We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Quick” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Box Pub and Eatery

Sand Box Pub and Eatery
Route 6, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0, Canada (Formerly Captain's Cove Restaurant)
(902) 963-2700
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 12 Restaurants in Cavendish
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Convenient and Quick”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

If you are travelling without children, sit outside away from the indoor sandbox! It wasn't the greatest meal I've ever had, but it was adequate. The service was good and the food came quickly, which was nice.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    22
    13
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carleton Place, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“High Prices - Mediocre Food (at best)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I ate there with my family for lunch several days ago and came in at what looked like close to opening time. I ordered pan fried scallops, my wife ordered a burger, and my kids had grilled cheese and chicken finger kids meals. For the price of the scallops ($15+) I was expecting more than just a few plain tasting scallops seasoned with pepper laid out on lettuce. My wife enjoyed her burger but again for $10+ it was not all that spectacular. One of my kids liked his grilled cheese but my other kid's chicken fingers were burnt and he said they were upsetting his stomach. The fries were ok but really the only redeeming factor in the meal. Aside from that, the place had a lot of flies which was a little unsettling.

They had a curious feature for the kids there which was an indoor sandbox. Nice idea but I sure wasn't keen on the kids getting all covered in sand before their meal.

Overall it didn't live up to what we read in the guidebooks and I would recommend skipping it. You'll be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Seafood chowder!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I made a trip from Toronto to Nova Scotia with a stop in PEI. So Sand box was our choice to have drinks and dinner. Seriously? It was the best seafood chowder I have ever had! Many chefs overload their chowders with potato and butter. This chowder was just perfect!!!
And theservice was good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff and fresh good!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Friendly staff and fresh good! They are open till 11:00pm, which is late for Cavendish PEI.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavendish, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Honestly, worst meal in years.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

I should have clued in at the odd scent at assaulted us when we walked in. But the family friendly set up sucked us in. I ordered the seafood bake and my wife ordered pasta w/seafood. I don't know what I was thinking when I ordered it, but it certainly was not what I was expecting. Imagine seafood chowder without veggies, broth, and devoid of flavor, even the cheese was tasteless. With the exception of the mussels which tasted off. I choked down a piece of each seafood type that I could identify. Definitely frozen, and with the many different types of meat, pieces were over cooked, and undercooked. The only saving grace was the fries. I ordered the apple crumble and left my main course relatively untouched. The apple crumble looked like a cow patty with a scoop of ice cream on top and whip cream on the side. This was edible, but I am curious as to how you make a crumble totally soggy? My wife's meal was better. It had some flavor, but it must take some talent to make a rose taste like cheese wiz. Pasta was overcooked. Overpriced for what you get here. I should have taken pictures (I didn't know you could post them).

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Box Pub and Eatery also viewed

Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Sand Box Pub and Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Box Pub and Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.