We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our meal at La Belle Bedaine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casse-Croute La Belle Bedaine

Casse-Croute La Belle Bedaine
664 Notre Dame St, Montebello, Quebec J0V 1L0, Canada
(819) 423-5053
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 10 Restaurants in Montebello
Restaurant details
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our meal at La Belle Bedaine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was in Montebello with my two kids this week. We were staying at the Chateau and were looking for a cheaper place to eat lunch. We ventured into the town and found this cute little Casse-Croute. It didn't look like much from the street but we decided to try it anyway. What a nice surprise! They have a nice outdoor patio in the back with a beautiful view of the river.

The place was quite busy but we did not wait very long. They have a good system where you order and pay, they give you your drinks right away and a beeper that vibrates when your order is ready. You go grab a table and enjoy the beautiful view outside. Food was ready in about 10 minutes and was very good. Big servings. Fries were a little overcooked to my taste though and they could use a change of their cooking oil. Everything else was very good. We had chicken nuggets, club sandwich, hot dogs, onion rings, chocolate milks.

Prices are reasonable. I will return when I pass by Montebello again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Too slow.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went there for breakfast because the B & B was closed for breakfast on Wednesdays. (Strange opening hours in this little town.) You order at the counter and then they give you a pager that beeps when your order is ready. We ordered bacon and eggs - simple right? We waited almost half an hour! If we hadn't already paid, we would have left.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“trop de mouches et un peu trop chere pour le service et le manger!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Ns sommes aller a c resto pour 3 jours, toujours bcp de mouche, le manger froid et le staff pas trop gentils. Mon neveue c enfargé dans leurs tapis qui etais lever and il a tombé en plein tete.... les filles deriere le cash on trouvée ca tres drole... elles ont meme pad demander ci il etais ok ou quoi... il a que 7ans--- imagine ci il aurrai eu un gors mal. J'amais je vais retourner a cette place. A oui les planchers sal et la chambre de bain sant la pisse.

----
food cold, clerk & staff not too nice or welcoming. Dirty floors, smelly bathrooms and expensive for what they offer. My little nephew was on his way to the bathroom and their rug was not put down right and he tripped and smacked the floor. The staff stood there and laughed at him, he is 7 years old. Lucky for them he did not get hurt more than he did but w that said they never got up to ask if he was ok. Just mean spirits. It's well worth the time to drive to Thurso, get seated and waited on for a lesser price and for good hot food and great service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Super”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We loved our visit to Montebello and going to this restaurant was one of the high points.
We only speak English and the area is very French speaking but the folk in the restaurant did not understand us, so they went and fetched their daughter, who translated for us. Everything was done with great kindness and humour, lovely.
Moving on to the food, it was great.
Arriving outside the restaurant, we were surprised to see that that was dozens of Motorbikes – mostly Harley-Davidsons – the riders were no problem and also simply enjoying a nice day out.
Friendly people and good food, what more could you want

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Loved it cheap and good, there is no service at the table but it's quite charming, full of locals reading their paper, very typical casse-croute with some good eats.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casse-Croute La Belle Bedaine also viewed

Montebello, Outaouais Region
Montebello, Outaouais Region
 
Montebello, Outaouais Region
Montebello, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Casse-Croute La Belle Bedaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casse-Croute La Belle Bedaine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.