We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to Stay in Montebello” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aux Douceurs Du Passant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montebello
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aux Douceurs Du Passant
Save
You added Aux Douceurs Du Passant to your Saves list
527 Notre-Dame, Montebello, Quebec J0V 1L0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Montebello B&B and Inns
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“The Place to Stay in Montebello”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a wonderful B&B and I highly recommend it if you are in the area. The owners are very welcoming and we found that Johanne was particularly attentive to our every need. We stayed 3 nights and she quickly worked out how we liked our breakfasts, (which are excellent, by the way), and made sure that everything was served just so. The rooms are extremely comfortable and include special orthopedic beds. There is no maid service, so make sure you make your bed! The bathrooms have high quality plush towels and a good selection of toiletries. I would recommend the Cafe Latte room if you have a choice since it is away from the street and has a lovely claw foot tub. But all the rooms are great.

Johanne is a wealth of information on the area and can make suggestions for day trips. She can also make restaurant reservations for you. This is a great help if you are not very conversant in French.

The only issues I found are: WIFI is very spotty and I was never able to connect on my iPad. There is a laptop available for guests and you can sometimes connect to the WIFI there, but the service is slower than dial-up! So, don't plan on being on-line a lot. Also, a small fridge is provided for guests which is very convenient. Try to put your food on the door since everything freezes solid at the back of the fridge.

Room Tip: Caffe Latte is an especially nice room because it has a bathroom with a huge claw foot tub. It is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We asked a waiter at another restaurant in Montebello for a breakfast recommendation and, without hesitation, he suggested Aux Douceurs du Passant. Good tip from someone in the local industry! Excellent pancakes, French toast, teas, and goodies from the bakery for the rest of the day. Based on the quality of the food at breakfast, I wouldn't hesitate to stay in the B&B side of the operation. Very comfortable atmosphere and service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Charming small B&B on the main street of Montebello. Much better valued than the close-by Fairmount, this place is also great for an early breakfast. The rooms are cosy and the hostess is very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were not inspired by the Chateau Montebello breakfast menu so we took a stroll and happened upon this lovely place. The breakfast menu is big with all kinds of options. I had eggs benedict perfectly cooked with really nicely presented fresh fruit on the side. They were busy so it took a bit of time. We ate outside on the lovely porch.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Orignal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just wanted to leave a little compliment on the restaurant and the provided service. The couple who owns the B&B and run the restaurant are warm and friendly and the restaurant is such a nice, clean and cozy place. The omelettes we had were delicious and the lovely arranged fruit dish was plentiful and offer a nice variety of different fresh fruits. Thanks for the nice escape from home and the wonderful conversation.
We will drop by soon again.

Room Tip: Right in the centre of Montebello, easy to reach everything in the village by foot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Can't speak to the quality of the B&B, but the dining room is terrific - as they tell you when you come in, everything here is homemade, so breakfast can take a little while to come out. Oh but is it ever worth the wait! Stopping in for a Sunday brunch, I had the pleasure of having what are probably the best eggs Benedict I've ever tasted, and their homemade jams are to die for. Very, very reasonable pricing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I cannot really comment on the rooms but the brunch and the restaurant were amazing. The sort of clean, amicable interior, well managed environment combined with hearty absolutely homemade wholesome real food.
I hate to be sexist but for some reason, I am getting convinced that a restaurent managed and run by a woman has a better success rate. The dishes were complete in a sense that you'd have all you'd wished for your meal, details are not overlooked and that's the kind of precision a woman perfects.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douceurs_154, Propriétaire at Aux Douceurs Du Passant, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Google Translation
Very nice to receive positive compliments by the customers of the restaurant, even though this site is for the Bed and Breakfast , he pleases us to read you again. Thank you, hope to see you again
Très agréable de recevoir des compliments positifs par la clientèle du resto sur ce site, car je n'ai pas de site tripadvisor pour le resto , juste pour le gîte, cela nous fait toujours plaisir de vous lire. Au plaisir de vous revoir chez nous.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aux Douceurs Du Passant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aux Douceurs Du Passant

Address: 527 Notre-Dame, Montebello, Quebec J0V 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Montebello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Montebello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aux Douceurs Du Passant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.