We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frugal comfort in tranquil location, family-run, pleasant people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shaw's Hotel and Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Shaw's Hotel and Cottages to your Saves list
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Apple Tree Road, Brackley Beach, Prince Edward Island C1E 0Z4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brackley Beach
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
234 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
“Frugal comfort in tranquil location, family-run, pleasant people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Overall, we enjoyed a three night off-season visit to Shaw’s, an historic inn/hotel beside beautiful (and windswept) Brackley Beach. The properrty has been in business since the mid-19c under the management of successive generations of the eponymous family.

The location is somewhat isolated, an advantage for those seeking tranquillity. Apart from walking the beach, there’s not much to do in the immediate area.

The hotel is a conversion and expansion of the original farmhouse, of which some traces remain. There are cottages of varying sizes in the grounds, which are well-equipped for children, and the complex looks ideal for a family holiday (teenagers might find it too quiet). There’s nothing special about the interior decor but the general atmosphere is one of cosy but frugal comfort. There is no elevator.

Our room was a small suite providing somewhat frugal comfort. Clothes hanging space was basic with only well-used wire hangers offered. Breakfast was adequate but not exciting - a minimal buffet with a limited menu of hot food cooked to order. Lunch is not provided - the nearest restaurant is a 20 minute walk and generally has long waiting lines. Dinner was good but the choice is limited. Laundry service was fast and inexpensive. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. . There is free and uncomplicated WiFi throughout the hotel.

PEI is an ideal place to wind down and Shaw’s is one of the best places there to do that. Those seeking a livelier vacation should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We've got two more nights and I'm already getting the family asking about next year. We wanted a family get away, where we could hang on the beach, or just relax. As soon as we arrived, it felt right. The location has privacy, space, beauty and access to wonderful beaches. Well kept and reasonable prices for accommodations. Breakfast has been yummy and the staff have been very friendly, down to the details like remembering only one us drinks coffee. It's about 20 minutes drive to head into Charlottetown, which has been a jewel of an experience. It's a good experience when you miss a place, before you leave.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

There is not a better place from which to experience PEI than centrally located Shaw's Hotel and cottages. Immaculate and well kept, Shaw's is a perfect blend of comfort, relaxation, and outdoor activities. The rooms are cozy and comfortable, and the delicious breakfasts and dinners are served by the friendliest staff. One day we kayaked in the bay adjoining the property, the next day we biked along the adjacent PEI National Park, and the following day we walked to a beautiful beach. We stayed for one week and can't wait to return. Shaws Hotel offers natural beauty, eagles graced our stay on numerous occasions, and Shaw's location puts you within easy reach of any part of the island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I am definitely more of a hotel guy than a cottage guy, so I'll just stick to some tips I learned after staying at Shaw's for 2 nights.

1. Bring your own bug spray. The front desk has multiple bottles they loan out, but if you have your own to carry with you, you have a better chance of survival. The mosquitoes are definitely in their own league.

2. When you drive by a grocery store on the island, pick up some snacks and drinks for your cottage. And maybe more bug spray.

3. Plan for dinner accordingly. There are not too many restaurants in the immediate area, so it's easy to wind up relying on Shaw's restaurant. It is good, but we easily burned through 80-100 bucks for each dinner (for 2 adults, 1 kid).

4. Get the breakfast included in your rate. Don't be put off by the term "continental". In addition to the items available in the breakfast area, other items are included that are made to order. And good.

5. Take advantage of the canoes and kayaks. They are included but they were hardly touched during our stay. Once you are out on the water, you can catch the ocean breeze, and a break from the bugs.

6. Going to the beach is not a bad walk, but you will pass through woods that seem to be designed as mosquito feeding grounds. The water at the beach was very clear, though, and not too cold at all. Just spray-up for the walk.

I will leave it at that. Am I obsessing over bugs? Possibly, but even the staff thought I was crazy for wanting to have a drink on the porch one evening. And I didn't even mention the beetles. I gave up trying to catch the ones running across our cottage floor, because there were always more on the way. In each of the two mornings we were there, we had at least 8-10 new dead ones spread around the cottage floor. But I've been told that's just country living.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie S, Owner at Shaw's Hotel and Cottages, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Buggy

Sorry to hear your disappointment with the mosquitos you encountered. The heavy rains over the last week created the opportunity for a new batch. The walk to the beach is through the National Park and is beyond our control but we do have mechanisms around our property controlling the mosquitos and they haven't caused any issues until the last week.

