We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Box Pub and Eatery

Sand Box Pub and Eatery
Route 6, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0, Canada (Formerly Captain's Cove Restaurant)
(902) 963-2700
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 12 Restaurants in Cavendish
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Advocate Harbour
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Some friends and I were staying in Cavendish for the weekend and one day we wanted to go out for lunch and seen the Sand Box, it looks very nice from the outside so we decided to go in. It was very spacious and bright inside and a great atmosphere to have lunch in. They were opened for about a half an hour but there were hardly any staff, we actually stood around for a couple minutes before someone noticed us. Once we were seated and got our menus there was ALOT to choose from but nothing really stood out to me, so I ordered something I consider to be very "safe" ... chicken fingers and fries. We waited quite a while to get our orders and we noticed that people who had come in after us had actually got there meals before us which I didn't really like. And once I did get my meal I wasn't overly impressed, it's the same as any other run of the mill pub, overcooked chicken fingers with frozen (compared to handcut) french fries. I would probably go back but more for the atmosphere than anything else.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    22
    13
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The poutine is great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We read reviews about this restaurant before arriving and were a little hesitant about eating here. So, when we saw the establishment we decided to try a "no brainer" menu item...poutine. It was great. We wanted to find a PEI potato poutine, and here is where we found it! I think the trick is to order food more typical of a place like this (burger, fries, etc.) instead of food that's not exactly their specialty (steak, pasta, etc.). The servers have a vibe of 'I'm too sexy to serve you' which seemed odd considering the tourist business in PEI suffered this year which means so did the local establishments. Perhaps they need to be reminded that good customer service = the ability to stay open.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onaping, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great with young kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The food was good, nothing to brag about but good, the service was good and the prices were average. However we really enjoyed the sandbox for the kids to play in. The kids played until there food came so my Husband and myself were able to relax and have a full conversation without any distributions, so worth it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“OK meal if your in a rush, and there are no other options.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stopped here on our way back to our campsite, and it was late (9:30 pm). We all had burgers and fries. The burgers were ok - the fries were awful. The service was average. I would not go again, unless it was late and we were in a rush.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Given what else in in town - this is a definite pass.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Um, yuck. Bad concept. Meant to be kid friendly with a sandbox, but just kind of dirty.

It smells bad. The smell of bathroom pervaded our table.

We can't really comment on food, since after a few minutes, we left.

Really, with Sam's and Carr's withion a short drive, take a short drive.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Box Pub and Eatery also viewed

Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Sand Box Pub and Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Box Pub and Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.