We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience was well beyond expectation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drake Devonshire

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drake Devonshire
Save
You added Drake Devonshire to your Saves list
24 Wharf Street, Wellington, Ontario K0K 3L0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Wellington B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Experience was well beyond expectation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had the most fantastic time at the Drake Devonshire this past weekend. Traveled from Toronto to PEC with high hopes and the experience was well beyond expectation. The hotel itself is charming, cozy and kitschy, the staff were welcoming and accommodating, and the restaurant was just incredible – atmosphere & food. The hotel is in convenient proximity to the local wineries and attractions (glass blowing, galleries, etc.). I would highly recommend travelling to the Drake Devonshire for even a night getaway – it’s a remarkable place.

Room Tip: Hasd The two bedroom loft is great value for a small group
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    10
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
33
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I spent a night at the inn last weekend. It was everything we had hoped for: beautifully decorated, elegant, with a younger vibe. We were really excited to hear The Drake had opened this PEC outpost and we were not disappointed.
It's a great experience, relaxing but definitely not boring. The food is to die for, the rooms are spacious, bright and the beds extremely comfortable.
Everyone there is really friendly and helpful.
I really can't say enough good things about it. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Creek side rooms are wonderful and I think quieter than others. The best room is definitely the &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent an overnight getaway, and had brunch the morning we left. It was a gorgeous experience, and we recommend it.

This review has to be 200 characters so now I am just going to type for a while ...

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have traveled extensively BUT this is totally over top
Decor is great Menu well presented and terse and attractive
Ricky our waiter was professional and very attentive
Food and beverage manager Eliska was very informative as was chef MATT
Great meal and suggest rabbit and Elvis cake

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a special b'day and a huge surprise. We are regulars at the Drake Toronto, so my partner surprised me with a night at the Drake. Wow!

Firstly, Prince Edward County where the Drake Devonshire recently opened is well worth an explore. Farmstands, beautiful vistas, cycling, cheese makes, great ice cream, and let's not forget some very GOOD wine (Bacco Noir) coming out of that region at a clip. There are some okay places to stay in the County, but this place tops 'em all. The staff are excellent. Very attentive and mostly locals, so no jaded hung-over city snobs on the staff.

The restaurant is excellent and best of all not too pricey. Local ingredients, beautifully prepared. Great service, attention to detail. Play ping pong! Hang out in your room, stare at the lake, wander around Wellington, go for a walk, hike, snooze, watch telly. I can promise you if you lime style and comfort without being over the top, this is the place. Fern it. Now I will never get a reservation because you'll all be there!

Room Tip: Take the owner's suite if it is in your budget! It is a wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amazing brunch with beautiful view of the lake. Super comfy bed, well designed room that was very quiet on the second floor. We were worried about noise. Cool pieces of art scattered throughout the hotel, and turndown service includes a plate of cookies!

Check out http://wp.me/p1YGPL-2z4 for a full review.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved everything about the Drake Devonshire - location, décor, comfort, views, food...service was excellent. Great attention to detail. Only complaint was about other guests, loud and obnoxious... I guess it felt too much like home.

Room Tip: upstairs and back would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drake Devonshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Devonshire

Address: 24 Wharf Street, Wellington, Ontario K0K 3L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Drake Devonshire in Wellington, Prince Edward County! At our beautiful, historic inn, we're serving up our special brand of culture, community and hospitality. A short drive from Ontario, Quebec and New York will whisk you away to our lakeside interpretation of the contemporary farmhouse. Escape to our 11 stylishly designed hotel rooms + two expansive suites. Be awed by the infinite views from our Dining Room and Deck. Get tempted by our seasonal menus featuring farm and lake-to-table dining, an inventive cocktail program and PEC wines. At our all season retreat, we'll keep you occupied with our stunning art installations, cultural programming and events, or act as your County Concierge, giving you the scoop on excursions and activities in the area. We can't wait to host you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Devonshire Inn On The Lake Hotel Wellington
Drake Devonshire Wellington, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drake Devonshire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.