We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages to your Saves list
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
46 Memory Lane, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0 , Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Cavendish
Selden, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delightful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Kindred Spirits was the perfect place to stay for my Anne of Green Gables pilgrimage! I was with a group of friends, and we absolutely loved our stay. The staff was friendly, the room was cheerful and clean, and the food was to die for. I'll remember those breakfasts for a very, very long time! Also, I thought it was so nice that the hotel hosted evening tea socials-- we met some kindred spirits as a result! This is no "White Sands Hotel," but Anne would definitely approve of this place! Highly recommended for friends, couples, and families alike.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    52
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
92
129
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our room was right behind the front desk! I was worried we'd hear nonstop noise, but nope, a double door took care of that. Our accommodations were neat as a pin, the beds were super-comfortable, and holla, we had an awesome jacuzzi, complete with wine glasses! And there were lots of nice touches--for example, a lending library of DVDs that provided us with nightly entertainment. They serve cookies and tea in the parlor in the evening (not sure if that's only for people staying in the main house or for guests in the cottages too). My sole complaint about the place is that they sometimes offer peanut-butter cookies. My daughter--and may people these days--have peanut/nut allergies, so it's not a very safe choice. As a result we shied away from that particular event, but that was OK. The dining room was also adjacent to our room, yet we heard no noise from there either, and had a delicious breakfast awaiting us each morning, just steps away! The fare is not your standard stuff - one day we had blueberry-cheese pancakes; the next, quiche cups with pesto hollandaise. We felt very comfortable and well cared for. Nice job, Kindred Spirits!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have stayed here for a weekend over the past three summers. It is a lovely setting with beautiful grounds and a lovely country feel. However we were extremely disappointed in our cottage this year. We booked a " luxury" cottage for 400 dollars a night. We found a broken bar-b-q and a deck with paint peeling. When we called about the grill we were told that the staff could not get in touch with the owners. We desparately continued to try to get the grill started and succeeded after many attempts. When the staff finally got back in touch with us we were dismissed since it was now working. We had the same trouble the next night but didn't bother to call given the initial response. We even brought this up on check out to save someone else the same problem and felt we were dismissed again. This might seem minor but when you are paying over 800 dollars for two nights you would think that we shouldn't have to struggle to get some help. We had seven our party and the staff even stopped one of the children to ask how many are in our cabin! She felt very intimidated. Overall I know this can be. Lovely place to stay but this year it was a nightmare. Not sure what has changed.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kindred_Spirits_PEI, Owner at Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are so sorry that you had an unsatisfactory stay with us. It is, as you've seen in your other visits, out of the ordinary to have the experience you had at Kindred Spirits.

We are in the process of painting all of our decks (we have a lot!). The deck of the unit you stayed in has been started and will be completed this week if the weather cooperates. The BBQ, which seems to be the greatest source of your frustration, has also been ordered a replacement.

The communications we had with you during your stay was not up to our standards. For that we offered our greatest apology. We are reviewing the incident internally and will most likely be changing some policies as a result. It is not acceptable that you felt the way you did.

With regard to a staff member asking how many people were staying in the cottage. From what I can gather from our discussions with our staff this morning it was not intended as a prying question but rather a service question. They wanted to know in order to place the correct amount of amenities, towels, etc. They should not have asked a child and we apologize for that.

We will be contacting you directly about your stay and doing our best to make sure that your future visits turn out much better and how you remember them being.

All the best.
Dan James - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed 4 nights a the Kindred Spirits in early August. The stay was everything we hoped for - the location was excellent, the rooms were super clean and the grounds were beautiful and very well kept. We stayed in the main building and not being used to bed and breakfast style accommodations, I was worried that it might be noisy since we tend to sleep in, but it was very quiet. The rooms were large and well appointed (in an old fashion Anne of Green Gables style) although the bathroom in the room was quite small. It wasn't cheap but it was well worth the price considering all the little extras that came with it including free wifi and homemade breakfast each morning (if you stay in the main building). Every day they had different small special treats like homemade deserts at the front desk, lemonade on the lawn, a fire and marshmallow roast one evening, and so on.
The outdoor pool was also clean and well kept. Laundry facilities were spotless and my son and I played a game of chess on the outdoor large chess set every morning.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights in a very nice and comfortable room in the guest house portion. Breakfast was very tasty and a welcome change to more usual hotel fare.

The whole property is very well maintained, and great for walking to the beach or the various attractions.

It was definitely on the pricey side of the spectrum, but the whole area seemed above average price-wise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We knew this was going to be a wonderful stay from the moment we drove up. The location is stunning and the surrounding area is beautiful.

This inn is located right by Green Gables and very close to Avonlea Village, so it was perfectly situated.

The staff were incredibly kind and helpful. They answered questions and clarified any issues we had with great patience and kindness.

The room we stayed in was wonderful. It was clean, but also wonderfully decorated and maintained.

We had a brilliant time at this location and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Kindred Spirits Country Inn is in a great location very close to the Ann of Green Gables attractions. We stayed in a "standard queen" room in the gate house, which is much newer than the lodge or the cabins. The room was very large, spotlessly clean, with a very large and fully modern bathroom. There were places to sit, plenty of room for one's clothes, and even a private back deck. The buffet breakfast was very good, and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages

Address: 46 Memory Lane, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Cavendish
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Cavendish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kindred Spirits is a four-star, family owned and operated country resort. Located beside Anne of Green Gables House, and only 800-m from the beach, we are in the heart of Cavendish. We offer such amenities as a heated-salt water pool, hot tub, games room, and fitness centre. With our quaint inn, beautiful gatehouse and well-appointed cottages, we have something to suit all needs. We would love to have you come and visit us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kindred Spirits Country Inn And Cottages
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages Hotel Cavendish
Country Inn Cavendish
Cavendish Country Inn
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages Cavendish, Prince Edward Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.