We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beware of making advanced reservations ONLINE!!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Rue Gadbois, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec J3A1V1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Niagara Falls, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beware of making advanced reservations ONLINE!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I just made a 1 night reservation, as I was to attend a military graduation. The reservation was made 2 weeks in advance, and today unfortunately I had to cancel. When I emailed them to cancel the res, I was responded to : You cannot receive a refund, even if you have cancelled 2 weeks in advance, due to the fact that you made the res. online!!!!!!! This is totally ridiculous, I have never heard of such nonsense. So I can't go, and it still cost me $156.35 I will NEVER,NEVER book again with a "holiday inn express no matter what! TOTAL RIP-OFF!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Ediemonster,

We have a pricing structure that allows us the opportunity to offer deeper discounts to our customers. In order to offer these rates we must attach restrictions such as cancellation fees or full prepayment. Some of our lowest discounted rates carry full prepayment requirements while others carry a cancellation fee.

It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead offer options that make sense. We always appreciate comments from our guests, and we will use this feedback in making decisions about our future pricing strategies.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    62
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
54
20
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This H.I. Express seemed fairly new. Staff were very helpful and cheerful. There is a self operated elevator...you hold down the button the entire ride. The room was reasonable and clean. We wanted to use the gym in the morning. It had 3 pcs of equipment for cardio plus another piece of the multi-purpose type. The room temp was 75F!!! The a/c would not kick in. Water available, but NO cups. No free weights, no bosu or ball. Equipment was not maintained as bolts were loose, belts needed attention. Disappointing overall.
Breakfast room is large and bright with the standard offerings of hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the highway for maximum quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Lifesatrip,

I would like to express my sincerest thanks for the observations you sent me regarding services at our Hotel. I am pleased you did find our staff as helpful and cheerful and rooms clean. I appreciate your observations and will follow up with maintenance regarding the Gym. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. We thank you for having chosen our Hotel, we take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed here Jan 2012. This looks to be an older hotel that I read was once a Comfort Inn. However, it has been nicely updated, and was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and was outstanding - lots of choices and tasty food. Only drawback might be is that some rooms would likely be noisy, as it is close to a highway, so picking the "right" side of the hotel would be wise (see room tip).

Room Tip: Ask to be near the reception area on the main floor, or on the second floor above the reception area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear KingstonTravellers,
We thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your visit to our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your warm comments regarding our nice and helpful staff. On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that the noise in the rooms due to the highway, did not live up to your expectations. We sincerely apologize for that and we hope that we’ll have the opportunity to make it up to you.
Looking forward to seeing you again on your next trip,
Stephanie Cossette, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Stayed here one night to attend the BMQ graduation at the Saint Jean Garrison. Friendly staff, comfortable bed, and great location near the base. Did not use the pool/hot tub but looks very nice and well taken care of. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I had made reservation ahead of time and found out that I had been charged for the entire duration of our stay (five nights). So, I had to spend a couple of days rectifying this problem prior to our travel, needless to say, this did not start our trip on the right foot. Thanks to Melanie for all of her help. The room was very comfortable but a bit small as was the bathroom. The breakfast was fantastic, and my son enjoyed operating the automatic pancake machine.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

This hotel was perfectly suited for us, both in being a close location to CFLRS and to nearby amenities. We had booked three rooms for family for several nights. Check-in was a breeze, the front desk staff speak fluent English and French, and our advance special requests were honoured without needing to mention them upon arrival.

The rooms are not large, but there was enough space to visit and entertain...we simply brought in a few chairs from the other rooms. The bathroom shower had good water pressure and water temperature. Though the bathroom vanity is small, there is a shelf underneath to keep your essentials. Bath products are from Bath & Body Works. King size bed was comfy.

The hotel provides a self-serve breakfast which should make anyone happy. Cereals, yogurts, toast, bagels, crepes, cinnamon buns, muffins, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, egg patties for a western sandwhich, bananas, juices, coffee and tea. We walked over to Timmies for our morning coffee each day. For those who prefer a more varied breakfast menu, there is Restaurant Eggsquis within walking distance.

The pool was crystal clean...not at all crowded while we were there. The jacuzzi tub is the size you might have at home...a 4-seater where you will need to climb a couple of steps to get in.

The hotel elevator was a topic of conversation! It will not hold 6 adults due to weight restrictions and size. It is a hydraulic lift (?) where you have to manually close the door and hold a button to run it to the floors. If you let go of the button, the elevator won't move. A little cumbersome, so keep in mind the stairs are faster.

Within walking distance (just outside the parking lot) are Tim Hortons, Boston Pizza (we went to both) Burger King and Pizza Hut. We went for walks each day and found a good choice of other restaurants (we plan to try Pacini's next time) and a very nice mall which includes a Sears and Zellers....all within easy walking distance of the hotel. A very short drive away is a Walmart and Subway and Sushi restaurant.

There was not too much going on in St. Jean while we were there, but it was an easy drive to tour around Old Montreal for the day and to go to the Casino de Montreal for dinner and the evening. Due to the ongoing road construction in various parts of Montreal, be sure to research your trip in advance....even our GPS was confused. Or perhaps it was the user :)

We enjoyed our stay and will be returning in December.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Three of us spent one night here in Aug 2011. I chose the hotel because of the close proximity to the Balloon Festival that happens every August.
This was a great little spot for us: the festival was 5-7 mins away by car, the front desk people were all very pleasant and helpful despite my lack of French, and the breakfast in the morning was much better than I expected. We took a break from the hot sun and swam in the indoor pool, which my daughter loved, and had a nice dinner at the restaurant across the way. Is the area picturesque? No. But it is right off the highway and close to Montreal.
I don't know if I will bother with the balloon festival again, but I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: The one elevator is quite small, so if you have a lot to bring in, get a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu

Address: 700 Rue Gadbois, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec J3A1V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Newest Hotel in St. Jean sur Richelieu. The Hot Air Balloon Capital welcomes you to the Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu. Our hotel, in the newest part of the city, offers easy access to Highway 35 and 89 to Vermont. We're conveniently located across from the largest shopping mall and in walking distance to many restaurants & bars. Montreal is only 25 km away. Business travelers find that our St. Jean sur Richelieu hotel offers close proximity to local businesses and the industrial park. The Canadian Force Base is five km away, making us the closest lodging. Traveling by air, our hotel is located 45 minutes from Montreal Airport (YUL). Leisure travelers enjoy this ideal starting point for travel in the Monteregie Region. Hotel guests enjoy visiting Fort Lennox, Fort Chambly or one of our many museums. The Richelieu River offers bicycle & walking paths, cruises or boat rentals. For an adventure, try a ride at the top of the trees at Arbraska Park or go to Safari Park with the kids. In addition, you can always take a day trip to Montreal and enjoy its many attractions. Newly renovated, our St. Jean sur Richelieu hotel offers high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. You can start your day with our delicious, free hot buffet breakfast, American Style. Other amenities include an indoor, heated pool, Jacuzzi, Fitness Center and on-site guest laundry facility. Check out our St. Jean sur Richelieu hotel's deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Jean Sur Richelieu Hotel Saint-Jean-Sur-Richelieu
Comfort Inn Bromont
Bromont Comfort Inn
Holiday Inn Express St. Jean Sur Richelieu Saint-Jean-Sur-Richelieu, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express St. Jean sur Richelieu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.