We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kayaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canoe & Co.

Canoe & Co.
1121 Ch. Burnett, Sutton, Quebec J0E 2K0, Canada
+(1) (450) 538-4052
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Sutton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer daily non-guided canoe/kayak excursions and rentals to explore the beautiful and calm Missisquoi river. It's great way to relax and unwind in nature with family and friends. Enjoy downriver current while paddling in peaceful and scenic surroundings with ample wildlife viewing opportunities. Plenty of beautiful places for swimming, fishing, and picnic.Rentals include shuttle, paddles, boat, life vest and river map3-4 times of shuttle departure per day for downstream excursions from May to October. We recommend you to reserve for your time schedule. Canoe and kayak rentals without shuttle are available any time of the day. Accessibility for toddlers and dogs is possible if using our canoes or sit -in kayaks. Riverside camping place for our dear customers are available, (places are limited. ) Experience our sunset or moonlight excursion.Have your own canoe or kayak? We offer a Shuttle Service to make it easier for you.
Paris, France
1 review
“Kayaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were a large group, everything went well from the start. These people are very nice and well organized. We paddled during 17Km, and it was good that we could take our time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canoe et Co s, Owner at Canoe & Co., responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I'm glad you enjoyed your trip with your group. We look forward to seeing you next time :)
Thanks again, Rachelle & Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We rented Kayaks and Canoes as a group. No complaints about the equipment whatsoever. The operators were very pleasant. We drove upriver with the equipment and made our way down river.

The 17 km took ~4 hours. The river (Missisquoi River) is very calm, to the point where the wind blew us backwards at some point. Not at all overly strenuous but do expect to finish the day pleasantly tired :). We brought lunch and stopped along the way.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canoe et Co s, Owner at Canoe & Co., responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are happy you enjoyed the 17km excursion. That day your group paddled the river, I remember the strong wind is against you but its surely helped in that humid day too :) We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Rachelle & Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lazy river kayaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was my second visit to Canoe & Co., both times as the organizer of a group (first time was 2011). Again, we had a great time. The owners (Rachelle & Francois) are friendly and helpful and everyone enjoyed themselves thoroughly. Although our group was large (23), they were able to accommodate everyone - solo kayaks, double kayaks and canoes. We were fortunate with the weather - sunny and warm - since the previous weeks had been lousy (lots of rain & cool temps). We did the longer route (16 km). The river was higher and wider than in 2011 due to the rain and the abundant snow the previous winter, so the small rapids we'd experienced before were mostly inexistant. Only a the put-in near Mansonville was the river shallow. The Mississquoi River winds it way through forests and fields, with occasional great views of the surrounding mountains.A stiff breeze came up so we found ourselves paddling into the wind, but with the current, so it wasn't too difficult. (The breeze was welcome on a hot day.) We found a good place to stop for lunch, pulled up our boats and several people had a great swim. Since there was no time constraint on how long we had our boats, there was no stress about getting back. No hesitation in recommending Canoe & Co for a relaxing day on the water.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canoe et Co s, Owner at Canoe & Co., responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. Yes, last Saturday was a nice weather for paddlers and we are happy that you & your group enjoyed the day in the river. Its a pleasure serving your group. Looking forward to see you again.

Kind regards,

Francois & Rachelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great service, good equipment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

A nice couple living on the river bank, 20 meters away off a wooden, old, still active cargo railway welcomed us to a very unique, calm setting. We were very happy with the service, equipment prices and explanations.
We did the 17 km canoe paddling enjoying the river trouts, otters and various birds. The paddling was easy, no rapids with many locations to stop and relax along the way.

A great summer experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canoe et Co s, Owner at Canoe & Co., responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are happy that you enjoyed your day in the river although the water was brownish due to heavy rains a few days before your 17 km excursion. As we recall you told us you never canoe before and this river is really great for beginners to try canoeing. Again thank you so much.

Kind regards,

Rachelle & Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice river excursion and owners are friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We are beginners in river kayaking and the owners help us to choose which boat is better to use and how many km we should take. He recommend us to just take the 10 km but we chose to try the 17 km and we didn't regret it coz its nice up river. 35$ per kayak all included. Love the bird humming and we saw a beaver. We took the 12:00 shuttle departure because 10:00 is full and we arrive in their place at 4:30 where are car is parked. Love it and will surely come back with our kids.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canoe et Co s, Owner at Canoe & Co., responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are happy that you enjoyed your day in the river.
Regards, Rachelle & Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoe & Co. also viewed

 

Been to Canoe & Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canoe & Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.