We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always feels like home.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello to your Saves list
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   392 Rue Notre-dame, Montebello, Quebec J0V1L0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montebello
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always feels like home.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have been going to Chateau Montebello for the last twenty years. We stay there at least twice a year. We have always been very happy with the staff, the rooms and their outdoor BBQ in the summer is amazing. I love the feeling of being away, but not being too far from home. Once when we stayed there on our anniversary, I had told the reception desk it was our anniversary, we checked in and took a dip in the outdoor pool, upon returning to our room there was a bottle of sparkling wine and a card signed by the staff. We were so touched. this is why it feels like home. I will gladly go back and I look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at Fairmont le Chateau Montebello. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return.

It is always a pleasure for us to personalize the stay of your guest and to turn moment into memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont le Chateau Montebello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    284
    137
    51
    23
See reviews for
296
392
14
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

To get over with it, the only thing I didn't appreciate was the porter asking for a tip. As a first impression when you step into the hotel, this is actually quite annoying but fortunately, the service is great after that. The location is amazing. As other reviews say, a truly unique experience. Rooms are very comfortable. We organized our wedding reception at the Chateau Montebello and all our guests were charmed by the hotel and its location. Try the brunch. The crepes are amazing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a one night dinner and golf. Enjoyed it very much. The staff were friendly and the food very good. The room was dated in terms of the decor but i think that leant itself to the charm. Bed was wonderful and linens were very nice. i could have stayed in bed all day but we had to also golf. Great course quite challenging including the greens...tricky and fast. In wonderful shape.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A visit to Chateau Montebello is like going back to the 1930s or 40's (but with better plumbing). The main lodge and all the other buildings are built of logs and the interiors are decorated with old-style parchment lamp shades and furniture built out of tree branches. This may not sound like much, but I felt like I was in an old movie in which the wealth heiress visits a hunting lodge. Our room was relatively small but functional and everything throughout the lodge was in excellent shape - I can only hope they resist the temptation to "update" and turn a unique ambiance into a run-of-the-mill lodge.
My friend used the sports complex and found it quite satisfactory - I sampled the spa and found it to be extremely relaxing although the water view was a little obscured by the boat house.
There is an extensive range of activities - and while we stuck to hikes primarily, I saw plenty of children with their parents involved in a wide variety of out door activities despite the rather poor weather.
The food in the main dining room was great - the selection in the pub was so-so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a throwback to the vacations of times past, when families would travel to hotels on lakes for fresh air and water activities, the type of vacations that made Lake George famous. Remember the movie "Dirty Dancing"? The Montebello is a reminder of those days, updated just enough to keep its own head above water.

The buildings are truly unique. How often will you be able to sleep in a log cabin that is more akin to a Chateau? the lobby is exceptional. It is a massive log construction area, with a huge central stone fireplace.

But this is more of an experience than a luxury stay. It speaks heritage. The grounds are large and attractive, offering nice walks and many activities, both on-site and off. As such, it will no doubt be enjoyable for many.

However, the hotel is not the same level of luxury as you might expect given the Fairmont name and the prices. If you want modernized, comfortable rooms, with large, updated bathroom facilities, you will be disappointed. If you like bright public areas, including hallways, you will be disappointed. The wood is dark brown and the colours tend to be somber.

So, it's a matter of expectations. Some will love it, others will be disappointed.

As for service, I have stayed there on business over the years and have rarely been impressed with the service. This last visit was quite different. The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful.

For business meetings, the owners have invested in a modern conference centre. It is a large and user-friendly area. It has improved tremendously, and has become a very good choice for business meetings. Given that the hotel is in the country, the location helps keep attendees in attendance!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

It's a beautiful old building with a spectacular lobby but it's been allowed to become a bit threadbare. The grounds are expansive and have all the usual resort hotel and spa activities. All-in-all a very relaxing place for a quiet, short and local vacation. Expect to pay at least the cost of your room per day in activity fees, bar tabs and restaurant bills. The staff is long term, professional and "correct", but not overly warm. A stay much longer than five days is not recommended as the restaurant menu, while good, quickly becomes exhausted. Make the trip to Kenauk for fishing, canoeing and shooting but don't arrive early, the staff starts late. Also, if you've rented a boat, bring your own trolling motor and bailing pump. The staff will not bail-out last nights rainfall for you. That said, the sporting clay range and the fishing is very good. The Stanley Thomson course is reasonably well maintained and worth a round or two. Avoid staying at the hotel during Quebec Construction holiday. The tone of the place becomes more Cancun than Fairmont. Be careful to specify an athletic massage if receiving a massage, otherwise it will be too gentle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Spirochaetes,

I truly appreciate your feedback, and I am pleased to say that we have numerous capital projects in place to improve our unique building, that you noted as ''been allowed to become a bit threadbare''. We have been putting a lot of money in infrastructure, and in the coming years we are investing more in the esthetics, and I am really glad about this!

I appreciate your honest feedback about your experience and it allows me to work with my team to improve, so thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Fairmont Le Château Montebello!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

As stated, huge log hotel. Grounds and lodge very unique. My kids all want to go back and stay there. Inside the lobby area is a sight to see. Seemed like they had a lot of activities to do. Doesn't seem like a whole lot to do in the area outside Parc Omega and couple points of interest in town. Lots of outdoor sitting areas with spots to purchase food and drinks. If your looking for a nice quite place to relax and settle down, this would be it. A good book in a chair along the river. Our 2 hours there was plenty and that included walking up to the historic house that sits just past the pool and horses.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello

Address: 392 Rue Notre-dame, Montebello, Quebec J0V1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Montebello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montebello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello Hotel Montebello
Chateau Montebello
Fairmont Montebello
Montebello Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.