We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We lucked out!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest and Stream Cottages

Save Saved
You added Forest and Stream Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forest and Stream Cottages
446 Fox River Road, Murray Harbour, Prince Edward Island C0A 1V0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Truro, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We lucked out!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Beautiful location, fully loaded cottage, very affordable, beautiful lake with variety of boats to use at your leisure (at no extra cost), hiking trails, geo-caching on site, bike rentals...and more i probably didn't get a chance to do. All the activities are fantastic but the owners of the establishment make all the difference. From all the knowledge and help to all the personal touches around the cottages. Very nice people!!! very beautiful spot!!! can't wait to be back!!!
thanks again Forest and Stream Cottages

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Castro Valley, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our three nights in a Forest and Stream cottage were wonderful - it was clean, comfortable fully equipted and very restful. As birders, we were looking forward to our time on PEI and Glenn was the perfect one to tell us which places we'd probably see the most birds. And he was right! With Glenn suggestions, we concentrated our time only on the eastern end of PEI, leaving lots of other places for another time. He and Joan have developed a beautiful location with a "story book" lake and strolling trails on the property as well as having a lovely B&B in their home. They both are very friendly and welcoming, making this a very special time and place during our Maritime trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

What a lovely place to stay, we will def be coming back next year! Maybe even again this year, at the end of summer. The cottages have eveything you need plus some. The beds are comfortable and there is plenty of room inside the cottage. The screened in porch is a bonus! I loved watching the bluejays and chipmunks at the feeder every day. There was also a lovley river outside the cottage. Singing Sands Beach (Basin Head) when you walk on the sand it makes a noise like no other beach, glass hunting, & going to see the Buffalos is a must! The cottages are very peacful being away from city life and what not. Although Charlottetown is not to far away. Also the cottages are very clean, which is a must for me! There is also lots of room in the back of the cottages to play frisbee. The only thing that I would change is the size of the showers, they are very small and you can hardley bend down if you have to shave your legs.

All and all myself & my Fiance had a wonderful stay and we cant wait to come visit once again. The Island makes you feel so peacful, free, and welcomed :)

Thank you guys for such great hospitality!

PS. The price of this place is great compared to other places that don't even compare. I would def rate this place 5 stars!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Forest and Stream Cottages for the May long-weekend on PEI. Our hosts were so accommodating, Glenn helped us plan our itinerary for the three days, and gave us some great recommendations for both restaurants and things to do. Having a knowledgeable host on this sort of trip makes everything better. The cottage we rented was very reasonably priced, and gave us a cozy place to BBQ and just chill. The star of the show however was the property itself. Walking trails, huge beautifully mowed lawn and as the name suggests, a forest and stream. There is a lake on the property and I took my wife out for a romantic row (BEAUTIFUL). They offer use of the rowboat, canoe or paddle boat free of charge :) The free WiFi was useful in booking our return Ferry tickets, and there's a satellite & TV, though we never even hit the power switch (way to beautiful a setting). One of our favorite moments was when we were visited by a red fox. He cam right up to our picnic site (very friendly).

If we go back to Eastern PEI, there is no question we will stay here again!

Room Tip: There's also a B&B on site, but I thought the cottage was more romantic :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed in a cottage (2 kids, 2 adults) for one week. Nicely tucked away among trees, and a nice stream nearby equiped with a row boat, paddle boat and life jackets. The hosts, Glen and Joan were superb! Glen gave us a map of Kings County (East side of the Island) and indicated various spots for the family to visit. We went to almost each spot, and were never dissapointed. By far the best trip we've been on! Fave locale was Greenwich National Park.

Room Tip: If 4 people or less, one bedroom cottage is sufficient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed in a cottage and were very comfortable. It has a very usable kitchen: apt. sized fridge, small four burner stove with oven and microwave plus all the cookware, utensils and tableware you will need. The bathroom is very small, but clean and bright, the bedroom is large with 2 queen beds and there is cable television. There is no a/c but it's not really needed, there are windows on all sides offering plenty of cross breezes. There's also a screened in porch overlooking the stream. The owner, Glenn, is very knowledgable about the area and is happy to make recommendations. Glenn is also an avid birder and can organize birding expeditions and has some fantastic photos he's taken of birds in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We spent several days here in the off season. We stayed in the rustic cabins, not the B&B. The cabin we were in (I think they are all similar) seems to be a vintage shack that has been nicely upgraded; the floor, bathroom, and kitchen seemed relatively new. It is nestled among trees, has a screened in porch, small but clean and renovated bathroom with lots of hot water, a 1-room combined kitchen / living room / dining room with table and couch, and a separate sleeping room with 2 double beds. The cabin was comfortable and nicely appointed, but it IS a cabin, so if you are expecting luxury, stay in the B&B. We did not see the B&B rooms but we went into the house and it was clean, and of course, very nice. The cabin is rustic but you still get satellite TV, hot water, and wireless internet. I felt guilty doing some work from the cabin via internet. The only real complaint I can come up with about the cabin is that the TV is on top of the fridge, so you have to look up into the corner to watch TV. I am not sure where else they could put the TV, and splurging for a flat screen to bolt to the wall seems excessive in the low-rate cabin. The cabin was perfect for 2 but might feel a bit cramped with 4 or more. It rained while we were there and we did lots of beach walking and there were many mosquitoes so we really appreciated the screened-in porch as a place to change shoes and dump our gear. The view from the porch is of a lawn, trees, and the lake/pond. The cabins are all side by side, separated by a few trees, so I imagine that if the place were fully booked then you might hear more noise from the other guests, but we were alone so it was like our own private cottage. Some have complained about the mosquitoes but if you stay in the woods near a lake in the shade, what do you expect? We covered up and enjoyed paddling the canoe up and down the little lake with its crystal clear reflections and views of the forest. It is small so this is not an expedition but a 30-45 minute run-about. They provide life jackets, which is a nice feature. The owners of the B&B were very helpful in suggesting things to do and providing maps, and were always around to meet our needs. We saw a fox and other wildlife during our stay, and spent some time walking the nature trails (I call them that b/c they are not really hiking in the climbing sense, but strolling through a mowed path through the forest and open meadows). It was very pleasant but bring bug spray if you are there in mosquito season. When we were there it rained all week and had been raining a lot before we arrived and was cool so the bugs were out. We still enjoyed it immensely. This place is a bit off the beaten path but PEI is so small that you are still just a short scenic drive from many key sites/ beaches / views. I can imagine that during the busy season this place feels like a refuge from the crowds. If you need anything there is a small town just down the road, and a bit further up the road there are more towns with grocery stores, etc.

Room Tip: The cabin is a good way to save money b/c you can make your own meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest and Stream Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest and Stream Cottages

Address: 446 Fox River Road, Murray Harbour, Prince Edward Island C0A 1V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Murray Harbour
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Murray Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our goal is to provide our guests with a surrounding that offers relaxation, closeness to nature, comforts of home with an abundance of activities either on-site or very close by. Our six, one and two bedroom cottages have a secluded, quiet and attractive setting snuggled amongst the pines and birch trees just off our private lake. Explore PEI's many beautiful beaches, lighthouses, or spend time on our trails or fishing from one of our boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Forest and Stream Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest And Stream Cottages Murray Harbour, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest and Stream Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.