We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views, lots to do, rustic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Lac Morency

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge du Lac Morency to your Saves list
Auberge du Lac Morency
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   42, rue de la Chaumine, Saint Hippolyte, Quebec J8A 2N4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Hippolyte
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice views, lots to do, rustic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Flew from Houston to Montreal, rented a car and drove to the resort. Enjoyed the stay. Rooms had a kitchenette/or full kitchen...was there with a large wedding group..the wedding was held elsewhere. Rooms we stayed in were clean and neat, had a tv, and wifi. Staff was friendly, lots to do, indoor pool (since it was autumn) was good, lake activities with paddle boats were available...there is an activities room. We stayed for 5 days, but never ate on the property. There's a nearby food store, but you need a car to get there. We ate once at a local bistro. Very picturesque, especially with the fall foliage. Kids in our group had fun. Rooms also had fireplaces. The rooms we stayed in had a living room attached to the bedroom, and the full kitchen; the next room had a bed, couch with pull out bed and a kitchenette, but since we knew the folks in the next room we opened the connecting door and shared the living room space

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    76
    33
    14
    17
See reviews for
67
87
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We where there for a wedding, a week before the wedding the planner of the hotel took 3 days of vacation (that is not the problem) but never return the sife to be phone calls. So she didn't had any news from the planner until friday, the day before the weeding. And there, they didn't know what to do for the wedding.
People at reception and a lot of employees where not nice.
The place is amazing but the service of the hotel is really desapointing.
I dont recommant is for a big group, maybe one night for the lake and the view.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here in June for 3 nights. We stayed in a room that included a full kitchen and living room on the main floor. Upstairs we had a full bathroom and bedroom. It was very clean and had more than enough space for 2.

The staff is wonderful. There are lots of things to do on site. We rented a canoe, board games and sports equipment, which are all included. We rented bikes on site, the price was reasonable.

There is a fenced in pool and space to sit near the little beach. It was beautiful. I would recommend this resort to friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

we took motorcycles up here for a week and the winding roads are perfect for this. Had the most beautiful meal at the resort but I have to say there is no "bad" food in Quebec! Nice resort tucked in beside a quiet lake surrounded by mountains.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

It is all started when my wife received a call from Geo holidays and she was told that we "won" a family vacation package and that we only needed to pay $100.00 for all of us for a few days. Of course the catch was - we had to listen to the time-share sales pitch (around 2h). When I came home and learned about it (30 min. research), I had my doubts about the place. I am by trade a SW engineer and naturally detail-oriented. Troubles started when I read the fine print.
1) Invalid cancelation date range:
According to the printed rules we could cancel our "won vacation" 30 days prior the
start date, otherwise we would be charged the full price of the stay for all the days.
Rules are rules and everything would have been OK, except that we have received
that call 20 days prior the start date and automatically we were exempt from
cancelation procedure - CLEAR SIGN OF A SCAM!!!
2) Purposely withholding of important information
According to the printed rules we must not bring our kids to the time-share sales pitch,
however, when I called ahead of time to arrange for the baby-sitting I was told that
there is no baby-sitting facilities available and that we would have to arrange that with
"somebody" on the spot, that "somebody" charges $35 per hour per kid and I have 2.
3) False information provided
When my wife spoke with the agent that was informing her about our "winning", my
wife's first question was - "How far is that place?" (as we have small kids), she
received an answer - 1.5 hours. When I was creating a route through the google maps
, I could not find anything less then 3 hours no matter what settings I would put in
place, it could not have been in any case 1.5 hours.
4) False itinerary information provided
When the agent spoke with my wife - indicated that breakfasts were included for all,
in reality, kids were not included. There is also no kids menu. There is no place you
can go to get a decent lunch or supper, everything is overpriced and despite the
gourmet(ish) appeal, does not even come close. We love Fairmont Montebello and
Fairmont Tremblant and we go there regularly (summer, fall, winter and spring) and
we know how it could/should be.

Bottom line is - when I wanted to cancel the trip, despite presenting all the evidence to the agent my reasoning was dismissed, I felt that I am speaking to the brick wall - overall horrible experience that I would not want my worst enemy to live through. Really arrogant attitude over the phone. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Hippolyte hotels

Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

My family and I booked this through an RCI trade and it is really great. They have organized activities for free (canoe and kayak lessons, french classes, guided hikes etc) and tours of Quebec City and Montreal for a fee. There are paddle boats, canoes and kayaks and tennis rackets to use. We ate at the french restaurant twice and it was a fair price for the quality of the meal, but it was a little expensive. I indulged in two spa treatments that were really good. We have thoroughly enjoyed our time here and would love to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

The resort is nice... many things to do. As others have said, the units are nice, but not top notch while the restaurant is geared toward those traveling within a much bigger budget than mine! $38, plus taxes (%15) and tip for 1 for dinner... and the choices are limited.

