We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place, service, and price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Au Gite de la Chute

Save Saved
You added Au Gite de la Chute to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Au Gite de la Chute
5143, avenue Royale, Boischatel, Quebec G0A 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Boischatel B&B and Inns
Poughkeepsie, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent place, service, and price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I just returned from a 4 night stay at Au Gite de la Chute with a friend and it was a charming experience! It's about a 30 min bus ride to historical Quebec City (the bus stop is a 5 min walk if you don't want to drive). It's located in Boischatel, a nice, cozy area that's within a 5 minute walk to Montmorency Falls. After a day in the city, it was nice to come back to our room - it felt like home! Monique, the owner, is very sweet and helpful. She recommended places to visit and gave us directions. She also cooks a delightful breakfast. The house is also really clean. We stayed in the Calla room (with the private bathroom) and it was spacious, extremely clean, and had a nice modern decor. It also had a large plasma TV. Based on our experience and the price per night, this place is a great deal! Overall, I HIGHLY recommend staying here if you want to have a personal, less touristy, and more residential experience in Quebec! We miss Monqiue and hope to come back some day! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Calla room and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have a huge experience traveling and staying in B&B all over Europe and Canada. Au gite de la Chute is outstanding place to stay from all the points We've stayed there for three times,(twice in winter, including the Carnival de Quebec, and once in August, when we occasionally caught (thanks to Monique) a summer carnival in Quebec-city.
Location: is very good. It's a walking distance to the Monmorancy chute, that is breathtaking, especially when is frozen. It's quiet nice place apart from noise and pace of a big city, but at the same time very close and easy to reach Quebec-city with all it's attractions.
House: The house is extremely cozy, clean, beautiful and very well run. It has it's very special atmosphere in any season. We took the rooms in basement. There are three rooms, that are nice decorated, clean and cozy, with windows, individual heating, comfy beds and all what you need in very clean bathrooms. The important thing is a separate entrance that gives you an independence to leave and to return.
Hosts: Monique and her husband have managed to create that special atmospere. Thea are extremely nice and helpful people. They serve full and tasty breakfast with homemade goods, the fabulous bread that Monique's husband bakes by himself. Their French toasts are the best toasts whenever. Once we've had a dinner too, it was amazing!!!!!
And all this you have for very reasonable price that makes this place even more attractive.
We strongly recommend this place to everyone.

Alexander and Elena

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stolzenau, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Even though this place is quite away from Quebec City, its location is convenient because it's well connected to the city, to l'Île d'Orléans, to the Chutes Montmorency... while being more quiet than the city.
The host was very welcoming, did all of the food herself (even the bread!), had a good variety for breakfast and kept the place very clean.
I recommand that place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

My husband and I spent three nights at Au Gite de la Chute. The place is in the walking distance from the Montmorancy Falls park. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They let us use their umbrella and even their auto tools to fix a minor mechanical problem with our car. Monique speaks very good English, and serves a generous and delightful breakfast. The B&B is immaculately clean and gorgeously decorated.
It takes about half an hour to get from the B&B to the old city, and the bus stop is close by.
Overall, we had a very pleasant experience and highly recommend the Au Gite de la Chute.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony, France
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This is probably the nicest place I stayed in Canada. The host (a couple) who manages the house is simply nice and firendly. The rooms are clean and the breackfast is purely a pleasure.
Moreover, the house is located very close to the falls and 20 minutes driving from Quebec city.
We will come back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

We couldn't have asked for more charming and warm hosts than Claire and Jean-Guy.. Staying with them is like staying with cherished friends. We felt we had known them forever. Sharing breakfast and conversation around the dining table reminded us of our own family get-togethers. They couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. The breakfasts were wonderful and plentiful, all homemade by Claire, including the preserves, and generously and humourously served by Jean-Guy. Their home is beautifully appointed and decorated with beautiful paintings by Claire, and is in an ideal location between Quebec City and St. Anne de Beaupre, where the lovely shrine to St. Anne is located. It is also within walking distance to the Montmorency Falls. We couldn't have asked for better. We will certainly return, even just to visit.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

The Hosts Claire and Jean-Guy Bedard were very welcoming.
Every morning the breakfast was so good. Claire gave you the choice of fresh made omelette, crêpes, French toast and may other nice things, together with fruits.
The upstairs rooms are much nicer than the one in the basement (more space and brighter). So if you get a chance, ask for a upstairs room.
Be aware that you have to share the bathroom with other guests, but this was never a problem as everything was always very clean.
I really enjoyed my stay with them!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Au Gite de la Chute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Gite de la Chute

Address: 5143, avenue Royale, Boischatel, Quebec G0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Boischatel
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boischatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Au Gite de la Chute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Gite De La Chute Boischatel, Quebec, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Gite de la Chute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.