We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice location, great cottages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Village Windigo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Village Windigo to your Saves list
Le Village Windigo
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   548, chemin Windigo | Ferme-Neuve, Mont Laurier, Quebec J0W 1C0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mont Laurier
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Very nice location, great cottages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The beach and the lake are great. The cottages are very nice and clean.
Been there last summer for the first time and will go back in July 2012.
We have not used the restaurant, the SPA or bought any packages. We just rented a cottage and had fun.
In the cottages that we rented (3 and 5 bedrooms) there was no AC, but it was OK.
We had a problem with shower overflow in the basement apartment but it was quickly fixed by the staff.

Room Tip: Be careful with the kids on the beach, the water is very deep just a few meters from shore. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    17
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
31
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Granby
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

It was our second trip to Windigo for what we call in Quebec "la semaine de relâche scolaire". We went last year just my man and our 2 sons (6 and 8 at the time). We had a condo unit which was very nice. The boys had to sleep on the pull out sofa of living room but they could watch tv and the fireplace so they liked that a lot. We had a very nice bedroom with a super comfy king bed. The kitchen was ok. Not a lot of cooking items but we managed. Housekeeping showed up on the 4th day (!?) even though we turn the sign on the door by the first day. We had a breakfast and a diner at the restaurant. It was a bit deceiving for the price, I must admit. Availability of cross country skis for kids is very limited, you better bring your own. Trails are very hard with lots of ups and downs somethimes dangerous but that is if you go further in the trails. Near the area of the front desk, it's ok. We also played hockey and slide, it was fun for all the family. The nature and the area is absolutly breathtaking. So peaceful and beautiful.

We had such a great time that we decide to go back this year and since we showed pictures of our last year trip to our friends, they wanted to come too. We were a party of 8, 4 adults and 4 kids aged between 11 and 7. We chose a cottage this time. It's was perfect. 1 bedroom with king bed, fireplace and adjoining bathroom on the first floor. A second bedroom with Queen bed and tv on the second floor and a mezzanine with 4 singles beds for the kids and a bathroom. I can tell you the kids at a real blast ! The cottage was very well equiped. They tought of almost everything. Lots of cooking items, games, etc. Since we were deceived by the restaurant, we decided we cooked meals the week before our trip that we would bring so we only had the heat them while playing outside. It was perfect (specialy with the many bottles of wine that we brough to !). We tried to use the spa but it was smelly and looked like nobody had taking care of it since a while so we went back in the cottage ! This year again, housekeeping didn't showed even if we turn the sign on the door... May be it's not included, I didn't ask. I went to front desk to ask for more towels and coffee filters and the delivered it right away so we didn't bother with the housekeeping that much.
This year again, we had a real good time. The place is nice and not to $$$ like other place in the semaine de relâche. I gave a 4 and not a 5 only because of the few glinch (spa, housekeeping and restaurant matter) but I would go back without any hesitation, it is a very great place. If you decide to go, don't hesitate to send me a message, I will provide you with my list of things to pack !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Arriving after seven hours on a skidoo, our 7 o’clock reservation was being changed again (originally 7:30) to 8:30. A little late but we were told that we would get better table service. Our package included a three course meal. We were not told until later by the gentleman at the check-in desk that this would amount to three courses from a five or seven course meal which explains why we received enough food to qualify as a light lunch. A cream based carrot soup arrived with a bottle of wine we ordered and a round of drinks. Another bottle of wine and two more rounds of drinks arrived over the next two hours. We understand now that the other tables where receiving the courses missing from our meals. At 10:30 an over cooked 3 to 4 ounce steak arrived with a small pile of mashed potatoes coved by a few strings of vegetables. The small portion of chicken was equally overcooked but the duck arrived somewhat raw. I took two bites of my “supper” and left without desert. The area is pretty, the cabins nice and reasonably clean with good beds but our Valentine’s supper, what little there was of it, has left a very bitter taste.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My wife and I drove to The Village Windigo from Montreal Area on Oct. 26 for two days. We were greeted by Benn who gave us a complete briefing of the facilities and information about the area and the surroundings. We were given a Lake Front Condo with an awesome view of the Baskatong Reservoir. The Condo is fully equipped with a range, fridge, dishwasher and even a washer and dryer set. Pots and pans and all the dishware are there for your convenience. And there is plenty even for four people. You also have a fireplace and plenty of wood inside and outside on the porch, and no extra charges for this. Our condo had a separate bedroom with a King bed and TV, and there is a sofabed in the living room area. Four large extra comfy chairs are located in front of the large bay windows for your dreaming comfort overlooking ther water. By the way they also rent some Chalets. It is very well maintained and clean. For the activities, name it, it's all there. You can walk for hours in the numerous paths. You can also rent an ATV on the premises and drive for miles. There is also a game room and a Spa where you can relax in the Hottub or the Sauna. There is always someone at the Reception on days and from 7PM to 7AM there is a Security Guard at the Main Entrance. It is a very safe place. There is a Restaurant, but check for opening hours during the low season period. They sell package with or without the meals. Then you can bring your own food, if you choose lodging only, but make sure not to forget anything, because the Grocery Store is a good 45 kilometers (30 miles) away. But you can get snacks and minor things at the Reception. If a cellular is a must for you, check with your supplier if they have a signal in that area. I'm with Rogers and it's not working there. But they have a public phone you can use, if really needed. The roads are all paved and only a small stretch before arriving is not. But that part of the road is even and solid. We had the pleasure to meet the owners who are very friendly and customer oriented. Thanks again to my buddy Benn, he's the employee of the decade. Thanks to that young man who came to adjust my TV and gave me a krasch course on how to operate the ATV, he is ''Mr. Fix-It'' and the Chef and his Assistant who made sure we were well fed (it was plentiful and delicious) during that too short vacation. My wife and I had a great time. Thank you et un Gros Merci!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We spent 3 days at the Windigo. Travelling with 2 young kids.First time there. The place is really beautiful. We rented a condo (#27), in front of the beach. If you can have the # 7 or 9, they are the best !
Lot of things to do especially with kids.

