We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate nature getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenauk Nature

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montebello
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kenauk Nature
Save
You added Kenauk Nature to your Saves list
1000 chemin Kenauk, Montebello, Quebec J0V 1L0 , Canada (Formerly Fairmont Kenauk at Le Chateau Montebello)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ultimate nature getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I've been coming to Kenauk for many years and have stayed in 3 different cabins: mills, muscrat, and cedar. Some of the cabins, like mills, north commandant, and others are set up like a hunting lodge, ie 6 beds in a room and a kitchen. Other cabins, like Cedar or Hidden, are more like traditional country homes with living rooms, dining areas and fireplaces, combined with breathtaking views of the water and surrounding mountains. What makes Kenauk the extremely special place that it is are the pure fresh air, crystal clear clean waters, and the beauty of the abundant surrounding nature. There is no electricity in the cabins, solar power and propane give hot water and light, and power the stove and fridge. This is a getaway for people who love nature and appreciate canadian nature.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I are regular visitors to nearby Chateau Montebello (managed by Fairmont Resorts) and in the past 13 years have discussed checking out Kenauk every time we're out that way. This year we decided to take the plunge and boy are we ever glad we did. We rented a small chalet on Lac Rough called-oddly enough-Rough Chalet :) It was recommended to us by the lovely woman who took our reservation when we visited the park office back in April. She was not wrong in that recommendation!

Chalet Rough was small but mighty!....nestled above the small lake, tucked into the trees, with only a few gently sloping stairs heading down to the dock. The lake was tiny by my experience (used to Ontario lakes like Muskoka or Georgian Bay) but we were the only ones on it besides a loon who chatted to us every afternoon.

The property was neatly landscaped, clean and everything in great shape; a Napolean BBQ fully gassed up, a shed full of chopped wood and kindling, two picnic tables, one overlooking the lake, an outdoor fire pit, two fishing boats, two canoes and a kayak at the dock-and THAT was just the outdoor equipment!

Inside the chalet boasted three bedrooms, total sleeps 8 PLUS a pull out couch. Caveats to note though: two main floor bedrooms have bunk beds only, double on the bottom and single on top. The upstairs loft bedroom has two singles but apparently it get's quite hot up there in the summer. The mattresses, pillows and bedsheets were utterly appalling, almost ruining the trip because the mattresses were so hard we couldn't sleep. The linen was very old and ratty, holes in the pillow cases and ugly, cheap bedspreads. NOT up to Fairmont management standards at all and the only complaint I had about the whole experience. If you are looking to go 'Glamping' (aka-waited on hand and foot, 5 star luxury in the woods) then this is NOT the place to go. HOWEVER, please read on because if you are simply looking for the BEST COTTAGE RENTAL experience ever, this is your ticket.

The exceptionally clean (no bugs, no mice, no left-over dirt!) chalet was decked out in traditional pine, an all-wood structure made to look like a log cabin- also consisted of a living room area with comfy pine furniture, perfect for curling up with a good book in front of the wood burning stove (which I did every day!). A three piece bathroom with hot shower, fully stocked kitchen and 6 person dining table completed the interior picture. A good size screened in porch overlooking the water, plus an open-air deck rounded out the chalet and really made it the perfect place for my husband and I to relax and unwind. We visited the long weekend in August and the weather was a bit windy, sometimes wet and cool. It allowed us to use the wood stove every day, though for spring and fall there is also a propane fuelled furnace. The water is heated via propane, the refrigerator is cooled by propane, the interior lighting is also provided by propane lamps, there are solar panels above the roof that provide electricity to the water pump which draws water from a well. All your needs are provided for in terms of a rental:

Towels for showering, towels for the lake, soap, shampoo, hand lotion, bed linen (though we will bring our own next time), kitchen stocked with dishes, glasses, mugs, all utensils, pots, pans, strainers, tin foil, plastic wrap, paper towel, dish towels and clothes, dish soap, (bring scissors and a sharp knife though), even a crazy Coleman coffee maker and cool toasting apparatus! Someone left magazines behind the read and we brought our own battery operated lamps to read in bed at night.

We absolutely loved this property, it met our expectations in a completely different way than we had imagined. We have owned our own cottages in the past and this felt like coming home to our own rustic memories. Luckily we had an idea of what it was going to be or, because of the Fairmont affiliation, we would have expected high end glamping facilities for sure.

We plan to come back to this very chalet as long as we are allowed to rent it. Some might find the pricing steep ($430 per night plus taxes)-but being from Ontario we know that it's virtually impossible to rent a three bedroom chalet, fully loaded, for a long weekend only (ie most of the time during prime summer months you have to rent for a whole week or not at all); and most cottages that offered what this place offers go for the same amount per night, so we felt like we were getting our money's worth for sure.

We hope whoever buys it, will keep Kenauk in the pristine manner it has enjoyed for all these years and allow Fairmont to continue to be the caretakers of this gorgeous Canadian land.

