We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa
2 Bedford-on-the-Water, Westport, Ontario K0G 1X0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Westport B&B and Inns
Trenton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“THE place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

So here's the scoop on the Cove. I was up in Westport on business, had to find a place to stay and lucked in with the Cove. I was truly surprised and delighted to see the place when I arrived. It truly is the place to be. Not only is the Cove party central for this great community, it's also an elegant and truly great trip back in time.

The rooms are NOT what you'd expect from a modern hotel. There are no phones, televisions are huge gracious bathrooms. In fact, when I checked into the room I fel like I was taking a step back into the 40's. The room was simple and gracious and meant for someone who wants a comfortable place to sleep and get cleaned up before getting back out into the incredible community that is Westport.

There was a sink in the room and a private bathroom that included toilet and tub. The bed, though, was THE most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The next morning I went for the breakfast and really delighted to have a warm and delicious treat.

The folks at the Inn cook up an egg casserole with onions, peppers and potatoes that reminds me of home. Sides of bacon, sausage, toast, fresh fruits and muffins were accompanied by coffee that beats Tim Horton's every which way to Sunday.

Yup, there's a sense of community and home that the Cove Inn exudes. Add to the mix their down-home fun parties in their lounge and you'll get the feeling that you've come home and are surrounded by friends and family. You won't want to leave.

I'll definitely be coming back next summer with my wife.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    21
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We've traveled quite a bit over the years and I'm constantly drawn back to The Cove. We were recently there over Thanksgiving weekend. As usual the staff was very friendly - if you need something or want to find out what to do or where to go in town - just ask.

The Cove has a hot tub and sauna (some rooms have hot tubs too). There are kayaks to use which are fun and of course a pool and nice area to sun overlooking the busy harbour. If you go in the winter - which is fun too - there is skating on the pond. As others have said there is plenty of shopping within an easy walk.

I really enjoy having a coffee or drink in the lounge and talking with the staff and locals. The morning breakfst buffet is nice not having to go out first thing in the morning. Another poster mentioned Thursday Jazz Nights - too much fun for all ages and other music - like the Blues series can break up a long winter.

Oh - thank God there is no TV or phone in the rooms.

Is it perfect? No, but close enough for me.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We are a hiking group from Ottawa and have been going to The Cove for years. We've stayed there 3 times this year alone. This is family run and it's wonderful to see the next generation joining in with the same welcoming and happy manner. The Cove Inn itself reminds me of a more simple but elegant era.
We usually stay for 2 or 3 nights to enjoy the town and Frontenac Park. A number of us also like to explore other small towns in the area. Westport however is the jewel sitting along the shores of Upper Rideau Lake. You can see the lake from a number of the quaint rooms.
I was somewhat reluctant to write this report as this inn feels like our own special place that we'd like to keep to ourselves. However we also want them to prosper so that they'll be there for many years to come. We're looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: If you want to pamper yourself ask if they have a jacuzzi suite available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby Lake, Westport, ON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

The Cove Country Inn in Westport provides my wife and I and many of our friends with outstanding musical entertainment with excellent food, beautiful and intimate surroundings, and absolutely top notch service. The personal touch provided by the owners and staff far exceeds any we've encountered anywhere.

Westport is located in a very picturesque setting surrounded by lakes and parks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Great Food and Entertainment ,But No TV, NO Teleophone, Room a reasonable size

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry C, Owner at Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We feel you will notice the difference when you return as we have done many renos to up date the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is the second time we've visited Westport as part of a Rideau Waterway cruise. Four years ago the shops seemed cuter and the Cove Country Inn more plush. Despite a crucial need for updating and lots of cosmetic work, the inn is still in the middle of the action and close to the waterfront with its municipal marina (Fuel avaiable.).

Dinner at the inn was above average for the location; Breakfast was adequate. Try to eat on the outdoors patio overlooking Westport Pond.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry C, Owner at Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thankyou for your good words and we feel you will notice a big difference when you return to the Inn as we have made many renovations to the rooms recently this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanoose Bay, British Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Excellent small Inn ambiance right in town and on the water. Rooms were comfortable with closet ensuites. Westport is a nice town to walk around and stop down at Upper Rideau Lake and watch the boats. Their website is helpful and when you call the staff are great.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa

Address: 2 Bedford-on-the-Water, Westport, Ontario K0G 1X0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa Westport, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.