The black beetles which are harmless live in the grass and fields but again the heavy rains forced them out of their natural habit's and into a number of our cottages. We immediately hired a pest control company to deal with this issue which is now over.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the restaurant. There is also two other fine restaurants plus 2 takeout's and a family diner all within 5 kms of the hotel.

We do hope you will again visit us at Shaw's Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Arrived at 1:50 p.m. given key to Cabin # 3 when we entered the cabin, it was obvious it was not cleaned since the last occupant left. When this was reported to the front desk they appeared quite unorganized. Return to the cabin at 12:30 am only to find the cabin was infested with black beetles running around the floor. We managed to capture over three dozen! Cabin and furniture need a major refresh, old and uncomfortable furniture. First morning, seemed to be very disorganized at breakfast lots of people working but not accomplishing a lot. Breakfast ran until 10:00 am we arrived around 9. At the continental breakfast the fruit bowl and another bowl was empty. We had french toast and sausage which was very good. The next morning new crew working and there seen to be fewer working. This group was very friendly and attentive especially the young lady you looked after our table. My son commented we saw more of her in the first 5 minutes then we did of the young lady the first morning during the entire time we ate our breakfast. We were offered toast while we waited for our meal, which we were not on the first morning. When the front desk was advised of the beetle infestation we were told they do not like to spray unless there was a problem? Over three dozen beetles not a problem! On the positive side a beautiful location! Had it not been for the run down cabin my ratings would have been higher.

Room Tip: Don't stay in cabin 2! Service - range from less than average on most incidence but the experi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie S, Owner at Shaw's Hotel and Cottages, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Happy Traveller:

Sorry to hear about your disappointment with your visit to Shaw's Hotel.

There was a miscommunication between housekeeping and the front desk in regards to the cottage being ready for new occupants.

The black beetles were flooded by heavy rains out of there natural habitat and hit a number of cottages. These have all been treated by a professional company. To clarify (we do not spray comment) is that it is of no use to spray for black beetles until they appear as per advice of a professional exterminator.

For breakfast we are continually refreshing the items on our continental breakfast when you arrived at the table they were probably preparing new items in the kitchen.

Not sure what cottage you stayed in you mentioned both cottage #2 and cottage #3 but we have noted your comments on the living room furniture.

We do hope that you will give us the opportunity of hosting you again at Shaw's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our family have been travelling to PEI together for almost 40 years. We have stayed in many cottages in many areas of PEI. Our extended family recently stayed in 3 of the cottages at Shaw's. I stayed in cottage 19- a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom, spacious, immaculate, cottage. It became the gathering point. My siblings and their families stayed in 1 or 2 bedroom cottages.
We loved the location, loved the view, and the proximity to a beautiful beach. The breakfast was wonderful. You could borrow beach chairs, towels, umbrellas,bikes, kayaks, and canoes. The staff at the resort were all so friendly and kind and went out of their way to make our stay very comfortable.
The only 2 drawbacks-
1. THE MOSQUITOES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Wow- they were fierce. But they were bad everywhere this summer.
2. The 'luxury' one bedroom cottage that one sister stayed in was advertised as having a jacuzzi but upon arrival there was an 'out of order' sign on it. She inquired and was informed that they only operate the jacuzzis in the winter. She was quite disappointed.
Overall though we loved the place, we can't wait to go back and we tried desperately to add extra nights to our recent stay with no luck. We didn't want to leave!
They are really pricey too. But I find all accommodations on PEI to be overpriced. They are priced on par with comparable cottages elsewhere on the island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho City, Idaho
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Early in the season stay - front desk very helpful, dining room staff excellent. Room was very nice and clean, although a little dated. Good location for travelling around North side of PEI, and an expansive beach a short walk away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaw's Hotel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw's Hotel and Cottages

Address: 99 Apple Tree Road, Brackley Beach, Prince Edward Island C1E 0Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Brackley Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brackley Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw's Hotel and Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaw's Hotel is a charming historic inn and cottages property with a large property and great location. It's adjacent to Brackley Beach --- one of PEI's best beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Shaw's Hotel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaws Hotel Charlottetown
Shaw's Hotel And Cottages Brackley Beach, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaw's Hotel and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.