Room Tip: For couples or 4 friends looking for a good escape, Chalet Rough is great. It is a chalet that sits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east midlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was our third stay at Kenauk (stayed at Three Points and Pumpkinseed before) but our last stay was 10 years ago so our visit was way overdue! What was once a romantic isolated hideaway was this time an exciting family adventure for us and a 3 and 9 year old. We chose Taunton cabin as it had one bedroom, and although we really liked Pumpkinseed we weren't sure our two children would like being in a separate bedroom downstairs from us. Taunton cabin was 13km from the entrance gate and had by far the largest lake we have had so far. It was also the first log cabin we had stayed in after two stays in cedar chalets. The cabin was nice although perhaps a little dark. A single skylight in the living area shed some light but a couple more would have improved things immensely. Also we expected the cabin to be the larger of the three so far, but in fact I think it was the smallest. The bedroom was practical with a double bed and two sets of bunks, windows on three sides and lovely animal inspired bed covers. The bedroom was rather dark also and we resorted to using a torch to do even basic tasks (like finding things in the suitcase!). Since our last stay the cabins have two way radios so you can contact the reception, but we couldn't actually get ours to work - we had an alarm going off in the bathroom and we were concerned in case it was a carbon monoxide alarm. We never did find out what it was and it did not go off again during our stay. The kitchen was well equipped as usual although I did bring my own hand whisk to whip cream! My only criticism of the living area was that it lacked any real seating area. There was a table with 6 chairs and two armchairs but if the whole family wanted to sit inside comfortably it was impossible. In other cabins we have had small sofas etc and this would have been ideal although I realise space was perhaps prohibitively limited. The water is fed from the lake and we didn't drink it and used bottled water for brushing teeth also. There was adequate hot water from the solar heater apart from one evening when we went overboard with long showers! Outside the cabin was a picnic table although I would say it wasn't that child friendly as there was a rather steep drop on one side through wooden fencing. There was also a covered gas barbecue which we used each night, regardless of the weather and a firepit with muskoka (or were they adirondack!) chairs. My husband was very proud of the blazing fire he lit in the firepit on our last evening which kept us snug and warm outside. We had two rowing boats, a canoe and 2 kayaks which we enjoyed using on the very impressively large lake. We have never used the facilities at Chateau Montebello before while we stayed at Kenauk but on a rainy day this time we were tempted to visit for a swim (and to pick up some butter from the village shop which I had forgotten to buy back in Montreal!). We heard moose in the evenings and a wolf howling in the middle of the night, but the wolves were not as obvious as they have been before in our other two cabins. I'm not sure if the other two cabins' location at the North end of Kenauk benefits from their proximity to wolf territory or if we were just unlucky this time. However on our final morning I got up early and saw a wolf standing outside our cabin, so I guess I cant complain about the lack of wildlife! We all enjoyed our stay here immensely, and I would go back tomorrow, although perhaps not to Taunton.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great spot! Our cabin (I think it was Pines) had a massive screened porch overlooking the river. The kitchen is fully stocked so no need to bring extra dishes. There was even tinfoil, saran wrap etc. The stove was so cool - it gets very hot, has a large flat top grill on one side, a special attachment to toast bread and you are able to brew your coffee on it.

Plenty of hot water, great shower pressure. This is hardly roughing it!

It was so nice to get off the grid but if you do need to plug something in, our cabin did have a couple of outlets.

Loved it and hope to return someday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were 6 people and stayed at the Sugarbush cottage. It's nestled about 45 minutes from the Fairmont Kenauk entrance on a very nice private lake. Lighting, heating, stove and hot water are all gas powered. Solar panels power some lighting and the fridge. The kitchen has just about everything you need and there is a propane bbq outside. The cottage sleeps 6 (bunk bed in 3 separate rooms). We had 3 fishing boats, kayak and a canoe. This is a first class cottage for families, fishing and hunting. Don't expect the cottage to look like a luxury hotel suite but it is a great place to relax and has all the amenities you would need for a vacation away from the city. If you don't have electric motors and batteries for the boats, they have plenty for rent (they told us it is preferable to reserve the equipment in advance).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

When packing for this trip, yes they have salt, pepper, sugar, kitchen hand towels, kitchen drying cloths, scrapers, sos pads, dish detergent, all kinds of kitchen utensils, numerous pots and pans, salad bowls (big enough for 20), muffin tins, cooking sheets and even a cast iron frying pan. My only suggestion is a timer for your belt that when you barbeque, you don't forget the meat, the view is so spectacular that you really lose track of time. The only other suggestion that I have, I know you are anxious to get there once you check in, but take the road cautiously as we saw at least 6 deer each way traveling the road, not counting the wild turkey and turtles in the middle of the road

Room Tip: just enjoy the piece and quiet and the nature is off the charts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This 12 miles by 12 miles of forest is also available to residents of Fairmont Chateau Montebello who own it, but not the general public. It is a truly amazing place: just to drive through it is wonderful and to stay there must be out ofthis world although rather expensive, especially if you want to shoot a moose!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenauk Nature? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenauk Nature

Address: 1000 chemin Kenauk, Montebello, Quebec J0V 1L0 , Canada (Formerly Fairmont Kenauk at Le Chateau Montebello)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Montebello
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Montebello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenauk Nature is a vast 265 km2 (65,000 acre) private landscape established in the 19th century to conserve and protect wildlife habitat. Our magnificent hardwood forest encompasses 65 lakes, 25 of them designated for fishing a wide variety of fish, including rainbow, speckled and lake trout, large-mouth and small-mouth bass and northern pike. For guests to fully experience the wilderness, we offer secluded first-class chalets, with one to six bedrooms. Each private cabin comes equipped with propane lights, fully equipped kitchen, outside barbecue, furnace and hot water tank provided by propane gas, complete bathroom for your comfort and spacious screened porch or a large balcony. All cabins are off the electrical grid so solar panels power the high efficiency refrigerator and water pump. Kenauk Nature is proud to be a partner with the Nature Conservancy of Canada whose reputation for protecting wild places is outstanding. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairmont Kenauk At Le Chateau Montebello Hotel Montebello
Fairmont Montebello
Montebello Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenauk Nature, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.