We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some fun to be had” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avonlea Village

Avonlea Village
Route 6, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island C0A 1M0, Canada
+1 902-963-3050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 12 Attractions in Cavendish
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A collection of eclectic shops and eateries in a beautiful heritage setting. There is no entrance fee.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Some fun to be had”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Had I not gone to Kings landing before going to the Avonlea Village, this rating might have been higher. Kings Landing Historical Settlement is head and shoulder's above Avonlea, just take a look at the two on Google maps and you'll see how small in comparison Avonlea is. Now if you're on PEI and enjoyed watching Anne of Green Gables, then you should definitely stop and see Avonlea. Its a small village with actors/workers playing out some of the scenes/characters of the Anne of Green Gables stories, I think the kids enjoyed the animals the most. The rest of the village didn't take very long to walk through. We probably spent about 45 minutes walking through the village and about an hour around the farm animals. Remember to bring you're ID if you are a AAA member (US or Canadian), they had discounts during our visit. If you drove here from the U.S. recommend stopping and visiting Kings Landing Historical Settlement on you're way home and making the trip in the summer.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    58
    41
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It's okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I love the buildings and the entertainment. I feel that having the characters walking around and trying to act is a little forced. Music in the church and shanty are very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, NY
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A delightful trip into storyland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The following is written by a grandfather: My wife has been wanting to visit the attractions in Cavendish, PEI ever since she read "Anne of Green Gables" as a young girl. 50 years later she not only got to go, but we also took our 9 and 11 year old granddaughters with us. And yes, even grandpa thoroughly enjoyed the trip to AVONLEA VILLAGE.

The buildings are wonderfully done, and the church that L.M. Montgomery attended as a youngster was carefully moved to this site and reassembled. More than that, the activities: buggy ride, concerts, knitting/weaving lessons, games, childrens' activities, etc are very well planned and executed.

But most of all, I think the actors from the "Anne of Green Gables" story, in period dress really make the day worth while. They interact with the visitors all day, pose with them for pictures, patiently answer questions and make a day-long visit lots of fun. It's hard to imagine they do this day after day, all summer long. They appear fresh and enthusiastic like today was their first show.

There are scheduled events throughout the day. Between the events, you can visit the shops, eat a picnic lunch (BYO or purchase on site), take pictures of family members dressed in clothing from the period and play in the school playground.

The actors protray the A of GG story on the back porch of one of the houses in several acts, which are broken up by other activities at other locations within the village.

We took lots of pictures and will remember AVONLEA VILLAGE with fondness for the rest of our lives.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must see!!!! Live re-enactment of portions of Anne of Green Gables. A living museum and lots of interactive games!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We went here at the end of our vacation and it was by far the best way to end. The characters were amazing and didn't ever break character...the fishing shanty was awesome and our children had fun square dancing, playing in sac races, egg and spoon races and watching the pig race! It is hands down THE BEST attraction we were involved in on the island.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great Family Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I've actually never read the Anne of Green Gables books, but it didn't matter. The whole place is a replica of the village from the book. They enact all kinds of vignettes from the book I gather, but you don't have to know the story to enjoy them. Don't miss the music in the fishing shanty -- that was a highlight for us, and bring a picnic lunch -- you can sit at picnic tables behind the school and eat while enjoying a performance. My daughters and her cousins LOVED the dress shop, where they could dress up like Anne. We got some adorable photos. All in all it was a really fun time. Plan to stay at least a whole day. There is something happening pretty consistently throughout the day. Even my husband liked it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avonlea Village also viewed

Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Kensington, Prince Edward Island
 
Kensington, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Avonlea Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avonlea Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.