We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Food, not so much” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Box Pub and Eatery

Sand Box Pub and Eatery
Route 6, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0, Canada (Formerly Captain's Cove Restaurant)
(902) 963-2700
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 12 Restaurants in Cavendish
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Place, Food, not so much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The bar was great but not busy but the food was blane and pricy for what it was worth. It wasn't the cleanest but it was alright. I just think they over charge the food for the quality it is.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    22
    13
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bay St. Lawrence, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“the rating”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I believe the rating says it all by far the worse place we have ever eaten at not only in PEI but ever the cook came out and if we had seen him before we ordered we would of left dirty place and it's not like we went there once we have tried several times with the same results

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quispamsis, New Brunswick, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great with toddlers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Multiple people told us to hit the Sandbox, and we were not disappointed!

There is an actual sandbox in the back corner of the restaurant, so the kids are kept busy while waiting for service and food. But you don't have to wait long! We were there on a busy day and the wait staff were flying! Our waitress Keira was exceptional.

The food was bar food as expected, but worth the experience with the kids. We found the serving sizes large and could have shared our meal. I will definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Quick bar food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stopped here while in the area for the long weekend. I read other reviews from Trip Advisor and wasn't expecting too much. It is more or less some bar food (Burgers and fries) and a few other things. Good portions of food for the price. Not much of a restaurant

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Careful not to slip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The sandbox play area meant that the floor was slippery, so please be careful!! Food was ok. I had fish and chips...the fish was overbatted and very sickly I couldn't finish it. My children enjoyed their pasta and salad and my husband enjoyed his burger.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Box Pub and Eatery also viewed

Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Sand Box Pub and Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Box Pub and Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.