We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food - Great Story” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison du Bootlegger

La Maison du Bootlegger
110, Rang du Ruisseau-des-Frenes, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 2C8, Canada
+1 418-439-3711
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 49 Restaurants in La Malbaie
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Food - Great Story”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A strange place to end up for lunch on a Sunday in mid-October! But what a great history. It took us a bit to find the actual entrance to the restaurant...we came in through a door that took us down a very narrow, winding staircase that turned a sharp corner and then continued up into the loft through a trap door. Poking my head into the attic I was greeted by the fierce looking muzzle of a boxer (I think it was a boxer - it was a bit close to get the full picture) and then by a slightly less fierce muzzle of a big man in a small hat. After recovering from my shock I led our group of four into the room where we were welcomed warmly by a waitress who probably wondered what we were doing there on this rainy day. Our experience included a mysterious tour through an authentic backwoods prohibition era nightclub frequented even by Elvis at one time. (That would be after prohibition right?) We enjoyed a special Sunday morning coffee prepared to brace our spirits...or something to do with spirits...followed by a hearty meal cooked on the open, original charcoal grill. The food may be a bit pricey but the whole experience was worth every Canadian cent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    8
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mirabel, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Too late for us”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

In our wonderful stay in the Charlevoix region, a endoirt where visits are announced at different times of the day, where no mention of call before is displayed somewhere, we went there for dinner and make a visit earlier in the afternoon. We were greeted with a smile and we have to say that for the day, with priority given to a group. So you could not have a meal or a visit to them because the place had been privileged group. We understand the situation, but for customers who moves away for holidays in the region should be more specific details. We arrived at the same time as other people who have not appreciated receiving and having to go without you trying to give us at least a drink or a small dining area. We will certainly return it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Waitress had quite a few shooters offered by a client and unable to do her job properly.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Either (Linda) thé waitress mixed up thé orders or cook didnt know what medium rare meant, one of our party had her food returned two times and ended up not eating at all. 48$ for a 7 oz filet is quite steep for the lousy service

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisonBootlegger, Public Relations Manager at La Maison du Bootlegger, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We did read your comment about the "shooters" issue and had a few meetings with our staff... thanx for bringing that to our attention.

We have to keep in mind that the Bootlegger's House is a festive place and that some evenings are a little bit more "groovy"! We try to stay "straight" but we have to be part of our customer's party!

One of our politics about "good service" is that we try to serve the meat to the customers the way they love it! We tell the people that if their meat is not the way they ordered it.... just tell it tou your waitress and she'll do anything to bring your meat back to the grill untill you like it. You said she did it twice for you.... so we believe she did her job correctly to make your experience better. You have to keep in mind that we cook 160 steaks on a 2' x 3' charcoal grill..... and that sometimes we have to return the meat to get exactly what you wanted! This is the way we achieve a good sevice.

"48$ for a 7 oz filet is quite steep for the lousy service"

We explain to all our customers (with the presentation of the menu) that the price of the 4 plate dinner include the cover charge for the band and the guided tour. If someone wants to have a drink, do the tour and listen to the band.... this cover charge is 25$. So remove that cover charge to obtain your exact 4 plate dinner price (in your case 23$). 23$ for a 7 oz. filet is still "quite steep for the lousy service"??? You also paid for the guided tour and the band... but you mention nothing about those two important points of your evening at the Bootlegger's House.

Thanx for your comment, it gives us the opportunity to clarify a few points!

Patrice Bergeron, guide at the Bootlegger's House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great house old style, stake and rock and roll!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

It a very nice restaurant with a particulary history, stake house and once the first casino of charlevoix. the rest you will hear it in the guided visit. You can take this visit in the midle of your souper. The service its very good, they do a very good job. The guide it also very good, english and french spoken, maybe more, i woudn't know. Fix menu diferent kind of chiken and beef and crevettes. A band will play from 9.00 pm. The sights from the dinning room are beautifull. Good beers, who says good says expensive sometime, so this could be little more than a average dinner, but for sure you will get much more than the average.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“A night to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

This restaurant is an exceptional treat! I have been going every year for the past 12 years. The owner is vey welcoming and the staff attentive to details. The food is excellent and of a high quality. Each of my visit have been electrifying!!

  • Visited August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maison du Bootlegger also viewed

 

Been to La Maison du Bootlegger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison du Bootlegger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.