Room Tip: Do book the condo witha forest view, there are far away from the beach and not really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We just returned from another great week at Windigo! What an amazing spot! If you are looking for a peaceful, restful & nature setting resort, this is the place to be. My husband and I love it there - I'm ready to head back tomorrow. We're already booked ourselves another week next summer! We stay in a condo (lake view). They are super well appointed...everything you could possibly need. Clean and the view is just amazing. The lake is beautiful and quiet. The beach is clean, sandy and no weeds. Plenty of lounge chairs and their comfortable too. We enjoyed the water sports that are available (at no charge). Plenty of kayak, canoe, paddle boats. And when on land, we like to take a mountain bike out for a spin (again no charge). The sunsets are amazing, a different one every night. All the staff are super great and friendly! Special thanks to Ben at the Reception for his amazing attention to detail & pleasant & helpful "way of being" from the moment we arrived till our farewell. Ben, we miss you already. L

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We had a great time at Windigo, but even with the snow we were disapointed not to have access to the skidoos. They told us that it was too early season and not enough people to have them brought over from a near village. Food was ok but not exceptionnal (uncooked potatoes..). One night, some teachers had a Christmas party, they were so loud we had to go back to the chalet to finish our meal, since we coud not hear our own thoughts.... We felt as if we were at the sugar shack... So not very romantic. They should avoid those kind of group or put them elsewhere.

The luxurious chalets are amazing with the big windows! I think the place is perfect for a small group (4 to 6) since you can rent a chalet with a spa on the balcony.

As for the spa, don't go, the towel I had in my face smelled of moisture and she did not even ask what kind of massage I wanted.. so very amateur.

At least the young lady at the desk was very helpful and so nice!!
Overall we had a nice time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Village Windigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Village Windigo

Address: 548, chemin Windigo | Ferme-Neuve, Mont Laurier, Quebec J0W 1C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Mont Laurier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mont Laurier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Village Windigo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Village Windigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Village Windigo Hotel Mont Laurier
Le Village Windigo Mont Laurier, Quebec, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Village Windigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.