We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed......choose someplace else!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Bay Fortune

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn at Bay Fortune to your Saves list
Inn at Bay Fortune
Rte. 310 | R.R. 4, Bay Fortune, Prince Edward Island C0A 2B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Bay Fortune B&B and Inns
california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed......choose someplace else!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

When we arrived in PEI we realized that this hotel was far away from where we needed/wanted to be. Also on the day before we were suppose to drive to the INN I had a migraine headache and not sure I would be able to drive in the car any distance! Called the INN and they were short and rude and said they would have to charge us......unless we came. Since we had pre-paid for two nights we decided to go, at least for one! Upon arrival the location was beautiful so we were excited. It went down hill from there. The rooms DO NOT LOOK LIKE THE PHOTOS.......period. Ours was "rustic cabin" at best. The rooms are very OLD and in desperate need of repair and updating. Particularly the bathrooms. The rooms have old wallpaper which is coming off and UGLY green towels! Lumpy old beds and even the sheets and pillow are not good!
Not a warm and inviting room at all. So we were trying to look forward to the 5 star dining, for which we had reservations. Like one review said it was freezing out on the verenda! Not off to a great start. The food was good but very expensive for what you get.
I think you might find another restaurant in the area that would be just as good. Apparently, this is where the famous Chef Michael Smith got his start and so perhaps that is why the restaurant is so sought after and reservations necessary. He is no longer there! Personally I thought the breakfast which was included in the INN price was one of the worst I have ever had! The staff is not all that friendly in fact pretty stuffy and la te dah! Not a good experience at all.....there are much better choices in the area just do your research!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    14
    9
    10
    9
See reviews for
12
66
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed at this wonderful Inn for two nights of our honeymoon. We had a wonderful room on the top floor of one of the towers with a balcony which had a wonderful view of the bay. Our room was spacious yet cozy.

The food was absolutely delicious! We stuck with fish and the cod absolutely melted in your mouth. The staff was great and so friendly. We will definitely return someday!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longislandny
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We visited PEI from Long Island for our 25th anniversary and were delighted with our 3 day stay at the Inn at Bay Fortune, as part of our two week holiday. We had booked a spring package and upgraded for a modest price to stay one night in a gorgeous top tower room with a beautiful wrap around deck overlooking the bay and the second night in a ground floor room surrounded by gardens with a fireplace. The food by chef Warren Barr was outstanding. The highlight of our trip was a private 7 course meal at the Chef's Table overlooking the kitchen and served personally by the chefs. The whole staff was aware of our anniversary and went out of their way to make us feel special. Overall a wonderful and romantic stay. Lots of travelers younger and older than us and all looked happy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

I had originally booked a room in the first courtyard along with the bike/lunch package for my husband and myself. We were on PEI for our honeymoon and this was one of a few stops - the one stop I thought would be the highlight of our trip. After checking out their website I decided to switch our booking to a different, slightly more expensive room.

When we arrived and checked into the room both the wireless internet and phone were not working. These issues were quickly remedied by the friendly staff. We took a long walk out to the bay and the beach and when we got back, the power was out. We had to wait about 25 minutes for someone to come out to restore power to the room. The staff offered to have us come down to the lounge to have a drink while we waited, but as we had already opened a bottle of our own wine, we decided to stay on the balcony and enjoy the spectacular view.

We decided to cancel our bike/lunch booking and just leave after breakfast the next morning. We did not ask for compensation for any of the above issues. When I went to check out, we were offered the lunch compliments of the inn/chef since "it was already prepared". We were also not charged the difference between the slightly more expensive room we stayed in and the original room I had booked which seems fair.

There were a few other issues that seem too petty to mention here in light of our power issues, but that nonetheless coloured our experience at the inn.

The next time we visit PEI we will not stay here. There are other places to stay on the island which offer comfort, great food and value for your money.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

Our room smelled musty but otherwise was reasonable unless you considered the cost. For the price I expected more.
We ate in the restaurant on both evenings of our stay and found the food imaginative but not to our taste. The service on both evenings was good but the dining room ,which is a glassed in veranda, was absolutely freezing.
The food and service at breakfast was poor and unfriendly.
I found the pushing for tips annoying. We were happy to tip our waiters each evening and our cleaners on leaving but I refused to allow a very pushy receptionist to add a tip to my bill for mediocre service at breakfast.
Our lasting impression was that the hotel was only concerned with money not with the guests. When we return to PEI we will give this hotel a miss.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms in the turret...it was extremely small and hot (no A/C). The front desk was very rude when we got there a bit early. The grounds are nice, but not amazing, and it is not on the water.
Basically we had dinner (which was not bad-- I was expecting worse), and played scrabble in the common room so we didn't have to go back to our hot, cramped room.
The room itself was fine-- it was clean, cute furnishings, bathroom was fine, etc. Nothing luxurious.
I would not stay here again, and instead would go to the Johnson Shore Inn (where we stayed the first 2 nights).

  • Liked — Grounds are OK and maybe some of the other rooms are better
  • Disliked — Terrible room.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2007

We try to stay in only the best as we don't travel that often. If you need a TV in your room and must have a coffee-maker and all those other "Holiday Inn Express" amenities, this tranquil spot is not for you. The rooms are blissfully quiet - so quiet you can actually hear the sounds of nature - and the rooms are very tastefully decorated. This is an ideal 'get-away' for those seeking peace and quiet - it would be a tremendous place for artists, authors, etc (which stands to reason as it was once the summer home of thespian Colleen Dewhurst).

The food was outstanding - subtle flavourings and beautifully presented, a gourmet's delight. We were amazed that pretty well all the food was local (from PEI) and definitely fresh as was evidenced by the abundant vegetable and edible flower gardens that surround the Inn.

Although pricey, it was definitely worth our 4-night stay and helped us unwind from the rigours of today's frenetic lifestyle. I would recommend it to anyone wishing peace, quiet, and delectable cuisine. A true 'class act'.

  • Liked — The peace and quiet, and the amazing food!
  • Disliked — Difficult to find anything - perhaps someone to carry our bags to our room if we were infirm, but I suspect had we asked, we would have received help from the staff.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Bay Fortune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Bay Fortune

Address: Rte. 310 | R.R. 4, Bay Fortune, Prince Edward Island C0A 2B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Bay Fortune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bay Fortune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Bay Fortune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Bay Fortune Hotel Bay Fortune
Inn At Bay Fortune Prince Edward Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Bay Fortune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.