We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Dinner Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge des Appalaches

Auberge des Appalaches
234 Chemin Maple, Sutton, Quebec J0E 2K0, Canada
+1 450-538-5799
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 restaurants in Sutton
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: In a warm and friendly atmosphere, discover a fine dining experience which will delight the foodie. As member of the "Chefs Createurs" our restaurant offer a fine creative French cuisine with local seasonal products. John Kostuik, chef-owner, offers a subtle blend of traditional and new flavours in a relaxed atmosphere. Dinner: Table d'hote or a la carte menu. Open Friday through Tuesday-Reservations appreciated. New : air conditioning in the sun room area
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best Dinner Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

New chef. Best ever dinner. Varied menu. Beautiful presentation. Warm, cozy, French ambience. xx00 I've run out of accolades.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    16
    0
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“So.....delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

OMG...the pork chops here were to die for. The appetizers delicious. The wine affordable and excellent. The waitress (attends school in Montreal with dark straight hair) was one of the most charming, polite and friendly waitresses we've had to date...truly spectatular dining. Oh, of course, the atmosphere was very unique and cozy. We had some wine at the bar before our dinner and you could opt to sit by the fire place and enjoy your wine instead. We also stayed at the Inn (read separate review).

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south orange, new jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Amazing Meal in Sutton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The highpoint of our trip to Sutton was a delicious meal at the Auberge des Appalaches. I had an interesting and delicious fish dish--Cod with basil infused potatoes, lobster and vegetables. My husband had a steak and fries that he said was incredible. The room is very cozy and comfortable, and the service was friendly, but not intrusive. The owner and lovely server went out of their way to make certain our meal was a perfect experience. On our way back home today we discussed in great detail how we couldn't wait to get back to the Auberge for another meal...it was that fantastic.

It is a must if you are in the area, and in fact even if you aren't in the area it is worth the trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Ate dinner here twice this month and had delicious, inventive food both times. Lots of locally sourced interesting ingredients. Service unfailingly friendly; superb when owner Patricia is handling it herself. Would definitely go back any time I am in the eastern townships.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Special and marvellous food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great attention from Patricia and the Chef John ! Lovely and Pleasant Place ! The food was nothing less than perfect and the suggested local wine was superb ! The price was good and we recommend this place for a romantic and a special dinner !

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge des Appalaches also viewed

 

Been to Auberge des Appalaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge des Appalaches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.