We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in North Rustico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl

The Pearl
7792 Cavendish Road, Rustico, Prince Edward Island, Canada
+1 902-963-2111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Rustico
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in North Rustico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This small restaurant is a hidden gem. The food, decor, ambience, and service were outstanding, a complete surprise for an old house near a small fishing village. We ate seafood for both the appetizers and main course, and it was tasty, super-fresh and of the highest quality, especially the Raspberry Point oysters. The giant scallops were out-of-this world. Overall, it was one of the most enjoyable meals on our 2-week trip to the Maritimes. The Pearl is very popular, for obvious reasons, so you will need to make a reservation several days ahead. It's worth it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    20
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
2 reviews
“Fabulous Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our meal - the decor, food, drinks and service were all exceptional. Thanks for a wonderful night out. We will absolutely be back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This small restaurant in an old house is one of the best we've tried.

Most of the ingredients are grown on the property, and the flowers are home grown, too. The gardens are lovely.

Service is top notch, drinks are great, food is to die for. If it weren't so expensive, I'd eat there every night while in PEI.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyama, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Finally, High quality, delicious food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have been travelling in the Maritimes for 3 weeks now and this is the best restaurant I have found. Fun setting, excellent taste, not all fried. The presentation, while good, is not excellent on all courses. I loved the choice of plates and interesting decorations. Good meal all in all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food and Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We went to The Pearl based upon a recommendation from a chef we met at the "Lobster on the Beach" event on PEI.
We were glad we did. The food is beautifully prepared. Barb had the lobsters and scallops and I had the prime rib (I had enough lobster). It was excellent. The portions were just the right size. We both started off with soup, Barb had the chowder and I had the heirloom tomato.
She also has three original painting by Karen Gallant, a local artist who we bought 2 prints that day.
Great place; you can't go wrong here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pearl also viewed

Rustico, Prince Edward Island
Hunter River, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to The Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.