We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place in a nice little town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge des Peupliers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge des Peupliers to your Saves list
Auberge des Peupliers
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   381 Saint-Raphael | Secteur Cap-a-l'Aigle, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 2N8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in La Malbaie
Canberra
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good place in a nice little town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We could sit at a table outside our room with a view over the St Lawrence, very wide this far from Montreal. Delightful. Very good meals. Proprietors very friendly and generous.
We booked through Inntravel on a self-drive tour through Quebec, so aren't sure about the prices of individual lodgings.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    51
    22
    13
    8
See reviews for
19
105
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed here to break the long drive back from Nova Scotia to Ontario and we will certainly be back for a longer stay. The Auberge is about 90 min. east of Quebec City on the north shore on good road with spectacular vistas. About 45 min west of the ferry to Riviere du Loup from Saint Simeon. It is a cluster of buildings centered on an old farm house serving as the Dining Room/Bar. Our room was in a lovely old stone house. Immaculate and very refreshing decor with a very comfortable bed. The food was superb (the Charlevoix Lamb and Veal really has to be the best). Front office and Dining Room Staff were very pleasant and the experience was good value for money. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: It is worth splurging to get a Deluxe Room. They are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the auberge in July 2011. We loved our stay! We requested the deluxe room with fireplace ( picture on website) and it was great. Next time we may request a room on a higher floor to have more of a view of the river. The restaurant for dinner and massages were great...High recommend getting a couples massage!

Located in a great location...a few minutes by car to town. Quiet, peaceful and a romantic getaway!
The hotel staff were very helpful...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this wonderful little Auberge it was so quiet and peaceful. We were welcomed with open arms and we had a lovely comfortable room which was tastefully furnished. Dinner in the restaurant was most enjoyable with excellent service provided. It is an ideal location to explore the area from. We recommend the helicopter trip we took from Baie St-Paul, which the Auberge can arrange. The views over the mountains and St Laurence river were simply stunning - not to be missed!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

The Auberge des Peupliers makes for a perfect romantic getaway. We had a charming room with a view of the St. Lawrence river, a fireplace and a bathtub big enough for two. The Nespresso machine was a nice touch for a good morning coffee in the room. The staff members are friendly and helped us find some really nice hiking trails in the area.

The highlight of our stay was definitely the food. Breakfast begins with a warm, freshly-made muffin (a different kind every day) and home-made jam. And that's before you order. The seven-course dinner was just as delicious, and our waitress helped us choose a great bottle of wine. I liked the fact that the menu featured a lot of local produce, meats and cheeses.

I would describe the Auberge as high quality without pretension. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

This auberge is a very quaint and cute place to stay. We had two rooms in the annex building, which were both very nicely (and differently) furnished and everything seemed very new. Staff and food were excellent as well, the only (small) disappointment was that the tennis court which is listed in the hotel description is not really functional. But if don't necessarily have to play tennis, I would definitely recommend this auberge!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

Our room was on the small side but perfectly adequate. A window and glass door had a modest view of the river and the door opened onto a lawn sloping down to the main building and restaurant. It was just right.

Better than just right were the breakfast and dinner that came with our three night package. The food was simply delicious and inventive, with plenty of variety for a three night stay. The Charlevoix area focuses on growing food for local consumption, and the same focus prevails in the restaurant -- local meats, fish, poultry, vegetables and cheeses. As a Californian, I wish there had been more Canadian wines.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge des Peupliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge des Peupliers

Address: 381 Saint-Raphael | Secteur Cap-a-l'Aigle, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 2N8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > La Malbaie
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in La Malbaie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge des Peupliers 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Auberge des Peupliers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Des Peupliers La Malbaie, Quebec, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge des Peupliers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.