We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never come back crazy hostess” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Moonlight on the Lake B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Moonlight on the Lake B&B to your Saves list
Moonlight on the Lake B&B
410 Huyck's Point Road | County Road 20, Wellington, Ontario K0K 3L0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Wellington B&B and Inns
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Never come back crazy hostess”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I,together with our 12 years old girl and 2 years old son checked in this b&b for a weekend getaway of 3 nights. It was okay for the stay nothings special, not until the last minute we checked out. Suzann, the hostess of the b&b forced us to pay $80 as a tip in addition to a not cheap 900 dollar bill for a 2 bedroom suite. When my husband asked her about this VERY unusual practice, she totally lost her control and turned towards me and started venting, such as, bathroom floor is wet and she has to do additional cleaning, and living room floor is sticky etc. therefore she deserves this tip. And I pointed out if she doesn't care about her b&bs reputation, she can go ahead charge us. Then the drama starts. She started verbal personal attack on me, i.e. I don't clean the floor, we are late for breakfast and the most rediculous of all, my husband takes my son for breakfast instead of me. I was speechless at this point. And at this moment Suzann totally lost her control, she grabbed the bill and scratched gratuity and yelled at us "get out of my house in 10 minutes and I don't want to see you again."

Never again, thank you suzann. Btw, the rooms are half basement, damp and moldy and full of bugs.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

great location on a quiet road right on the lake. The owners, Suzanne and Andre are very accomodating. They owned a French Bistro in Ottawa for many years and it sure shows in the food and decore. We were in PEC for the wine and it was only minutes from some really good ones. try Casa Dea for lunch. Only two rooms so great for couples or a family. nice common area with games, tv etc.
Nicole & David, Ottawa

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Excellent B and B very quiet beautifull view of lake Ontario. Well kept and appointed accomadation,very friendly hosts. gourmet diner available on request transportation to nearby restaurants also available. Excellent breakfast

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Tremblant, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We visited vineyards , I played golf at Picton and were very well treated by the very friendly folks who own the place . Francophones are most graciously received . You might even get a supper to go along with breakfast . Room has a great big bathtub . Second room is smaller . The 2 rooms share a common living room so the the place is idea for 2 couples who know each other . From the living room there is a good view of Lake Ontario .

Room Tip: This is a small B&B with only 2 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moonlight on the Lake B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight on the Lake B&B

Address: 410 Huyck's Point Road | County Road 20, Wellington, Ontario K0K 3L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Wellington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful property with stunning lake views from every directions owned by retired restaurant couple. Breakfasts prepared with local products by resident chef owner. Bicycles, beach pass and beach furnishings available free of charge. Special rate of $400 for 3 night stay. Surrounded by 15 wineries, a lavender farm and art galleries, golf course,beaches and great dining. Accommodations are perfect for 2 couples or a maximum group of 7, with private entrance and spacious grounds with pond and a small vineyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Moonlight on the Lake B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonlight On The Lake B&B Wellington, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonlight on the Lake B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.