We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A golden nugget!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Schweizer

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sutton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge Schweizer
Save
You added Auberge Schweizer to your Saves list
357, chemin Schweizer, Sutton, Quebec J0E 2K0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Sutton B&B and Inns
Medford, New York
1 review
“A golden nugget!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We went there 2 years ago! Heidi the owner and chef is amazing. The homes/rooms are decorated well, clean, and she knows how to entertain. She even sang one night with her family. She yodels! It was a swiss mini moment! When we adopted our baby, we called her personally to tell her the news. Next year we are going back with our 2 children and extended family/friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

My husband and I first discovered this treasure about 25 years ago before we had children. We have returned yearly since, sometimes a few times a year. Here we feel, not like guests, but like family. Our two boys have so many wonderful memories of this unique place. We have visited both in winter for skiing and in summer for hiking and swimming in the pond. We even introduced Schweizers to our parents and my inlaws visited several times when they were able to still travel. The scenery, the atmosphere, the food and fellowship are all fantastic. When our children were young, visits to the barn to see the horses, goats, chickens and rabbits were popular. One year we were lucky enough to be there during the maple sugaring. Our older son helped keep the fire going and did some canning of the syrup. I would not hesitate to recommend Schweizers to anyone. While you are there you truly feel like family.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

We’ve stayed at the Auberge Schweizer (Schweizer inn) twice, once in early January 2010 and then in early August this year. We really liked the place and will be back. (This review replaces the earlier one I wrote last winter.)

The Schweizer is run by a long-standing family of immigrants from Switzerland who speak perfect English and French (and probably German), and who live on site, and you feel the love they have put into the place over the years. It is located about 4 km (2-3 miles) from central Sutton, heading south and then way up into the hills (not real easy to reach in the middle of winter without snow tires ). There are horse pastures above the main inn, woods all around and great views over the surrounding countryside and valley below. They have about 10 bed and breakfast double rooms with a pretty shared living room area, all recently renovated and half with private baths, plus one small apartment (for a couple and maybe 1-2 kids), and 4 furnished cottages – we stayed in two of them (the Heidi in the winter and the Pines this summer). A good part of the food they serve is organic, from their own garden – they have breakfasts for guests in the rooms, and can also serve dinners during weekdays. They are used to accommodating vegetarians too, if that is important to you.

The cottages we’ve seen were all very nice but fairly simple, none gunning to win the Martha Stewart award for overly cute decorations. The two we stayed in were clean and real functional – polished pine walls, a fireplace with wood, a regular TV with DVD & VHS (but no cable – only a few channels available). Behind and to the sides are beautiful woods, and in front you see the pastures. The Heidi Chalet was smaller but abit nicer - two large BR with 2 beds each plus a loft with two small single beds, and a large living/dining room/kitchen area and two small music systems (CD). The Pines could sleep more people in their 4½ smaller BRs, also had a combined living/dining/kitchen area, plus a large outdoors terrace with table and great views over the valley and pastures, and a ping pong table in the basement.

On New Years eve (the day we arrived in the winter), they had torch-lit sledding down the pasture hill for kids from 9-11 PM, a bonfire at the top of the hill, wine and cheese in the small dining room from 10-12 (with guests playing various games), and fireworks at midnight. Around the inn area they have marked snowshoe trails, and they rent 5 pairs of snowshoes to guests at a very reasonable price ($12/day). In the summer, they have an attractive swimming pond with a couple chairs in the shade on a flat rocky area, and watching the horses in the pasture and the view over the valley at sunset is great.

If you are looking for a Hilton, this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a very peaceful and often sociable simple place, in a beautiful high-up country setting right beside the Sutton Mountains, with very congenial owners, it is great.

Finally, in some ways it resembles the Auberge des Appalaches where we've also stayed many times, which is also a smaller family-owned Sutton inn, although the Appalaches has a few more rooms but no cottages, all compressed into just one building – not the space nor the views of the Schweizer. The Appalaches is on the main road from Sutton to the ski resort, and so has somewhat better access to downhill skiing. (But in both cases you will need a car.) What we don’t like about the Appalaches is that they have gone mostly to a full-board format; being vegetarians, we don’t eat very well there anymore - in any case we enjoy often eating out at one of the good local restaurants. But both inns are real nice places for those on a low/moderate budget.

For newbies to the area, Sutton is a real pleasant small town with a few good restaurants and pubs, an excellent French/Quebec cheese and pastry/bread store, a fair number of artists and craftsmen, great nearby hiking in a large natural wilderness area, biking in the summer (bring your bikes) and skiing in the winter, and nearby blueberry picking farms and the Eastern Township wine road. It is a real nice change of pace from the made-for-tourist places like Mont Tremblant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Schweizer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Schweizer

Address: 357, chemin Schweizer, Sutton, Quebec J0E 2K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Sutton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sutton
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Auberge Schweizer Sutton, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Schweizer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.