We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return next year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunny King Motel

Sunny King Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cornwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunny King Motel
Save Saved
You added Sunny King Motel to your Saves list
Sunny King Motel, Cornwall, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C0A 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cornwall
Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to return next year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our experience at Sunny King Motel was excellent.Everything you could want in a motel was there. Staff very friendly and helpful Rooms clean beds comfortable pool clean. Can't wait to go back there again next year Karen

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, NS, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed here on a beautiful weekend in May. There is a good amount of space in the unit and having a kitchenette was great - full size fridge and freezer, stove, sink, microwave, and cupboards. So along with the cheap rate, you can definitely save some money by staying here. The room and beds were clean, though everything is extremely dated. The owners are kind and helpful people.

There was a good size swimming pool but it was not open this time of year.

The walls are not really sound proof, the rooms can get very warm (keep the curtains closed on a sunny day), and you may find the owner and his friends smoking and drinking outside one of the ground floor rooms... if your window is open, the smell of smoke will waft into your room for a bit. There is wireless internet available, though the signal wasn't very strong in our room so it only worked sometimes.

It is a cheap, old motel... but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

well first off we had to buy air freshiner, because the rooms were very musty. We then had to put sheets over the chairs so we could sit down very stained, ohh! the pool was nice, and the staff friendly, but they say a picture speak a thousand words, well the owner has to get rid of the 1959 picture and put up the 2009, not near as nice as picture.
we wouldn't dare use the utensils they were in the cupboards, gross, we stay out away as ;long as possible each day. wouldn't recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

We relly liked the pool and the suite.Everybody had their own room and that was great.There was a laundry room for guests and wireless inernet was available.Ok.wallpaper was peeling in places and there were bugs in a hallways(summer time??),but the suite was clean and spacious.95CAN $ +TAX per night.For a suite,no bad.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroft, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

We picked this place because it was had a pool and it was near my fathers dialysis unit. The place could really do with a make over, but the units were large enough for 4 adults and a child.
The rooms were keeped clean but there is no AC unit.

We would have drove right on if it had not been for the pool which help to keep my son busy when my dad was at dialysis.


This place also has laundy unit which you can use which is nice.

  • Liked — The pool and it was close to the dialysis unit.
  • Disliked — Needs a make over
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2006

This is an old hotel with small, but reasonably clean, rooms. The main problem with the Sunny King was that the walls provided very little sound proofing. When I got there in the afternoon, I could hear the gentleman in the next room whistling along to the music on the radio. That night I heard him snoring quite loudly, and as a result I got very little sleep. I have never heard sound from another hotel room so plainly as the night I stayed at the Sunny King. Given that there are better hotels within five minutes of the Sunny King, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2000
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunny King Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny King Motel

Address: Sunny King Motel, Cornwall, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown > Cornwall
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cornwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Sunny King Motel Cornwall, Canada - Charlottetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunny King Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.