Suggestions:
1. Compile a book of activities in the area- (not just the ones on site) with contact info and prices even. All signs are in French which is charming but more difficult for non-French speaking guests. Help us out a bit- it would go a long way!

2. Where are the local eateries? I asked a person and they didn't know where the "locals" ate? really?? we spent a lot of time online and trying to sort through French publications to locate food and local activities... VERY frustrating. Again- just help us out a bit so we have more time to enjoy.

4. Clarify the services of the restaurant and prices. Show a copy of the whole menu not just brunch and dinner. Near the end of the week, we discovered you could get bagels and hot chocolate at the restaurant. We were told from day 1 that there were set meals and times and reservations must be made.

4. Stabilize your hours of operation!! Hours of operation varied for activities on site- we were told closing was 9:00 pm. we discovered it was 9 for one thing, 6:00 for another and 5:00 for another, when we were told 9:00- period. That resulted in a few letdowns! After we struggled through and made plans, then discovered the info given to us was incorrect. We wanted to go kayaking....too late. wanted to rent an ATV...too late and the info given in the orientation sessions was incorrect- they were not available to rent during the evenings. Such long, beautiful evenings and activities are closed.

I had to ask for a daily activity map- not in booklet we were given.

5. Lighten up on the restaurant. Offer a burger and some basic fare for those with families and on a budget.

6. 1 bedroom units really need a cart for the microwave so there is some counter space to wash dishes. No electric dishwasher in our unit despite saying full kitchen.

7. Perhaps add a few French phrases in the book. Then we could attempt to speak in Native language and communicate better. I always like to speak a bit of the language when i travel, even if my pronunciation is not so good. after we spent to much time hunting eating and activity options, I was too tired and annoyed to spend anymore time online looking for French phrases. I admit, I was not prepared for the language issue- my bad.

Indoor pool was great!
Staff could all communicate very well in both English and French.
They were helpful when asked- but having resources to share with us would save everyone time!
Most activities were free- yeah- THANK YOU!!
Architecture of buildings was nice.
Grounds were well maintained.
Beautiful flowers and vineyards.
Free wifi- a bit unreliable but it was very nice to have.
We made a fire on the beach at night in a firepit- very nice touch!!
The local rail-trail was awesome!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge du Lac Morency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Lac Morency

Address: 42, rue de la Chaumine, Saint Hippolyte, Quebec J8A 2N4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Saint Hippolyte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Hippolyte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge du Lac Morency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St-Hippolyte’s Auberge du Lac Morency is nestled in a charming location in the heart of the Laurentians, just 50 minutes north of Montreal. Built in 1934 and completely renovated, this warm and inviting Inn is the soul of an international holiday resort.At the beginning of the 90s, 4 rooms had already been added to the 10 original, and since 2001, 26 new luxurious units have been built.Our Restaurant:The Auberge du Lac Morency’s restaurant staff is composed of gastronomy lovers… they appreciate textures, aromas and flavors.Both kitchen and dining room employees are proud to be able to allow our guests to live wonderful moments. Everything is taken into consideration in order to attain a high level of excellence that our clientele will no doubt appreciate.For example, our Director wanted to offer smoked meats and fish… a smoker was thus built which allows our chef to express his originality. Your visit to the Auberge du Lac Morency wouldn’t be complete without having tasted our smoked salmon! Why not try it with a glass of white wine chosen from the hundreds of choices present on our wine card.Early on Sunday mornings, at the chez Hippolyte restaurant, our entire team prepares to serve our delicious brunch. Brioches, croissants, fine cheeses, fruits, salads and cooked meats are on the menu and will make both young and old wish they could eat more.Our table d’hôte is changed regularly, usually as the seasons themselves do. Our chef chooses lighter foods for the warmer seasons and richer ingredients in the winter.Our Spa:We offer Swedish and hot volcanic rock massages. Esthetic and body wrap treatments are also available.Offer yourself this precious gift and you will find balance between your body and soul.Hope to see you all in the laurentians! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Auberge du Lac Morency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Lac Morency Hotel Saint Hippolyte
Auberge Du Lac Morency Saint Hippolyte, Quebec, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Lac Morency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.