We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as Nonna's and a Full house on a Monday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pomodoro Trattoria & Wine Bar

Pomodoro Trattoria & Wine Bar
280 Main Street | Prince Edward County, Wellington, Ontario K0K 3L0, Canada
+1 613-399-5909
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good as Nonna's and a Full house on a Monday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were looking for a restaurant on a Monday night, not much being open, and the owner of Angeline's, the place where we are staying recommended Pomodoro. My wife is Italian so we were a bit nervous about an Italian restaurant because not much does well when compared to nonna's food. Pomodoro pulled it off in spades. We had great appetisers including the arrancini which were delightful. . For mains we had the lamb special, the chicken, the pappardelle and the good ol spaghetti and meatballs. Everyone loved their meals. I had the pappardelle with a mushroom, white wine cram sauce and the flavouring was exquisite and perfectly balanced. Every bite slowly revealed the dish as you chewed. We had a local wine, 2011 Merlot from Huff estates that was great. Highly recommend this restaurant. Not to be missed, even if you are Italian!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    23
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Friendly, prompt service and delicious food. Delightful atmosphere. We will definitely return and recommend to friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinte West
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I tried Pomodoro for the first time a few weekends ago. The food was very delicious. We both agree that this meal was the best we've had in a long while when it comes to area restaurants. I had the eggplant dish and would order it again. The service was perfect...courteous, genuine but not pushy. Definitely make reservations as by the time we left, there was a small line up out the door. We hope to return!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“rudest people, horrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and i stopped in, knowing there was a bar, to sit and grab some local wine and an appetizer on our way home from sandbanks, saturday, aug 3. A waitress told us the kitchen couldn't handle our order, so we had to leave, despite the empty bar and tables. When explaining we were just coming in for an appetizer and wine, she got approval from the chef and the owner so that we could sit at the bar (strange). Once seated, the bartender started saying rude things about us to other staff right in front of us, complaining that we were taking up space for other patrons with "reservations". In all of my experience dining I have never been treated with such rudeness, to the point where we were so uncomfortable with how she was looking at us, we decided to leave. I would never step foot again in a place with such demeaning staff. Most restaurants nearby are wonderful and friendly- do not waste your time or support a place who treats their patrons like they are doing something wrong by sitting down at an empty bar for a glass of wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K-Lynn-Kennedy, Owner at Pomodoro Trattoria & Wine Bar, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We always encourage reservations, especially on the weekends. This way we can provide the high level of service that we believe is as important as our food. I understand our staff conveyed to this to you but since you insisted and we attempted to comply. Despite the intensity of the weekend, this does to excuse rudeness. We sincerely apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great atmosphere and food. Reservations recommended (we didn't have one but sat at the bar which was fun).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomodoro Trattoria & Wine Bar also viewed

Wellington, Prince Edward County
Wellington, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Wellington, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Pomodoro Trattoria & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pomodoro Trattoria & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.