We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great view of ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundance Cottages

Save Saved
You added Sundance Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sundance Cottages
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   34 MacCoubrey Lane, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island C0A1N0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place, great view of ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We only got to stay here a couple of nights in our two week trip but it was our favorite spot. Very comfortable, everything you need if you want to cook or grill out. Restaurants lose by if you want to eat out. Owners had great advice on places to visit and places to et. Very comfy and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llowtherpei, Owner at Sundance Cottages, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. We truly appreciate it. We take pride in knowing our area and our Island well so we can provide great tips to our customers. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Sundance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    24
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
56
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Miramichi, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed overnight Thursday, September 5, 2013 while attending the Evangeline musical in Charlottetown. This is an excellent, immaculately clean property and cottage. The 3 bedroom 2 bathroom arrangement with 4 beds accommodated us perfectly. The owner was very friendly, organized and informative. This property is pet friendly which worked very well for us and our 17 year old Persian travelling cat! The cottage is spacious and well equipped. The price including tax was less than $195 for the night. The beds were very comfortable and we all slept well. We didn't get an opportunity to use the large deck with its picnic table and BBQ, but we hope to do this on our next trip with a longer stay. This spot will meet your every need! BRAVO to the owners!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llowtherpei, Owner at Sundance Cottages, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your visit and for taking the time to write a review. We hope you enjoyed Evangeline. It is an epic production. We are happy that you enjoyed your short stay with us and that your cat was able to be accommodated. We hope you choose us again when visiting PEI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Once again we had a wonderful time at Sundance. The cottages are wonderful, the view is exceptional, the atmosphere is relaxing and fun. Th fireplace added to the comfort on those chilly nights. We are looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llowtherpei, Owner at Sundance Cottages, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We are so glad you were able to spend the weekend with us this year and we appreciate the time you have taken to share your comments. We love our returning guests and look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. john's
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was a family vacation for a party of seven and we could not have asked for a better place to stay. Even though we though it was a bit pricy, we absolutely loved the three bedroom house. For some in the party it was their first time in PEI and they loved it. We were impressed that we were close to many popular attractions (house of Anna Green Gables, Shining Waters and Sand Spit, PEI Dirt Shirt, Gift Shops) and amenities (groceries, bakery, restaurants and liquor store). The cleaning staff were very friendly and brought fresh towels when we needed them. Our biggest disappointment was that there was no washer and dryer at the house. I guess we kinda expected this would be available because when we stayed at other vacation homes before it was included. There was a Laundromat in the main office but it wasn't open until 4PM. I also expected that there might be a flat iron at the house but maybe there was one at the Laundromat.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again. I would have given this house 5 stars if it had had a washer and dryer and flat iron.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llowtherpei, Owner at Sundance Cottages, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We want to thank you for sharing your experience at Sundance. First let me say that there should have been an iron in the house as that is a standard amenity. It must have disappeared somehow. I sincerely apologize and please make sure to ask us if you need anything.
I also apologize for not having a washer and dryer available in the house. Most rental homes are available long term while ours is only available for a few weeks in the summer and the laundry facilities are in the locked basement where the family belongings are located while the house is being rented. With all that said we are so happy you enjoyed this home. It is in a great location and offers a great view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nb, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family and I were set to return to Sundance Cottages this passed Labor Day weekend, as it has become somewhat of a family tradition. This includes, myself, husband and two boys; my sister, her husband and two girls; and, our parents. The Wednesday, for the long weekend, we got word that our Father's father had fallen ill and was not expected to make it through the night. We contacted the cottage to see what we could do about our $300 deposit, as we obviously had to cancel our vacation that we were so looking forward to. We were told that they would try to rebook the cottage. My grandfather passed away on Friday at noon time. We looked online over the weekend to see if the cottage had been booked, and it had, so we were confidant the hotel would return our deposit. When my sister contacted Linda at the hotel, she was told that instead of booking the cottage, they instead upgraded somebody else that was coming in the for weekend, and still lost 1 nights stay, so would only refund $150 of our $300 deposit. We are very disappointed with this. We had so looked forward to our annual getaway, but instead had to spend the weekend mourning an immediate family member, and because of this, we are out $150 - but some lucky person got a lovely upgraded cottage on our expense. We were told that we should have purchased travel insurance!!! Apparently, you need to purchase travel insurance to travel 90 minutes from New Brunswick to PEI. Needless to say, next labor day weekend we will begin a new family tradition at a new cottage, where kindness and compassion come a little more naturally!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was our first visit with Sundance Cottages and we had booked a 2 bedroom deluxe cottage as we had guests with us from The Netherlands. From the first view we were totally impressed with the area, cottages and the front desk staff. The cottage was clean and well supplied with all items we needed for our stay.
There were bicycles provided for touring and we were also given a Park Pass which allowed us to tour the beach areas. This was a plus and very welcomed.
Next year we plan on a return visit.

Room Tip: Cottages on lower area close to the pool were more for adults and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llowtherpei, Owner at Sundance Cottages, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our cottages. We really appreciate it. I am so glad you mentioned our front desk staff. Crystal has been with us for a number of years and I am sure she will be happy to see that you were happy with her service. Thanks again so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

As a party of a Nana, Mom and 3 young grandsons, we could not have found a better destination for our 3-day getaway! The location was easy to find and the 3-bedroom cottage was even nicer than we had pictured. The cottage was CLEAN, laid out well, and pretty much all comforts of home! The multi-channel TV was positioned high up the wall, which was definitely good planning with little ones around :-) Bedroom layout was great and it was a bonus to have the 2 bathrooms, one as an en-suite. In addition to the new, clean feeling, the kitchen was stocked with all appliances, microwave, coffee pot and toaster included. Their was also AC/temp control for the cottage which was super. As for the kids: a great playground ideally positioned and fenced in pool, toddler pool and hot tub were all fabulous (even goggles and pool toys were out with the pool!) Bikes and helmets were provided and we were but a short stroll/drive to the beach. Our front desk service was wonderful and so very helpful, particularly with respect to our selection for age appropriate theme park and outings. Wi-Fi was an added bonus as well! Should also have mentioned the gas barbecue, picnic tables and chairs supplied on each cottage deck, which was great foresight as well. Would be hard-pressed to come up negative feedback! Hoping to make this journey an annual wind-up to summer for our grandsons :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llowtherpei, Owner at Sundance Cottages, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your wonderful comments about our property and we are most happy about the fact that you had an awesome vacation. Having our own grandkids makes us think about the little ones a bit more than usual. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sundance Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Cottages

Address: 34 MacCoubrey Lane, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island C0A1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Cavendish
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty lodging in Cavendish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundance Cottages 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Sundance Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Cottages Hotel Cavendish
Sundance Cottages Cavendish, Prince Edward Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundance Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.