We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grate Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Rue Gadbois, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec J3A1V1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Grate Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

hi just though i would add a bit, i was a lone for my sons grad i dont drive so i took a cab it was 20 bucks to the bass about 100 from air port , there was others that took bus but it was hours be for they got to the hotel, cab was faster for me to spend more time with my son so it was worth it to me . spent about 300 in cabs . lots of places to eat right out my dore and shopping .at the hotel and in cabs they spock english .wen you get to base they have pics and vido 10 bucks each i think and you can order whole set wen youre home . the 10 is just to get started they mail to you . if you are a lone make nice at grad or at hoel with some one its a long walk from grad to the other side side you can walk but its better to get a ride from one of the oter parents there . my room was qite and a lot better then i thought it would be , it was grate lots of folks talking in hall way excited about their childs grad , small one comming to see dad running around i loved it kind of nice didnt make you feel so alone. i took my meal to my room and watched tv got ready didnt eat in lunch room so dont know about seating it seem as if there was lots of room .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your comments with other guests. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will come back!
We look forward to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    54
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
48
18
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Niagara falls
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel was suggested to me by a colleague, who like me, hates staying in central Montreal when we travel for business to the area south of Autoroute 30 in Quebec. After years of staying in Montreal, driving in the traffic, I decided to give this hotel and town a chance.

What a great decision! The hotel is an older property of the "Journey's End" design and vintage that has been updated with a pool room and breakfast buffet. The hotel is located near a shopping mall and numerous restaurants within walking distance, which is great after a long day.

The room was a bit on the smaller side compared to Holiday Inn Express properties in the U.S. that I frequent, but still with the same furnishings, beds, and cleanliness of other Holiday Inn Express hotels I have stayed at in the past.

The room had a HDTV that I could connect my computer to with an HDMI cable which is always a bonus to watch programming from home, and to Skype with my family on a bigger screen. The room also had Kuerig coffee machine - if I knew this before my trip I would have brought my preferred coffee to enjoy - however, I know for next time.

The staff was bilingual and had no issue communicating in English during my week stay.

The only issue I had was that some of the breakfast items seemed a little stale (the bagels), however, plenty of other options were available on the buffet.

I will come back to this hotel my next trip to the area - and look forward to showing my colleagues that they do not have to suffer in Montreal traffic!

Room Tip: The HDTV's allow you to use your own HDMI devices (such as a computer) - bring a HDMI cable to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,
We would like to thank you for your positive review on Tripadvisor and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express St-Jean-sur-Richelieu. Your comments are very valuable to us as we use them to either correct issues or to acknowledge the good customer service of our staff. We hope that we will get the chance to see you again at our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed two nights at this Holiday Inn. Staff friendly and helpful. Beds were good. Everything clean (except for coffeemaker which had grounds left in) Great shower. We really appreciated being able to make this our home for the time in St Jean. So pleased with the free wifi. Close to a great Boston Pizza which was next to parking lot! Tim Hortons only steps away. The only problem was that both mornings tables where all taken in the breakfast room. We ate in the lobby on the chairs there. The next day we did not have to wait too long. I can not remember the lady's name in the breakfast room but she was awesome.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you for your positive review on Tripadvisor and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express St-Jean-sur-Richelieu. Your comments are very valuable to us as we use them to either correct issues or to acknowledge the good customer service of our staff. We hope that we will get the chance to see you again at our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here, my family and I came here to see my brother graduate at garrison. It was really convenient for anyone who is here to see their army brat:) they had a nice pool and hot tub, although I didn't get to use it. The complimentary breakfast was delicious, they had an awesome crepe machine that made creeps for you right on the spot. A lot easier to use than the waffle machine at most hotels. The only thing with the buffet is I wish they had more of a fruit selection, they only had apples and bananas. The rooms were nice, it was a little cramped for four adults but we didn't mind. The only problem I had with the room was the bathroom sink, it's very high and I am 5'3". It was very difficult for me to wash my face, I can't imagine what a family with children would do. They should possibly consider providing stools. The desk staff was very hospitable, especially Samuell (who spoke the best English). Although I speak both English and French, it was very helpful for my parents. All in all the staff at this location made out stay very easy. Thank you.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Your comments are very valuable to us as we use them to either correct issues or to acknowledge the good customer service of our staff. We hope that we will get the chance to see you again at our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight Saturday Jan 19th '14. The staff, from the minute we walked in, were smiling and helpful. Thankyou Elise for your attention to detail, your warm welcome and for remembering us the next morning when we came for breakfast. My husband is from Quebec and is totally bilingual, but I only speak English. It was such a warm feeling to have the staff recognize my inability to correspond in French..especially Elise. We have in the past encountered negativity from some, with my predicament over the language barrier...but this was not so here at the Holiday Inn. My husband wants to thank you from the bottom of his heart for making me feel comfortable and welcome.

The hotel was comfortable and warm. The housekeeping excellent. Beds comfortable. A choice of firm or soft pillows, which were clearly marked. All linens sparkling white in room and bathroom. The breakfast area was clean and variety was great. The breakfast items were kept well stocked, hot and cold items, fresh fruit, yogurt, boiled eggs, cheese omelettes, sausage, freshly made pancake machine, numerous items to toast, pastries, muffins, cereal, 3 varieties of juice, milk, decaf and regular coffee and tea. What more could you ask for!!

