We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great PE county experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of By Chadsey's Cairns Winery and Vineyard

By Chadsey's Cairns Winery and Vineyard
17432 Loyalist Pkwy, Wellington, Ontario K0K 3L0, Canada
+1 613-399-2992
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Wellington
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: By Chadsey's Cairns winery is located on a 200-year-old farm settled by James and Maria Chadsey in 1809. Fruit has been grown on the property from its earliest days, apples, later cherries and raspberries and now grapes. Entering the property you park beside the pioneer cemetery and walk back in time to the Apple House (circa 1855) Tasting Room and wine store located behind four magnificent barns that overlook Lake Ontario.Mature maples and lilacs border the Apple House vineyard and you can enjoy the bucolic splendour sampling your wine on the deck nestled into the vineyard.Eight different vinifera wines are grown here. Some of the first planted in the County,and most of them representing the first commercial offerings of fine wines from PEC in 2002 and 2003.You can rent the 5 bedroom farmhouse beside the winery any time of the year and use it as your base to explore "the County". Full descriptions of the hundred-year-old house, with rates and occupancy calendars can be accessed through the By Chadsey's Cairns facebook page.No matter the time of year there are reasons to visit the location, for Maple in the County, Countylicious, Terroir, TASTE, the Jazz Festival, Studio Touring, Pumpkinfest, Wassail or chilling in the Christmas holidays and winter solstice. Picking parties at By Chadsey's Cairns are a great way to spend an October Saturday.Vida and Richard also host concerts in the barn for their customers and friends, barn dances, readings etc.
ottawa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great PE county experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Chadsey's Cairns is a unique stop on any county wine tour. The property is uniquely welcoming and richard is always on hand to pour a glass of vida's finely crafted work and tell the stories that go along with it. They are passionate about their work and it is a delight to share the results of their labours. Take time to peer in the barn, stroll through time in the cemetery, and admire the view of the lake. If the timing is right, volunteer to pick and you will be thoroughly entertained by the experience

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Must-Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a must-visit attraction on Prince Edward County. Set a short distance off the main road, By Chadsey's Cairns is an attractive family-run winery with a gorgeous view of Lake Ontario, scenic vineyards and vintage farming architecture.

I first discovered it in 2007 and I make it a point to return every summer. I even proposed to my wife here! The grounds are great for a picnic, and Richard is perhaps the most pleasant man I've ever met. His energy is infectious and his product, superb.

The wine is locally produced and every vintage is just different enough to make each year a new adventure. Before visiting Chadsey's, I was a table wine kind of guy. All that changed when I first tasted the crisp riesling, the floral muscat and the earthy gamay. Whether you like it sweet or dry, robust or light, Chadsey's has it. I love the wine so much, I even volunteered to help harvest the grapes this year.

Over the past 5 years, I have visited the other wineries in the area. The larger operations produce a consistent-tasting bottle year after year. What makes Chadsey's different is that, while the quality remains exceptional, the character of each year's wine reflects the conditions in which the grapes were grown. It's like every year is a pleasant surprise!

I'm not saying don't visit other wineries: Prince Edward County is an excellent wine-growing area, and I highly recommend making a weekend out of wine tasting (Go ahead and trick someone into being the Designated Driver!). The Grange has a similar ambiance about it that makes it a close second. But hands down, Richard and Vida's work at Chadsey's make it the best winery in Ontario.

So stop reading this review and get over there!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madonna Di Campiglio, Italy
1 review
“Superb atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our first experience of By Chadsey's Cairns was on a velvet summer night, lovely bottle of white in hand, Lake Ontario dimming in the sunset, and Colin Linden on stage. Just magical. Richard was very welcoming and the atmosphere was relaxed and warm. We'll be back!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Charming Winery & Farm House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the Chadsey's Cairns rental property - Farm house one weekend in September 2012. There were 6 adults and 2 children in total, and it was a total blast! Richard and his wife and the staff at the winery are very nice people, and they ensured that our stay on the property was as comfortable as possible.
I highly recommend Chadsey's Cairns as a great spot for family vacations as it's centrally located in PEC and the property itself is very beautiful and totally charming!
We will surely be back someday!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Chadsey's Cairn's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Loved the ambience and the tour! We took 40 people on a winery tour and all felt that Chadsey's was one of the most delightful wineries in PE County.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed By Chadsey's Cairns Winery and Vineyard also viewed

Wellington, Prince Edward County
Wellington, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Wellington, Prince Edward County
 

Been to By Chadsey's Cairns Winery and Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage By Chadsey's Cairns Winery and Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.