We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu to your Saves list
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 rue Richelieu, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 1X7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in La Malbaie
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was the second time we stayed at this beautiful hotel with one of the most amazing views in this country. To celebrate our 55th wedding anniversary, we wanted to spoil ourselves and invited our children and grandchildren to join us. We had a family room on the 7th floor which supposedly sleeps 6. There were two double beds and a pull-out sofa. The problem was that once the sofa was pulled out, there was hardly enough room to walk past.
Unfortunately, the double bed my husband and I slept in were not at all comfortable, because of the dip in the middle of the bed. A queen-size bed with a firmer mattress would have been nice, but we did not want to complain and just enjoy being together.
The biggest surprise, however, was when we came back to our room after the first morning breakfast and saw what was on our beds. Knowing there were kids in our room, the chamber maid created two kissing swans with folded and twisted towels which she laid out on our bed. On the second bed was a doggy made of folded towels. It even had eyes made of paper cutouts, a collar and a ribbon on one of its ears. That was such a surprise that delighted the children and brought smiles to our faces.
I loved the small terry bath robes they had for our 9 and 7 year old grandchildren. They looked so cute in their fluffy bathrobes.
The heated outdoor pool with the waterfall was so much fun. We spent hours in that pool. I could hardly get the kids out of it. I loved the indoor saltwater pool in which I was able to swim laps without having anybody in the way.
All in all it was a memorable stay, it was so pleasant and relaxing. The environment was awe-inspiring and I must tip my hat to the hotel gardeners who managed to maintain this beautiful property and the beautiful flowers which were a joy to see. If only the family room had been a bit larger, and the bed more comfortable!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre_Papillier, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
How wonderful to read your review. We are very happy to know that you chose our property to celebrate your anniversary and that, thanks to our colleagues, your stay was so memorable. Rest assured we have shared your comments with them as this type of recognition is very important. We have also made note of the comfort of the beds, and we will do proper follow ups. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Pierre Papillier
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    258
    112
    40
    18
See reviews for
230
470
15
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

what a splendid classic hotel.exceptional service .where else can you watch the whales frolicing in the river in front of the hotel.spacious well appointed rooms.how nice is that campfire they start each night that scents the air with woodsmoke.the spa is fabulous.a very romantic and relaxing stay.avoid the hotel restaurants,better options are nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre_Papillier, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
How wonderful to read your recent comments regarding your stay at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit earlier this month. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful region of Charlevoix!

Pierre Papillier
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you're in relax mode, check in and make sure you get a view of the river. Sitting and watching the ships go by and the tide come in and out would be enough. But then you may choose to go for a walk along a trail, get lost in the bells and whistles of the slots at the Casino, or enjoy a delicious breakfast buffet. It's worth it to go for a short drive east past La Malbaie along the river route for more spectacular views and on the drive back you can admire the view of Le Manoir from across the bay. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre_Papillier, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
How nice to know you were able to rest and relax at our beautiful property. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Pierre Papillier
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

While on vacation in the Malbaie, I decided to treat myself to the Fairmont spa while my husband played golf. While we both enjoyed our experience here, I could not remove the glow from my husband's face when we met at the bar. He was like a kid who just got back from Disneyworld, mesmerized, in a awe! He had taken some gorgeous pictures of the the first tee-off overlooking the St-Laurence. It was so beautiful that I wanted to see for myself so the next morning before our departure, we asked to be taken to the Clubhouse so that I too could appreciate the view. OMG, it was breathless! If your ever in that area, it is worth the stop.

Room Tip: Since we were staying elsewhere, I cannot comment on the rooms of food. But I I go with my experien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre_Papillier, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
How wonderful to read your review regarding your visit at Fairmont le Manoir Richelieu! We’re delighted to know you enjoyed your golf and spa experience, and that you were able to enjoy our breathtaking views from the golf course. We sincerely hope next time you come to Charlevoix you will choose our property for accommodations. We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Pierre Papillier
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

One of the best "buffet".The food was really good with many selections.The staff was attentive.We didn't speak French (except for basics).They understood and helped us.The chocolate fondue with fresh fruits was delicious.I would definetly go there again.They are across the walk way from the Casino,that was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre_Papillier, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent visit. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience at our Bellerive Restaurant. We sincerely hope to welcome you again to our wonderful location!

Pierre Papillier
Directeur des Opérations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent several days at the Manoir Richelieu last August. It was a great experience. The room was lovely. I had mentioned to the reservation staff at the Fairmont call centre that it was my birthday and when we arrived, I was surprised by a huge chocolate whale surrounded by truffles! And a birthday card. Amazing! The food at all the restaurants is superb. We had all our meals at the hotel. We were expecting wonderful and were not disappointed. The staff treat you royally. They made reservations for us to go whale watching a short drive away. We actually saw humpbacks! The facilities at the hotel are first class. We enjoyed the pool and the spa. People were going to the casino and golfing and seemed very pleased. All in all, a memorable time. I can only imagine the place in the winter. Must be spectacular! But the summer was outstanding! The grounds are picturesque. Worth the long drive to get there. You feel like you are in another world in another era.

Room Tip: Ask NOT to overlook the parking lot, but the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre_Papillier, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
How wonderful to read your recent review regarding your stay at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit last month. Please know that your feedback has already been shared with the all our team as we are all very proud of our beautiful property and it is always nice to hear positive comments from our guests. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful region of Charlevoix!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Gorgeous location overlooking the St-Lawrence River. The grounds are full of flowers.
For more spacious rooms, ask for the newer section of the hotel. It's also nearer the pools (outdoors and indoors). The outdoor pools are open year-round and it's so exciting to swim in hot water while it's snowing and you see snowmobiles going by! Meals are quite pricey but the Sunday brunch is a must! Lots of variety, and the maple syrup pancakes are always a hit with our family.
Can't wait to go back!
Only negative maybe: the clientele that frequent the casino next door is sometimes not too classy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre_Papillier, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing with us your recent comments regarding your stay at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu! We are very pleased to know you enjoyed our hotel grounds and restaurants. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Pierre Papillier
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu

Address: 181 rue Richelieu, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 1X7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > La Malbaie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in La Malbaie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Castle Resort perched on a cliff, 700 feet above the St. Lawrence River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu Hotel La Malbaie
Fairmont Hotel La Malbaie
Fairmont La Malbaie
La Malbaie Fairmont
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu La Malbaie, Quebec, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.