We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer to your Saves list
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1125 Richelieu | Secteur Pointe-au-Pic, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 2X8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in La Malbaie
Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Still a good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was here a year ago (in the summer) but in a different room. I have a room without a kitchenette this time, but it does have a fridge. Nice and large, with a sofa and long desk; table and chairs. Internet is great and lots of storage space.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    30
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
40
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

As many have commented, this is a great value for the amount I paid, $60 per night. It is not a luxurious room, but it is certainly a big family room, and must importantly it is clean, decent, no smell...the bathroom is very clean. There is no elevator; so if you are carrying heavy and you are given a room in the upper floor, you may have difficulty. Also on the day of my booking, I was arriving rather late at 1115 pm and found that the front door reception was already closed. It was kind of eeriely quiet but the staff was rather courteous enough to leave a note at the door with her contact number. Although a French lady with minimal command of English, she was polite and patient enough to try to speak in English with me.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Don't be fooled by the ugly pinky-peachy color of the motel - visit a room before making a decision, which is what we did. We got a room on the second floor of one of the newer wing in the back. Room was big, clean, free wifi, and located just steps from a few good restaurants in the old village of Pointe-au-Pic, and about 5 min drive to the casino. The price was cheaper than expected, and very good continental breakfast is offered for $5C. For such a nice cheap hotel in such good location, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I have read some of the reviews, but for the price, this hotel is great. Big room including well equipped kitchenette. Very clean. One review said it was "out of the way", but this hotel is where all the others are. It is like a motel so you can park your car close to your room. Non-smoking room which is very nice (but there are smoking rooms for smokers). Room has everything - a large bed, desk, drawers, closet, small table and chairs, TV, night table, kitchenette with everything, high speed wireless internet. I have a corner room which is nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

I was the trip leader for a group of 22 cyclists. Our stop in La Malbaie came after a long cycling day with lots of hills. The staff was very accommodating, providing secure storage for our bikes and space for our pre-dinner map meeting. The proximity to many restaurants was another plus for cyclists. The rooms were very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night during our whale watching trip. The hotel is in a good location, near a great restaurant options.
The room was bigger than the evarage for a motel room but the walls are so, so, so, so thin that you can follow the conversations taking place in the other rooms. That's really bad because we had trouble falling asleep with all the noise from the near rooms.
The breakfast is a $4 buffet that i didn't understand why it's not icluded in the room rate.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

I don’t understand why this hotel achieves number one on Tripadvisor, as I was rather disappointed by my one-night stay.

The hotel is easy to find on Highway 362 at Pointe-au-Pic, about ten minutes drive from downtown La Malbaie. As such, it’s some way out of the action, but there were a few cafes and restaurants nearby.

The hotel seems to have a main building and two annexes to the rear, where my room was. It was large, but fairly spartan and blandly furnished and decorated. The carpet was stained, the fridge buzzed and the bathroom light hummed. The walls were thin as well and I was disturbed by talking in the adjoining room. Toiletries and a coffee maker were provided but were fairly cheap in quality. My room was on the second floor – no elevator access, just a steep external metal staircase.

Staff were okay. There were no evening meals available, while breakfast was C$4 – so cheap that it might as well have been included in the room rate, or increased in price and a hot food option made available. As it was, it comprised a continental buffet of toast, jams, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, coffee etc – simple enough.

There are many accommodation options in La Malbaie and, next time, I’d want something more central and better quality.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer

Address: 1125 Richelieu | Secteur Pointe-au-Pic, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 2X8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > La Malbaie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in La Malbaie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the St. Lawrence River, less than a kilometre from the casino, 28 very spacious air conditioned rooms with a small refrigerator, private balcony and high-speed Internet connection. Huge terrace with a view of the river. Whether you are attracted by its fabulous location or incredible value for the dollar, let Le Castel de la Mer help make your next stay in Charlevoix the most pleasant and relaxing ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Castel De La Mer
Hotel-Motel Castel De La Mer La Malbaie, Quebec, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.