We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxed, comfortable retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clos Dauphinais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Clos Dauphinais to your Saves list
Le Clos Dauphinais
300, rue Mooney, Cowansville, Quebec J2K 1E1 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Cowansville B&B and Inns
Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, relaxed, comfortable retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

The rooms were spacious, beautifully decorated and the bed was extremely comfortable with luxurious bedding. The pool, great room, back scenic deck, closed-in porch were all made welcome for our use. The breakfast was relaxed and of the highest quality and diversity. The house was exquisitely decorated while being homey.

Johanne was bubbly, energetic and a people loving person which made for an amazing hostess. She made us feel very welcome and comfortable and seemed truly interested in our vacation. Upon arrival, Johanne made sure of our food likes/dislikes and allergies.

Truly a wonderful get-away.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
31
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

Clos Dauphinais is a beautiful B & B. We felt at home after just a few minutes with Johanne our hostess. She is bilingual, which was great for us Manitobans. The house is beautiful and luxurious. The breakfasts were very good, healthy and tasty, the best we had in Quebec. We had a large bedroom, and a large common room to use, and enjoyed an evening on their large deck overlooking a wooded and meadow area. There was a pool as well, though we did not partake. This was a wonderful place to stay in the Eastern Townships. We visited wineries and drove the rolling, wooded countryside nearby. Johanne had good tips on the area for us to visit. Thanks very much for a great stay Johanne. - S and J

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

We originally booked the Josephine room for 2 nights but we were enjoying our stay so much that we ended up staying for 5 nights! Our room was tastefully decorated and comfortable. The house itself is situated on a very private lot with a swimming pool, terrace and expansive sitting room/breakfast room that provides spectacular views of the countryside. The property is central to all amenties and one can visit other quaint towns and wineries all within a 30 minute drive.

Our hostess, Johanne really made us feel at home with her lively nature and joie de vivre. Every morning she offered us a sumptuous breakfast that would put most 5 star restaurants to shame. It would be difficult to find better cuisine at another B & B.

We have stayed at numerous B & B s throughout the world and Le Clos Dauphinais is by far our favourite. Merci beaucoup, Johanne!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watervliet, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

My girl friend and I had the opportunity to again visit Le Clos Dauphinais after two years. Our first visit was a wonder, and now the second time was not only as good, it was better. Our hostess not only remembered us, she remembered I liked chocolate milk and what brand, also that we enjoyed Lush brand bath balistics and that my girl friend prefered orange juice to any other juice type. The room was still beautiful, the view from the salon amazing, the bed comfortable and needless to say we were spoiled shamelessly. I would recommend this this bed and breakfast very highly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

While the breakfasts, as described by others, was gourmet and excellent, our room was a bit "too filled" with knick-knacks, rather unaccommodating furniture for one to simply relax and "spread out." One felt constrained to abide by (mostly unwritten and unspoken) "house rules (save the requirement to leave one's shoes at the entrance and walk around in stocking feet.) The hostess is fastidious. She is helpful in recommending local restaurants. She recommended and booked the Bistro Olaf in Cowansville for us, where we had the best meal (and reasonably priced) of our trip. (Book ahead esp on weekends.) The location and view from the great room is superb but we really did not feel comfortable to "hang out." Cannot give it an above average though I think it might appeal to like-lifestyle individuals. We like clean but homey. Very close to the US border in s. Quebec province, where the legacy is as much that of colonial Tories who escaped the American Revolution as it is Quebecois. Lots of nice little towns in the area but no notable venues.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Inability to relax in museum-like environment
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

This is a beautiful B & B, very comfortable and quiet. We were made to feel very welcome by Johanne who obviously loves taking great care of her guests and luckily for us is completely bi-lingual.
The house is immaculate and luxurious and the food is incredible, we were served an amazing three course breakfast that would rival any five star hotel!
Guests can use the great room, the outside patio and the in-ground swimming pool and Johanne even let us have the buckets and hoses to wash our car.
This was a wonderful place to stay in the Eastern Townships but it is not far to drive from Montreal - we wish it wasn't so far away from us in BC!

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pefferlaw
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

This is the best B&B we've stayed at by far.Johanne is the hostess with the mostess. We go back every year. The breakfasts are picture perfect and taste even better, not to mention the perfect setting.

Love You Johanne.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Clos Dauphinais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Dauphinais

Address: 300, rue Mooney, Cowansville, Quebec J2K 1E1 , Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Cowansville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cowansville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a 5 star(5 soleils)B&B !! Ideally located on a large domain away from noise and traffic. Only minutes from Bromont and Sutton. Close to all cultural and outdoor activities; golf, skiing, wine route, fine dining, antique market,horse back riding etc... Packages including massages are available. Le Clos Dauphinais the perfect getaway... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Le Clos Dauphinais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Dauphinais Cowansville, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clos Dauphinais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.