We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn...Fantastic Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Bay Fortune

Save Saved
You added Inn at Bay Fortune to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Bay Fortune
Rte. 310 | R.R. 4, Bay Fortune, Prince Edward Island C0A 2B0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Bay Fortune B&B and Inns
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn...Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We just finished a four night stay at the Inn at Bay Fortune and our whole experience was delightful!

Our room was spacious, comfortable, clean and cozy. We were in Room 11 and had a private screen porch as well as a fireplace, and with the cooler temps we needed it!

We originally planned to stay two nights, but ended up staying FOUR because we couldn't get enough of Chef Domenic's food!! We had the a la carte 3 course, the 5 course tasting, the Chef's Table and then he prepared a unique 5 course Vegetarian tasting! All of it was tremendous! Not a disappointment in the bunch - and that is a lot of courses with no repeats!!

Jamie, the Pastry Chef, did a marvelous job with our desserts - and his sorbets were out of this world!!

I highly recommend this wonderful spot - and we will definitely be back!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    12
    6
    8
    8
See reviews for
11
52
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

My wife and I are dedicated sun-birds, Floridians who flee the oppressive Florida summer heat for cooler climes in the higher latitudes. Our travels this year brought us to the maritime provinces, where we booked a two day stay at the Inn at Bay Fortune.

Trip Advisor led us to the Inn. The food kept us there. We had expected to find a Food Network celebrity chef (Michael Smith was the chef some years ago) but found Chef Domenic instead. A young man in his first year at the Inn, Chef Dom and his staff served up 25 dinner courses over 4 days, never repeating himself. (OK, the beet sorbet showed up twice, but only as a palate cleanser and not a full course.) He is obsessed with terms like Island grown, organic and fresh, which in my experience too often means less taste at a higher cost. Not so with Chef Dom.
I am invariably drawn towards contemporary tasting menus. Too often they disappoint, like when the indifferent monkfish appears as the third course. A few exceed expectations, like Asiate in New York or Mâ in the basement of the Adlon in Berlin. Dom’s 12-course chef’s table menu belongs in this rarefied company.

But what of the Inn itself? We stayed in a ground floor suite in the third courtyard, a delightful room that was airy, clean, cozy and comfortable. The bed was firm, the shower hot and the fireplace easily operated. No nits.

It’s a long haul from Florida to the east end of PEI, but I’m pretty sure we’ll be back again before too long. Finally, PEI proved to be a fine sun-bird destination. Wednesday’s high in Fortune Bay was 52 F. Back home that same day it was a record 105 F.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

From the ultra-friendly email we had from David Wilmer, the innkeeper, when we enquired about staying at the Inn at Bay Fortune, we sensed that this was going to be a memorable visit. We were warmly greeted on arrival, and this set the tone for the excellent service we received during our stay. Our room was spacious, well equipped, spotlessly clean and airy. The Inn itself is in a quiet location, with a spendid view to the sea. The imaginative food, freshly sourced each day, was a highlight of our holiday. We noticed that quite a few people made the 75 km journey from Charlottetown to have dinner at the Inn, which must be a recommendation in itself. Although the Inn had not arranged it, seeing a hummingbird just outside the dining room was the icing on the cake. The best place we stayed in PEI and we hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Inn at Bay Fortune for one night in early September. It was terrific. We had a room in the tower with a balcony and a jacuzzi tub. It was very attractive and the view was terrific. The grounds are beautiful and it is right neat the water. The highlight of the stay was the food, our dinner and breakfast there were the best in our one week stay. The staff also went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We loved the Inn at Bay Fortune and would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting P.E. I

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

We traveled to New Brunswick and PEI in August and this was, by far, the best inn - we stayed in the tower with a deck (you can see it on their home page) and loved it -- great views of the water and private. If we go back, we'll likely choose a room with a fireplace because even though it was unseasonably warm, evenings were cool. THE best part about the inn, though, is the food. Fantastic! We happened to hit when there was a special dinner (province-wide event, I believe) with chefs signing cookbooks. We spent one night at their sister property, the Inn at Spry Point, but didn't care for it -- very new and secluded, but too far from everything. We'd go back to the Inn at Bay Fortune in a heartbeat - loved it. Also....thanks to the recommendation of a lovely waitress, we also went to a Caleigh nearby and had a blast -- even square danced (talk about an adventure!) If you're going to PEI, by all means stay here. It's fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

After camping on the West side of PEI we decided to visit the East side. We called the Inn at Bay Fortune and were able to make reservations for that evening. We arrived later than expected and were greeted by the owner, David Wilmer who was patiently waiting. What a bedragled sight we must have been arriving at his door that evening. He personally showed us to our room and assisted with our luggage (the owner mind you). Since the kitchen was closing, he asked if they could accomodate a simple meat and cheese tray and some drinks. When room service arrived we were introduced to the type of quality awaited us in the morning at breakfast. The food here is simply above expectation. I have never experienced such flavour and use of fresh local ingredients (cured at the Inn itself) and cheese from around PEI. We ate breakfast twice there and dinner on our last night. I cannot say enough about how good our dinner was. It was perfect in every way even for our two young children (oh yes quite picky).
We explored Souris and the beach nearby. What a relaxing time.
I recall great writers retiring to a quiet hotel to focus on a piece of work and not really understanding until we stayed here. If you are looking for a quiet, friendly Inn with wonderful staff and food that is simply superior, this is worth the trip.
On the drive back to Ottawa I said to my wife that if we came back to PEI, this Inn would be where we would stay for the entire week.
If you are going, I will only say "Enjoy!" If you have been, I will only say " Now you know what I mean!"

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Dave Wilmer is such a gracious and welcoming host and the Inn, so full of history, complements the pastoral surroundings perfectly. Needless to say, with the exception of one recent poorly written and decidedly suspicious review, we agree 100% that the food is amazing, the staff pleasant and unobtrusive, and the Inn and its host welcoming and near-perfect. As stated in an earlier review I wrote when we first stayed here in 2007, if it is television, in-room coffee machines, and all the other doodads that run-of-the-mill places offer, then I would suggest staying in Charlottetown where you might find a more appropriate motel. The Inn is definitely for those looking for a superb dining experience and/or a deliciously quiet and restful vacation meant to recharge tired batteries.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Bay Fortune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Bay Fortune

Address: Rte. 310 | R.R. 4, Bay Fortune, Prince Edward Island C0A 2B0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Bay Fortune
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bay Fortune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Bay Fortune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Bay Fortune Hotel Bay Fortune
Inn At Bay Fortune Prince Edward Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Bay Fortune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.