”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed 2 nights for business. Everything was what I expect at Comfort Inn. The room was big, good bathroom, free wireless internet worked well, good light breakfast in the lobby. Very good coffee machine. The lobby is small, so you need to use one of the trays to take breakfast back to your room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mona L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Val D'Or, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests that have great experiences with us and we hope you will return again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
2
4
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Osgoode
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We grew up in Val d'Or and decided to go back, and reminice about old times living there. As soon as we went in the front door we could smell a little bit of cigarette smoke, but alot more down the hall. Our first room's ariconditioner did not work so they gave us a new room right away.The staff was good, but did not mention the breakfast in the morning.. Over all its not a bad place to stay for the night, although I do think its needs a litlle updating. The Motel is close to shopping but make sure you get to the Mall and Wal mart before 5 on Saturdays as everything closes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mona L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Val D'Or, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
First I would like to thank you for using TripAdvisor. It is guest feedback that encourages us to improve in areas that did not meet and exceed expectations. We apologize for any inconveniences caused by smoke smell in the hallways. We are currently assessing solutions to help minimize the odour you mentioned, related to smoking. We take your comments seriously, and hope to find a viable solution. Again, please accept our apologies, and we hope you’ll give us another chance to earn your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Typical Comfor Inn design -- check was not particularly welcome and our booking had been misplaced and then eventually found but we were advised that it was a smoking room - no way.
Eventually got a room which did not have a regrigerator- we have stayed in 30 motels in the las t 6 weeks and even the worst ones had a regrigerator. Apparently there are some rooms with regrigerators but you are not given the option of requesting nor was I advised or given the opportunity to request frig/microwave at check in.
Check in girl could do with some public relations training - seemed like I was being a nuisance to her.
No explanation re breakfast or wifi unless specifically asked - bit ordinary for a motel in the higher price bracket.
Reception area and stairs smell of smoke. The sooner hospitalilty owners realise it is no longer appropriate to have accomodation reeking of stale cigarette smoke the better including a large company like Comfort Inns

Room Tip: Ensure you request a room with a frig and a microwave if you want and request one well away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mona L, General Manager at Comfort Inn Val D'Or, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We value feedback from our guests and endeavour to address any shortfalls and constantly improve the overall levels of service and quality throughout the hotel. It is not our standard to place non-smokers into smoking rooms and we work hard to assign non-smoking rooms. Unfortunately we had limited options and we truly regret we were unable to accommodate your request for non-smoking accommodation. We do hope you would give us an opportunity in the future to provide you with the stay that not only meets but exceeds your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is a hotel that has seen is better days. As soon as you enter the hotel, you smell smoke everywhere in the hallway as they still allow a good portion of the rooms to be smoking.
Carpet was dirty and quality of the bed, below average. The free breakfast is nothing beside seal muffin or seal donuts and smelly cold eggs.

The next time in Val d'Or, i will definitely stay somewhere else but the problem is you have few options in Val D'Or.

I do not recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mona L, Manager at Comfort Inn Val D'Or, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
We are truly sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. We do recommend to always make your reservations ahead of time when traveling in our region. If we had known ahead of time - we would have reserved your prefered type of room. We offer continental breakfast and some of the items in display are purposely individually sealed/wrapped for preservation purposes. Again we apologize. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Comfort Inn Val d'Or.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Val d'Or hotels

Montreal
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Rooms are very clean - staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. Really had a very good stay. Rate includes free continental breakfast - free internet that works very well. Will go back

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mona L, Manager at Comfort Inn Val D'Or, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
We are happy to hear that all aspects of your stay were enjoyable and we hope the next time you are in Val D'Or you will stay with us once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

The rooms were clean and the staff helpful. The breakfast bar was convenient, if a little sparse.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, VT
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

The rooms are fairly clean (except for chairs and hard water stains in toilets). The staff are ok to deal with except that the check-in was painfully slow. Internet is weak on the 2nd floor. Rooms are expensive at almost $100 a night, limited services, average highway location. However, it is probably much better than most other of the budget hotels nearby. Hot water was luke warm on first morning.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Val D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Val D'Or

Address: 1665 3ieme avenue, Val d'Or, Quebec J9P1V9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Val d'Or
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Val d'Or
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Val D'Or 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn is centrally located in Val-d'Or and easily accessible. We have newly renovated the front desk and lobby area and now offer a 24-hour business centre, welcoming seating area with tv and a spacious breakfast room. Each of our 78 tastefully appointed guestrooms are All New Just for You! With new carpet, vinyl, 32" flat screen tvs as well as new tile and vanities in the bathrooms. All of our rooms feature pillow-top beds, free wireless high-speed internet access, free parking and free local calls. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Choice Canada, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Val D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Val d`Or Hotel Val d`Or
Val D'or Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Val D'Or Quebec, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Val D'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.