We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't believe it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe to your Saves list
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
1 Pleasant, Sutton, Quebec J0E 2K0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sutton
pa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“You won't believe it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

From the outside this very ordinary but attractive old house belies what's inside. We stayed here one night in August as part of a biking trip. If you're expecting a "Country Curtains" experience, leave this page now. The owners have transformed this place into one of the sleekest, most tasteful restorations combining the old and the new, we had ever seen. Michel and Bertin designed and did all the interior decorating themselves. Not a detail, not one, was left as afterthought. You're in an old Victorian and a boutique hotel in SoHo at the same time. Rooms were large and, again, beautifully appointed.

The dinner of tapas and breakfast they arranged were first class. The tapas was very inventive and generous. I must also point out that the wine list was very selective, well chosen, and very fairly priced. The restaurant is part of the inn and many people were eating there as well. That says something since there are a number of nice upscale restaurants in Sutton. The staff is exceedingly friendly and professional. Many inns and B&Bs, are run on a shoe string, with almost no help save the struggling owners. Not here.

But the best feature is the owners. Michel and Bertin are hands on, always present and extremely friendly and ready to mix. Make this a must stay for a visit to the Eastern Provinces.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel G, Manager at Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.

Comments like yours provide us with the energy to continue offering this unique experience, appreciated by our customers. Thank you.

The design we have put together in this hotel reflects what we are looking for when we travel. It has been inspired from many boutique hotels of the world. We are happy that you have enjoyed it.

Looking forward to see you again.

Michel & Bertin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
92
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Le Pleasant from July 31 to August 3 and what a beautiful experience it was. From all the little details, to the amazing breakfast and relaxing atmosphere, this quaint hotel just has it all! We ate there one night and the food was delicious...my husband had the duck satay and I had the seared scallops. They were just so good! The owner Michel was so sweet and so helpful. The location was great for us, we would walk around the village of Sutton every night after dinner. We absolutely loved it and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel G, Owner at Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We put a lot of attention to details in our hotel, as they are important for us when we travel, and we are glad that it has made a difference for you.

It will be a pleasure to see you again at Le Pleasant.

Regards,

Michel & Bertin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is the third time my biking group used Le Pleasant as the stopping point in our ride in Vermont and Quebec. This is a delightful 10 room hotel or B and B. It is in an old house, the interior is very modern. Our last two times (we do this every year, we skipped last year) the Cafe had expanded to dinner and we at here. Food was wonderful (Tapas tasting menu). Breakfast in the morning was very good too. Service is great, in the hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: No elevator, so rooms 7-10 are on the second floor (remember, ground floor is not the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel G, Owner at Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Returning customers is a pleasure for every business owners. We are happy that you are still enjoying our hotel and that you appreciate the evolution of our offerings.

We hope to see you next year with your biking friends.

Kind regards,

Michel & Bertin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I loved our stay here. The owners are amazing and they have a wonderful place. The rooms are modern and the food for both breakfast and dinner was outstanding. Their relationship with the Balnea was also great for us. We would definitely return to see our friends here in Sutton.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel G, Owner at Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and most importantly, thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

The partnership between Le Pleasant and Balnea SPA has been put together to create the perfect getaway for a relaxing experience.

We are delighted that the package has been a good fit for your requirements and hope to see you again in the future.

Michel & Bertin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We just got back from a 2 nights stay at Hotel Pleasant. It was very, very nice. The owners are very gentle and the hotel is amazing ! It's very clean, quiet and the food is excellent.

We recommend this place without any doubt !

Room Tip: Try the "suite " !!! Amazing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great place. 100M from a lot of little coffeshops and restaurants.
The Food is very good, and you have options. The Room was Comfortable and felt like High End Hotels. The Mattress could be too hard for some but i did like it. Great Attention to details, Very nice ambiance, and quiet. Perfect in between of "Quiet" and Trendy. We loved that it was close to "LA Rumeur Affamée" Great place to get some great food.

The restaurant is one of the best in Sutton too.
I wish they would offer some small fridges in the rooms since there is no late services. It would be great to keep some fresh water and some snacks :)

But otherwise this place is very good. We had a great package with BALNEA SPA massages. Amazing Weekend. Thanks to the owners for great service and smiles!

Room Tip: The Rooms on top floor are amazing. Make sure to get Superior Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have stayed at this B & B twice in the last year; once in the summer and once in the fall. You cannot help but fall in love with the place- the attention to detail and design is outstanding and makes it a unique find in the province. I have traveled across Quebec and searched high and low for cute "get away" hotels or B & B's. No need to look any further, this is 100% one of the best out there. Michel and Bertain are wonderful, warm people who make you feel at home. They renovated and redecorated the place, the decor is modern, clean and comfortable. The breakfast is delicious and is made with real care. In the summer, you can sit out on the lovely terrace in the evening with a glass of wine and unwind. On my second trip, I had forgotten a few amenities, and the staff were so sweet and provided me with a toothbrush, toothpaste and razor for free.

I stayed in the superior room (top floor) twice, and it is definitely worth the extra money. The only downfall of the place, I would say, are the smaller beds. None of the rooms have king beds. As the owners explained, they would be too cramped in the rooms. A few things that could be added to the rooms to spruce them up: dvd players, extra blankets and some art (they have tons in the lobby but it could really add to the rooms as well).

Overall, Sutton is a charming town and Le Pleasant is the perfect little hide-away! I also definitely recommend a trip to Balnea spa which is about 25 minutes away.

Room Tip: Superior room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe

Address: 1 Pleasant, Sutton, Quebec J0E 2K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the village of Sutton and housed in a magnificent 19th century Victorian house, the boutique-hotel Le Pleasant offers exceptional accommodation combining contemporary design and architectural heritage. Entirely renovated, Le Pleasant is characterized by its modern decor, a cozy atmosphere and its personalized service. Comfortable and stylish, the 10 rooms as well as the common areas are remarkably decorated.Le Pleasant's restaurant proposes you a unique gourmet experience, from Thursday to Sunday inclusively, as of 4 p.m.In addition to it's high standard accommodation, in collaboration with partners from the Eastern Townships, Le Pleasant offers multiple packages including relaxation, sporting activities and gastronomy. The hotel is also an ideal place for business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pleasant Hotel And Cafe
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe Sutton, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.