We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Auberge des Peupliers restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge des Peupliers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge des Peupliers to your Saves list
Auberge des Peupliers
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   381 Saint-Raphael | Secteur Cap-a-l'Aigle, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 2N8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in La Malbaie
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Auberge des Peupliers restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just returned from Cap-a-l'Aigle area of La Malbaie. We did not stay at Auberge des Peupliers, but reserved a table there for dinner with my husband and another couple. We were really happy with the service and the food. Everyone ordered different dishes and they were all good. My favourite was the scallop ceviche.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    51
    22
    13
    8
See reviews for
19
105
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
HEDE BAZOUGES
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I went to L'Auberge des Peupliers with my husband and our experience was a delight. I would highly recommend this place and will propably come back for another trip in Quebec. Everything about this place is nice : the food, the service, the warm atmosphere.This is a gourmet table, we have tried the 'Bouillabaise'... What a delight ! I totally applaud the new Chef and his team !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

There were six of us travelling from Ontario and had booked three rooms for two nights at Auberge des peuplier so that we could visit beautiful Quatre Vents gardens. This was for Friday and Saturday nights of the first weekend in August. You may have been alright if you had one of the upper rooms or a cottage, but two of our rooms were on the bottom level and contained a double bed with a single pullout couch (which blocked the exit door if you pulled it out). Same price as our friends' queen size suite on the second floor. Meals were mediocre, however, we did manage to cancel our second night's stay because we complained quite adamantly. Never again would we stay there.

Room Tip: Stay away from the bottom level rooms in the back building and make sure you check the size of your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruofud, Owner at Auberge des Peupliers, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments and visit.

Although I believe that our convertible sofa is of a very good quality, it will never be as comfortable as a real bed. We do have family rooms that better suit a group of three.

As for the meal, we use high quality local products. For example: veal, lamb, beef and duck foie gras are products from the Charlevoix region. I would appreciate you writing to us with more details and perhaps we will be able to use your comments in a constructive manner.

Best regards,

Claude Dufour
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very disappointing at restaurant. Table of six...4 plates cold, tea was cool...we had to request too many times for adjustmnets. And to top it off, the waiter had dirtier nails than your car mechanic! Never again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruofud, Manager at Auberge des Peupliers, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to receive comments of our clients, especially if it’s done during diner. At this time, we can fix it right on the moment…

We work hard to make everything done perfectly. Of course, your comments will be considered and we will make necessary to fix it in a short delay. We don’t get table of 6 often, and to specify, it was the first table of 6 for your waiter. We train employees as best that we can. As you know, there is always place to improvement and this is why we invest energy in our training program. But there is a start for everyone.

We still think that the Auberge offers a high quality service. Not perfect, but we work in this direction.

Thanks and have a great day.

Marie-Pier Audy
Manager
Auberge des Peupliers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

A nice though small room, a little balcony, great service. Beware of mosquitos in the evening! An easy access to hwy to drive around the area. Really enjoyed their breakfast though scrambled eggs were seriously over cooked...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Inn is an old farm house. It is a 3-4 miles from downtown La Malbaie. It is on a quiet residential street with a view of the St. Lawrence. Room 28 was very comfortable. What stands out is the staff. Mary welcomed us like we were reunited friends. She genuinely wanted us to enjoy our visit. Had great suggestions for food and told us places to stop as we went up the coast. If I ran an inn she would be my first hire. Our stay was brief but memorable. Highly recommend this Inn. Ate at La Boheme which was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Had two nights in this hotel and I found it very comfortable and clean. We had a room in the cottage which is along side the main building. Our room was quite large with a small terrace over looking the rear garden. The bathroom was very clean and adequate.
The restaurant, lounge, small bar and breakfast room are all in the main building, a 200 year old house with some views of the St Lawrence River.
However, unlike some previous reviewers I am unable to rave about the food. It is as though there are 2 chefs at this hotel because the food we had varied from pretty decent to not so good.
We had two breakfasts. The first was very good (american for my husband and cheese omelette for me). It was well presented and a good sized portion. On the second day we ordered the same choice. The portion was much smaller and not as well cooked presented.
On our first night we had our dinner at the hotel. We both had a starter and a main course. I can honestly say that I have never had such small portions before. I am guessing that the previous reviewers who eulogised about the food must have had the five course special menu because it would have needed all five courses to satisfy anyone's hunger. Unfortunately, as the staff could not speak english and my french is very basic I was unable to share my views about the food. Given that it also turned out to be one of the most expensive meals we had since arriving in Canada, in my opinion, the food let the Auberge des Peupliers down badly.
For our second evening meal we went into the local town, La Malbaie, and found a great italian restaurant, The Allegro. Good food, good portions but best of all we felt we had value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruofud, Owner at Auberge des Peupliers, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We would like to thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our inn.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the inn and found it clean and comfortable.

Regarding the breakfast, we are very sorry that our service wasn't up to par.

The first morning, our sous-chef was working with the morning cook on some new breakfast dishes for the summer season. Unfortunately, the dishes were not reproduced as well the second morning. We understand that this is unacceptable and sincerely apologize.

We have since corrected this service error and can assure you that we are again consistently offering a high quality of service.

For the dinner service, according to our records, you ordered two dishes à la carte. We feel our menu is fairly priced given the amount and quality of the products used and the complexity of our dishes. For example for the beef flank steak, a $21 dish on our menu, we work with several local producers including La Ferme La Mar. The meal includes a garlic reduction, confit tomatoes, mashed potatoes, seasonal vegetables, arugula and a beet-infused glaze.

It's a lovely dish that requires more preparation than most people would imagine. It includes a relatively large amount of ingredients to achieve the desired result.

This is a brief example but it describes well the type of dishes we offer at the inn. Also, when you choose the table d'hôte at $55, you're getting some of the best value in the region.

We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope you have fond memories of your holiday in Quebec.

Sincerely,

Claude Dufour
Owner,
Auberge des Peupliers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge des Peupliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge des Peupliers

Address: 381 Saint-Raphael | Secteur Cap-a-l'Aigle, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 2N8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > La Malbaie
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in La Malbaie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge des Peupliers 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Auberge des Peupliers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Des Peupliers La Malbaie, Quebec, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge des Peupliers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.