We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chapelle Ste Agnes Vineyard

Chapelle Ste Agnes Vineyard
2565 Chemin Scenic, Sutton, Quebec J0E 2K0, Canada
(450) 538-0303
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 attractions in Sutton
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Gatineau, Québec
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was a disappointment. As soon as we set foot on the site, we were advised that we could not walk on the grounds without taking the guided tour and, of course, paying. We should have turned around right then and there, but we had driven a long way to get there, so felt obliged. It was only at the end of the short, not terribly interesting, tour that we found out it cost $20 per person! There are a lot of other wineries in the region that have comparable views and do not ask you to pay for them. Some of the tastings in other wineries are even free and, if they are not free, they may cost as little as $3 a person. Save your money and go elsewhere.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stunning, authentic & great sips of Ice Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stumbled upon this magnificent vineyard while travelling through Quebec's Eastern Townships (Cantons L'Est) just last week. If I had known about this jewel sooner, I would have already had made several visits.

I was fortunate to meet the owner, Mrs. Henrietta Antony - the visionary behind the stunning setting, the stone Romanesque style chapel filled with medieval antiques, the vineyard and its ice wines. I was also privy to the story of her exile from her home country and how she has attempted to recreate her memories at Ste Agnes.

If you ever have the chance to visit do so - the cost of the visit is well worth the experience of this remarkable setting & its history.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great escape for an afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Enjoy their wine, conversation and beauty of the Chateau and grounds. You will remember your time there.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“The Most Magnificent Vineyard in Canada!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This vineyard is absolutely superb! We have visited vineyards all over North America - the Napa valley, Niagara peninsula, Okanagan Valley and the Finger Lakes region, but nothing even comes close to this vineyard in Canada.

The site is simply stunning, the chapel is magnificent and is straight out of a story book and the cellars built 45 feet deep in bedrock are unique!

The vineyard is built like an amphitheater on a hill side. There are lakes and a chateau, and there is so much else to see. The tour is worth every penny and will leave you with fond memories for the rest of your life. Awesome vineyard!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very unique place ... but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The place is really unique, with a chapel containing rare historical pieces, an impressive domain to visit. But we were a bit surprised to hear the cost of the visit, which we had forgotten to ask: just as we were about to leave, we were told that we had to pay 25 $ per person for a 90 minute visit ...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapelle Ste Agnes Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Chapelle Ste Agnes Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapelle Ste Agnes Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chapelle Ste Agnes Vineyard to your Saves list