We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Basilica Sainte Anne de Beaupre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sainte Anne de Beaupre Basilica

Sainte Anne de Beaupre Basilica
10018 Royale Ave, Sainte Anne de Beaupre, Quebec G0A 3C0, Canada
418-827-3781
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$51*
and up
Quebec City Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to...
Type: Religious Sites, Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The earliest buildings of this famous Catholic landmark were constructed in the 17th century.
Iasi, Romania
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
135 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Great Basilica Sainte Anne de Beaupre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A beautiful trip to visit Quebec City could not be totally without a view of that great building. We visited that basilica in a Sunday and also heard the religious service. But first I had the great opportunity to make a tour and admire all the beauty of this church. A really beautiful mosaic work on ceiling but also on the other parts of the church.The Shrine of Sainte Anne de Beaupre has been welcoming people from all walks of life over 350 years. If you visit Quebec City you must see that basilica!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    139
    24
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Basilica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This church is so huge, beautiful inside and outside grounds, beautiful fountain outside. We really enjoyed the visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Basilica! Worth The Detour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Every time I drive through Quebec, I visit this Basilica. It's about 20 to 30 minutes away from Old Quebec, but well worth the detour. You also have the Montmerency Falls and St-Anne Gorge with 5 - 10 minutes of the Basilica. Inside, you'll see some of the the most amazing work done by catholic artisans. Not as spectacular as Notre-Dame in Montreal, but still outstanding.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice trip outside of Quebec”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very nice church a few miles from Quebec city : the interior of the church if very rich in decoration

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If you like an interesting cathedral--well, you know who you are.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Visiting a cathedral may not be your cup of tea. If you feel it might interest you, check out the Basilica. I only had the time alloted to a bus tour. If I had had more time in Quebec, I would have gotten out there by myself. (For those without a car, the only bus I know of is from the Gare de Palais bus terminal in Quebec, using the Intercar bus line. Check their web site for the schedule.) I could easily have spent several hours there. (BTW, I am a former Catholic and not religious.)

The Basilica is basically built in a Romanesque style but using Gothic proportions. What intrigued me was the relatively new appearance of the church. It hasn't been tarnished by time as most great church structures are. The Basilica was rebuilt after a fire in the 1920s and basically finished in the 1970s. It was finished just in time, too, because starting around that time Quebecois support for the Catholic Church began to drop rapidly. Such a massive project could not have been finished today.

The Cyclorama, depicting Jerusalem in the time of Jesus, is a private operation adjacent to the Basilica but not owned by it. It's one of the last survinving panoramas, huge 360 degree paintings giving an illusion of 3D, usually of historical scenes, which were produced in the nineteenth century. (Other surviving panoramas are in Gettysburg and Atlanta.) Another thing I had to skip for lack of time.

If you have any interest in this sort of thing, I think you will find the Basilica will repay your interest. Hopefully you can spare several hours for your visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sainte Anne de Beaupre Basilica also viewed

 

Been to Sainte Anne de Beaupre Basilica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sainte Anne de Beaupre Basilica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.