Thanks again Holiday Inn. Even though this hotel is situated in close proximity to a major road it was still a peaceful and enjoyable stay. Please pass on our thanks again to Elise, a well deserving premium performer, and an asset to the Holiday Inn family!

Room Tip: We were in Room 107, easy access to front desk and facilities. We were able to park outside our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear valued guest,
We would like to thank you for your sharing your review with theTripadvisor community. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express St-Jean-sur-Richelieu. Your comments are very valuable to us. We hope that we will get the chance to see you again at our property in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The service was exceptional from the moment I walked in the door! The receptionist, Isabelle was friendly, outgoing, willing to help me find my way around and recognized me after seeing me once! What a great face to encounter when coming into a strange town all alone! Roxanne in the breakfast area was the very same - they both conversed in English and made my stay much more enjoyable! The room was always very clean and comfortable. I too found it hard to control the temperature but thought that it was just my lack of skills on it! :) The location was great. I was attending my son's graduation from basic training at the base so the hotel was close to the base and just a short cab ride away. (It's too bad there wasn't a shuttle for us to and from the base as I'm sure that a lot of their business is from families for the graduations!) There were restaurants within walking distance to eat at, and a huge new mall across from the hotel within walking distance. I loved talking to the families that were staying at the hotel that were there for the same reason as I was, too. To be honest, the only things that I found missing which would have made my stay a bit nicer were to have a little bar fridge and a small microwave in the room. Other than that, it was a great experience! Thank you to Isabelle, Roxanne and the housekeeping staff for making me feel so welcome and at home!
N. Wilde, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Room Tip: I found the traffic from the overpass died down in the later evening but if you are a person that li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear valued guest, we would like to thank you for your positive review on Tripadvisor and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express St-Jean-sur-Richelieu. Your comments are very valuable to us as we use them to either correct issues or to acknowledge the good customer service of our staff. We hope that we will get the chance to see you again at our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I usually start my review with a title that describes the hotel situation (acceptable or not), but this time the first thing that I noticed was the exceptional interpersonal skills of Isabelle, it's the receptionist that was there for our check-inn ; a staff member that is has authentic as one can be (smiling, knowledgeable , etc.). For the owners of the Holiday inn Express St-Jean, she deserves a raise, she is a keeper!

Now back to the review of the hotel itself: The pros:
The hotel was easy to find, great location, lots of parking lot, surrounded by several well known restaurants, the bed and pillows were very comfortable , the room and toilet were very clean, the breakfast is include and they have plenty of food and a certain variety of items you can choose from.

The cons:
I don't have a lot of negative aspect about that stay.
The room temperature was very difficult to set...we never could (it's an older system), we froze all day and night , we had to crank up the temperature to feel a little heat and then it was very noisy, we lowered it just a notch and it was freezing again , we kept the extra blanket on us all night. My last negative point is that we were in room 101 and it's right in front of the cleaning staff office or break room (it's another room that they are using for the staff) they were always talking loud and banging the door....yes, it continued until I would say probably 8PM .The room was also right besides the side's entrance to the hotel, (lots of circulation) So don't try to take a nap in the afternoon if you get that room, very noisy.

Overall , we enjoyed our stay, for the price, the location , the comfort of the bed, the staff , etc. we will probably have to return, but we will make sure to ask for another room...now that we know!

Room Tip: Avoid room 101!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear valued guest, we would like to thank you for your positive review on Tripadvisor and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express St-Jean-sur-Richelieu. Your comments are very valuable to us as we use them to either correct issues or to acknowledge the good customer service of our staff. We hope that we will get the chance to see you again at our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu

Address: 700 Rue Gadbois, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec J3A1V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Newest Hotel in St. Jean sur Richelieu. The Hot Air Balloon Capital welcomes you to the Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu. Our hotel, in the newest part of the city, offers easy access to Highway 35 and 89 to Vermont. We're conveniently located across from the largest shopping mall and in walking distance to many restaurants & bars. Montreal is only 25 km away. Business travelers find that our St. Jean sur Richelieu hotel offers close proximity to local businesses and the industrial park. The Canadian Force Base is five km away, making us the closest lodging. Traveling by air, our hotel is located 45 minutes from Montreal Airport (YUL). Leisure travelers enjoy this ideal starting point for travel in the Monteregie Region. Hotel guests enjoy visiting Fort Lennox, Fort Chambly or one of our many museums. The Richelieu River offers bicycle & walking paths, cruises or boat rentals. For an adventure, try a ride at the top of the trees at Arbraska Park or go to Safari Park with the kids. In addition, you can always take a day trip to Montreal and enjoy its many attractions. Newly renovated, our St. Jean sur Richelieu hotel offers high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. You can start your day with our delicious, free hot buffet breakfast, American Style. Other amenities include an indoor, heated pool, Jacuzzi, Fitness Center and on-site guest laundry facility. Check out our St. Jean sur Richelieu hotel's deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Jean Sur Richelieu Hotel Saint-Jean-Sur-Richelieu
Comfort Inn Bromont
Bromont Comfort Inn
Holiday Inn Express St. Jean Sur Richelieu Saint-Jean-Sur-Richelieu, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.