We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suites-on-the-Lake

Suites-on-the-Lake
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suites-on-the-Lake
Save
You added Suites-on-the-Lake to your Saves list
229 Main Street, Wellington, Ontario K0K 3L0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 12 Wellington B&B and Inns
near Toronto
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very peaceful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at Suites on the Lake on a Monday night in April. We were the only guests at the inn. It was our anniversary and we wanted to stay somewhere special driving back from Ottawa to Toronto. We had stayed there in 2003/2004 and had fond memories of the inn and the town of Wellington.
We stayed in the room overlooking the lake - it has a sitting area and a large bathroom - very comfortable. Real wine glasses are provided and there is a small fridge in the room. There is a private balcony overlooking the lake, however, the weather was very windy and cold - so didn't take advantage of the balcony.
Joanna has her own beautiful artwork throughout the house. The breakfast was delicious and had Joanna's artistic touch with the presentation.
Both Stuart and Joanna were very welcoming.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband, another couple and myself stayed at Suites on the Lake for a long weekend in February. To say that everything was perfect would be an understatement. Stuart and his wife Joanna have created an inviting and comfortable environment while still allowing the suites and common areas to feel luxurious. The views are stunning - overlooking the lake. It is centrally located in Wellington allowing for easy drives to Bloomfield and Picton for shopping and within close driving distance to all the wineries for tastings.

The breakfast provided surpassed expectations with freshly made baked goods and delicious eggs benedict one morning and pancakes the next.

Overall we could not be happier with our stay. We will definitely be back and will definitely be staying at this gorgeous home again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lindon room which has a stunning balcony and a bathroom to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Came to get away from it all for one night and to soak up some sun at Sandbanks, was over the moon with our stay in the Butternut Suite, only wish it could have been longer. A magnificent property with amazing panoramic views of Lake Ontario and several nooks to bring a bottle of red and a couple of glasses to enjoy the scenery. Owners are very helpful, and whipped up a great brunch of macerated fresh fruits and homemade blueberry pancakes. Also very willing to help hook you up with reservations (highly recommended) at some of the local restaurants - such as the East West Bistro up and across the street - as they know the owners. A bit pricey but within the normal range for Prince Edward County, would love to go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We enjoyed a weekend in the fall at Suites on the Lake. It was a perfect location for exploring Prince Edward County which we had never done before. The B & B is a beautifully kept mansion with three suites. It was very clean and very quiet with lots of space to relax indoors and outdoors. The garden flowing to the lake is lovely.

The breakfast was beautifully presented but there were no menu options. There were also no seconds on the delicous croissants. Considering the price this was surprising.

The hosts were helpful and made you feel comforatable in their home but did not intrude in any way.

Be sure to make dinner reservations since there are limited places to eat and most are very small and book up early.

Room Tip: Two rooms have sitting rooms while a third is very large with chairs. All would be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suites-on-the-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites-on-the-Lake

Address: 229 Main Street, Wellington, Ontario K0K 3L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Wellington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Suites-On-The-Lake Wellington, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites-on-the-Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.